'Hard disk' sound beneath dashboard

rayncc

Hi, my Altezza frequently emits this sound akin to like how hard disk operates..i believe it's from a computer box located beneath the dashboard.

Is this a common or normal thing that i should not be overly worried?:confused:

Hi, my Altezza frequently emits this sound akin to like how hard disk operates..i believe it's from a computer box located beneath the dashboard.

computer box? our computer is in engine room ah.

are the sound u refering is come from left side of air con and behind the drawer?

It is the noise made by one of the servo motors for either the airmix or mode damper located behind the centre control console. To some of us, we call this the cricket noise..if you find it annoying, you can go have it check which one is the culprit and have it change. It cost you ard 350-400 for one new unit.

yes..Greytezza is correct...the hard disk sound is still ok..when it comes to the cricket sound..it will be very annoying, until the sound changes to a bird/mouse sound..then it's time to change. :driver:

It is the noise made by one of the servo motors for either the airmix or mode damper located behind the centre control console. To some of us, we call this the cricket noise..if you find it annoying, you can go have it check which one is the culprit and have it change. It cost you ard 350-400 for one new unit.

who is the best person to check it ah? accessories man?

mine one also got this noise. can i disable it instead of repair it? this device will affect what? the mode = the diff way the aircon come out? and what is airmix?

maybe u hv a hard disk there ?? heheheh.. nah.... :pcguru:

.... It cost you ard 350-400 for one new unit.

Grey, u mean chg he server motor ?

can i disable it instead of repair it? this device will affect what? the mode = the diff way the aircon come out? and what is airmix?

i also wonder if it can be disabled ? :hmmmm:

Mike..it is the price for 1pc servo motor. Dont think you can disable it as it might register as a fault and maybe the aircond will not function properly. Best is to replace it...normally only one will be the culprit.

Yes, it's around that area.

same problem here. i already disable the "MODE". still having this sound.sometime is mouse sound.

my accessories man not so willing help to check. they no so understand altezza so lazy to touch. even check then also will charge high high. (price to pay for having rare car):proud:

---------- Post added at 02:19 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:12 PM ----------

Mike..it is the price for 1pc servo motor. Dont think you can disable it as it might register as a fault and maybe the aircond will not function properly. Best is to replace it...normally only one will be the culprit.

Thanks bro. do you know the part name of this culprit?

can send to Trial for air-con repairs...If they cannot fix the air-con problems, they will send to a reputable air-con shop...they will not charge for it..the air-con shop will charge.

i experienced this before. if u mean the cricket sound, yes it is from the aircond part; the motor to flip the aircond vents. AFAIK, altezza got 3 motor for this purpose. 1 for directing the aircond (to ur foot, to the cabin, to the windscreen,etc), another for control limit of air out (base on ur temp setting) and the last is for air source select (circluate inside air or taken air from outside).

my 1st sound coming from the motor that control the output direction. i did take out this part and open the casing. the culprit is the wear grease and electronic contact. you can DIY cleaning the contact and assemble it back. then it will be ok.

then i also experienced sound from the 2nd motor (control the output level). this time i opened the case but the contactor is covered by the large gear inside it and the gear is somhow glued to the flip guide, afraid will break it so i dont force it. what i did was spray with WD40 and hope it will clean up the contactor and any clogged grease.

hope u guys understand what im trying to say. hehehe.

nway, conclusion is the cause of the cricket sound is from the wear electronic contactor. and i believe it can be cleaned DIY as what i have done before.

better if you have grease suit for electronic so you can reapply the grease.

another option you can do (might work, might not),no need to turn on aircond to do this. turn your air cond temperature knob to the lower, then turn it back to the max...then turn to lower, to the max..do it several times. you will make the contactor to move from start to end and back to start hence will self cleaning the contactor.
the same thing you can apply to the directional knob.

during the experiment, please observe the sound from behind the glove box. if you know how to open the glove box is better. can see directly the motor. perhaps you get the better picture which part caused the sound.

haih..my english is bad.

Disable mine last year.....

how to "disable" it, and what will we miss if it is disabled ?
if disabling it means cannot switch between 'recycle interior air' and 'allow outside air to come in'
then i can live with that... pls share more details.

i experienced this before. if u mean the cricket sound, yes it is from the aircond part; the motor to flip the aircond vents. AFAIK, altezza got 3 motor for this purpose. 1 for directing the aircond (to ur foot, to the cabin, to the windscreen,etc), another for control limit of air out (base on ur temp setting) and the last is for air source select (circluate inside air or taken air from outside).

my 1st sound coming from the motor that control the output direction. i did take out this part and open the casing. the culprit is the wear grease and electronic contact. you can DIY cleaning the contact and assemble it back. then it will be ok.

then i also experienced sound from the 2nd motor (control the output level). this time i opened the case but the contactor is covered by the large gear inside it and the gear is somhow glued to the flip guide, afraid will break it so i dont force it. what i did was spray with WD40 and hope it will clean up the contactor and any clogged grease.

hope u guys understand what im trying to say. hehehe.

nway, conclusion is the cause of the cricket sound is from the wear electronic contactor. and i believe it can be cleaned DIY as what i have done before.

better if you have grease suit for electronic so you can reapply the grease.

another option you can do (might work, might not),no need to turn on aircond to do this. turn your air cond temperature knob to the lower, then turn it back to the max...then turn to lower, to the max..do it several times. you will make the contactor to move from start to end and back to start hence will self cleaning the contactor.
the same thing you can apply to the directional knob.

during the experiment, please observe the sound from behind the glove box. if you know how to open the glove box is better. can see directly the motor. perhaps you get the better picture which part caused the sound.

haih..my english is bad.

Execellent manual and DIY. thanks for share ur experience. appreciate it. :biggrin:

here i have another issue. is like cracking sound.
im 5AT, when i reverse my car...after i change R gear back to D gear...and then my 1st brake will have cracking sound come from near caliper...

Do u guys know what is happening?

almost every Altezza owners will face this prob i believed... taikors said it comes from brake/brake pad... other than annoying-ness sound that came out from it, i dont think there's a prob bout it.....mine also have it...

famous solution -----> TRD 4 pot :)

how to "disable" it, and what will we miss if it is disabled ?
if disabling it means cannot switch between 'recycle interior air' and 'allow outside air to come in'
then i can live with that... pls share more details.

yup, i just on the a'cond, set my desired setting and pulled out the electrical supply to the problem servo......walla....unit now.... so far so good.:biggrin:

yup, i just on the a'cond, set my desired setting and pulled out the electrical supply to the problem servo......walla....unit now.... so far so good.
:hmmmm: Mike if you can accept that, than you might need to plug it in to change the setting again.:rofl:
Otherwise just tolerate the noise until tak boleh tahan ..then change. Mine comes only sometimes..so I just switch on the music and ignore it...:biggrin:

:hmmmm: Mike if you can accept that, than you might need to plug it in to change the setting again.:rofl:
Otherwise just tolerate the noise until tak boleh tahan ..then change. Mine comes only sometimes..so I just switch on the music and ignore it...:biggrin:

for me, i don't adjust the 'recycle/out-side' air mode.
so, i might do like what hulkv6tt did on his.
my radio (aftermarket) is palia one, i have disconnected it, so basically,
i only have#1: Cricket singing, or #2: Engine sound, or #3, road noise.