Help Needed With Datsun 510

leros

Jun 7, 2005
Hello Guys,
I am new to this forum and i have found it very useful, upon this i am actually looking forward to customise a Datsun 510. And here is what i need help for. I would like to swap the original L series engine with a CA18 N/A twin cam engine. Will the engine fit? I have look around the internet and i saw quite a number of people getting it fitted. But what bothers me is the mounting of the engine and will the steering box fit without problem. If anyone have any idea, suggestion, solution or other problem that i might face during the swap, please post it. Beside that, does anyone here knows where i will be able to get spare part esp the whole dash of the SSS and the tail lamp. I appreciate all the information provided. Thank You.

coldair

Feb 26, 2004
Pl510

Hello Leros,
Welcome to the ZTH forum and good to see you here!. Are you still in Putra Jaya
or are you back in Penang?. Big plans plans for your PL510 now?.

leros

Jun 7, 2005
Hi Coldair, Thanks for the warm welcome. Ya i am actually looking forward to revive my 510 but i need some info on the project it self and maybe where i could get the parts from. Hope to hear from you soon. Take care.

raceengine

Nov 4, 2004
Saujana Impian
pl510 have a huge following around the world and i must say that you got a good car to start off a project. As for the engine swapping issue if you son't want to go through hassles then just buy an engine mounting kit from datsport or maddat in australia. This will make fitting an sr20/ca18 a bolt on affair. Hope this helps and welcome to zth

zyfull

Mar 15, 2005
ehehhe..sifu raceengine already give his speech..ehhe..neway welcome to the club..

leros

Jun 7, 2005
Thanks for the welcome guys. By any chance, any one knows where i can get parts for this car, anywhere in Malaysia. As i had post earlier, my main concern is the whole SSS dash and the tail lamp. Thanks guys.

zyfull

Mar 15, 2005
leros said:
Thanks for the welcome guys. By any chance, any one knows where i can get parts for this car, anywhere in Malaysia. As i had post earlier, my main concern is the whole SSS dash and the tail lamp. Thanks guys.
better u ask raceengine..he said his uncle in kedah know the hafkat with olskool stuff..

coldair

Feb 26, 2004
Leros,
I have viewed close to 20 Datsun 510's, your's included when
I went to Penang a few months back, about 8 of them are SSS
versions, most of the SSS dash were cracked. I am not
sure if a new dash would be available, but you can "balut" it.
I have heard that someone managed to get a hold of a set of
new tail lamps, check old and established auto parts supply
stores, some may still carry old stocks.

Apart from changing your dash to the SSS dash, do you not
intent to switch your column gear shifter to a floor board
mounted gear shifter?. Lots of things to convert to make it look
like an SSS, a lot of hassle looking for SSS parts, this is the
reason why I always wanted an original SSS to start with.

CA18 would be a good choice for your 510, they are cheap as
compared to newer engines like the SR20. Look at some of stuffs
that others have done to their 510's, search the net and you will
find answers. Yes, they sell engine mounts for various engine
types to go with the 510 but most engines transplants require that
the fire-wall be cut to make room for the gear box bell housing or
for turbine/downpipe clearances.

The Datsun 510 would be a very good project in my opinion, I have
some ideas of what I want to do but for now I am just "dreaming"
on my part until I find a desirable SSS to work on. Email me
on-the-side and discuss this further if you are serious about
restoring your dad's 510.

Cheers !.

magua

Jul 8, 2004
in case if u really depressed looking for a new 510'rear lamp,if u don't mind theres an alternative on the rear lamp... try use ford escort MK1 rear lamp.

the other alternative... try on ebay...i once saw that rear lamp up for bid last month.

if u're looking for local...i know its a hard effort unless if u found a junkyard with full of otai's car.

niss4speed

May 28, 2005
Penang,Malaysia
Hi all... Can I fit in.. hehehe.. I'm new in this forum. It's seem like you all are old skool lovers (like me) we can share a bit of ideas of transforming the old skool car to magnificent car... ( I likes go fast car). I've own an escort MK 1. Now, I'm looking for the 510 SSS model for my next project...

leros

Jun 7, 2005
Thx coldair,
Actually, my plan will be a customised kind of restore, i guess i can't even call it a restore. :) The reason i want a SSS dash is because it have the RPM reading on it which the 1300 don't and it looks kind of neat too. I understand that the gearbox fitting might be a issue. But as for a few people(mech) i meet and talk to said that it is no a major prob. Maybe the only thing i can say is that i want this car to look classic on the outside but all the extra are not exposed(i hope you know what i mean). Finally, can anyone tell me whether i can get the papers done since i am swapping a 1.3 engine to a 1.8 engine. And i also understand that i can't get a new dash(never thought of it to) but all i am looking for is something that i can reuse like giving it a new "balut" as what you suggested. Cheers and Thanks.

leros

Jun 7, 2005
Magua, i think that will be my last resort, but i think, i can get one its just a matter of time. Maybe patients is the only way for the moment. Thanks for the idea anyway. Btw, is there where i can repair, restore my old taillamps? Cheers.

dudes, my mom's perdana executive also the auto gearbox koyak la.............
spent about 3K plus to buy 2nd hand gearbox but still not cekap la.......
when accelerate from stationary, have to do it very slowly otherwise the gear will jump from 1st gear to 2nd n got load thud sound.........
anyone can give me any advice?
what can we do to get rid of this problem?
we just replaced the shock absorbers n both upper n lower arms on both sides so now only the gearbox is a main...