HKS 272 cam question

H22-C

hi all, any one have experience using HKS 272 cam with original ECU?

1) how is the power band if install HKS 272 cam and using the original ECU?
will the low end got even less power? at RPM 2k ~ 4k.

2) using the original ECU with HKS 272 cam, is the increase in power significantly noticed ? at RPM 5k ~ 6K.

3) using the original ECU with HKS 272 cam, in terms of drivability, is it hard to drive ? due to low RPM no power, engine unstable during idle, or whatever...

4) heard that engine will be shaking during idle, un-stability during idle, how severe is it ? will the engine stall some time ?

5) i search through the internet, HKS 272 recommend to change valve spring, but it is not a necessary, ori valve spring also can use. any comment ?

6) just to confirm again, retainer kit no need to change ?

7) any other parts need to be mod ? fuel pump, exhaust, air-filter, etc ... ( i prefer to use ori ecu la, no budget liao)...

thanks all.

I have 1 word for u, any cam need to work together with cam gear and aftermarket ecu.

if not u will have 3) and 4) which is worst than stock standard setting.

5) Depends on how high u rev normally without, dont go pass 7k if without aftermarket ecu.. no need to talk la. everything also cannot do.

i am like u, brought a pair of cam, ended up car is sucks,

now -
aftermarket ecu 3k
cam gear 1k
tunning 1k
set cam 300
fuel pump 400
regulator 300
boost controller-1k

if u plan to put valve spring/ retainer, better to it together.

if u change timming belt, u need to re-tune the cam and ecu again.. its a waste of money.

i believe u have those standard stuff like filter and ext. i havent seen any evo without this.

waahh... tukar timing belt also need to retune ecu?
i didnt know this... thanks for info

because the cam gear sudah lari.

i have to retune my ecu when i change my air filter to different type.. banyak susah have to go dyno again.

thats why i said aftermarket ecu are very different from original ecu.. coz its fine tunning ma.:sleep: u can feel the car lost of power, knocking and so on.

cannondale bro, here is my plan, please give advice :)

a) air-filter HKS super hybrib drop in type (i just hate the look of mushroom type).
b) exhaust HKS silent hi-power, centre to muffler, catalytic converter removed.
c) fuel pump walbro.
d) HKS 272 + HKS valve spring + original retainer + HKS adjustable pulley.
e) no boost controller (ori boost peak 1.4 drop and stable to 1.3.)
f) original ecu (pls allow me to insist on original ecu).
g) fuel regulator... need or not arh?

cannondale bro, in order to eliminate problem 3) and 4), i will use the adjustable pulley to tune only. the mechanic say can, also he said the power increase thoughout full range of RPM, drivability is comparable to stock.... dunno true or not.....
but if you have experience, pls share abit... i mean for ori ecu...

P/S: if i have aftermarket ecu, sure my hand itchy one, sometime say low RPM no torque, need to tune, then high rev too high, need to tune, suddenly knocking or what ... sure a lot of story coming out... some rumour say which mechanic is the best to tune... bla bla bla ...a lot of issues coming out. better stick to the ori ecu, cannot do anything. PEACE ! haha.

P/S: my evo is now still using ori exhaust with catalytic convetor removed, K&N drop in air filter only... one of the rare stock evo.. haha...

1)u will not lose too much power on 2-4k rpm,since u will get full boost below 4krpm.noticeable but not much.

2)u will notice more power in high rpm around 5-8krpm,can be feel even with stock ecu

3&4)the car will be more difficult to drive especially crusing at very low speed or rpm,ie 1st gear around 1-2krpm.engine idle will be rougher,but wont stall always.diffrent cam gear setting and fuel setting can differ the idle.can set until idle like stock(but i prefer it idle rough)pop pop pop:biggrin: .engine wont shake,dun worry

5)i bought a set of use hks 272 with valve spring,seller claim it was hks valve spring but later on found out it was ori valve spring.so i use stock valve spring

6)retainer dun need to change

7)need to be mod or not depends on individual.some prefer some stock parts:biggrin: but needless to say,if u got supporting mods then sure u can run more safely and more power

since your boost is at 1.4bar then u better get
a ecu or at least a piggyback to make sure the car not running lean
1.4bar with 272 cam at high rpm i think your stock injector will be max out.
anyway,u can always get opinion from a good tuner.
cannondale can recomend u to his tuner:biggrin:

after u have ecu, the rpm will be stable with the pop pop pop sound.

with those cam i feel the car shake abit la.. its normal.. keng ma:biggrin:

lan evo,

i cant recommend any tuner la.. coz i also dont now what ecu our friend using. mine dont have tuner la.. i play tekan tekan only.:sleep:

If u thinking of std ECU than dont think of mod no point at all.

If u thinking of mild mods then get the HKS 264 cam this is plug n play. U dont even need cam pulley. If ur mech say can adj pulley i would be very surprise what if he retard too much or advance too much how you going to conpensate??

thank you all reply, i really appreciate...

because i insist on original ecu, i think i would go for HKS 264, or tomei 260.
just installed walbro fuel pump yesterday.. next is air-filter, exhaust, metal break hose, air-fuel meter... i want to see how the changes in air-fuel ratio after install the cam.

Finally, rotor & cam.
it should take few months to implement ... hehe....

thanks to all again.

HAPPY NEW YEAR!
"May the mods be with you!"

HKS 272 lifts are only 10.8mm/10.2mm. If you're on a tight budget, no need aftermarket retainers/valve springs. Even aftermarket cams gear are not necessary.

can plonk-in with stock ecu, but wont have significant improvement - idling probably suffer a bit but not too much. However, tune-able ecu is a must to improve new power curve and idling.

HKS 272 in mivec e9 is even amazing - there will be no idling blurping at all. sounds exactly like stock cams.

happy modding.

HKS 272 lifts are only 10.8mm/10.2mm. If you're on a tight budget, no need aftermarket retainers/valve springs. Even aftermarket cams gear are not necessary.

can plonk-in with stock ecu, but wont have significant improvement - idling probably suffer a bit but not too much. However, tune-able ecu is a must to improve new power curve and idling.

hi, cHeMiCaL_, if i use HKS 272 (for my evo8mr), & cams gear with stock ecu, how is the "drivability" ? is it easy to get engine stalled when releasing the clutch pedal at rpm 2~3k for normal driving ? will the improvement better from 1k to 7k rpm ? or will it get even less power than ori for 1k to 3k rpm?

some people says this setting is worse than original. original is even faster than this ? how true is it ?

do you think HKS 264 is more sitable for stock ecu ?

yes, the HKS 272 lifts are the same as 264, only 10.8mm/10.2mm. but the ovelapping is the culprit for powerless at low rpm, right ?

hard to say, but i've read powerpages report in import tuner magazine some issue back. they installed 272 cams in stock 8MR. they managed to get power increase throughtout the powercurve. approx 5% i think. but once they reflashed with new ecu settings, power increased to more than 20% on 92octane.

It is the lift that makes difficult for the engine to idle - that's why rule of the thumb, never go above 11mm lift unless your engine is fully equipped with tunable parts.

overlapping won't contribute much to erratic idling - they are more for power scavenging effects. Just go ahead do 272 with stock ecu and let us know the outcome!

still, ecu upgrade (either re-flash, piggyback or full FC) is still the most 'bang-for-bucks' upgrade you can ever spend money on...