Gearbox Oil

kapitan

Dec 29, 2003
How often should anyone service their manual gearbox oil?
Since I got my car is already 1 1/2 years and 35000KM...
I never heard need to change gearbox oil (cos lastime drive my mom nissan sunny 10yrs car never ever change gearbox oil b4, although just covered 70000KM within that period).. also feel that sometimes got 'krakkk' sound when engage 1st or R... not as smooth as when its new... dunno whether its time to change gearbox oil. My clutch is hydraulic one (new 1.5 all also hydraulic model foreman told me).. the oil is enough wor...

JINEIL2EN

Sep 6, 2004
Island Of Pearl
team99ers.2.forumer.com
Originally posted by s0n1c@Nov 26 2004, 09:23
how u flush?
goto any shop said u wanna flush ur GB lah........they flush & change ur GB oil at the same time....
i flush mines at Kepong, bout rm60. coz kira in Per Liter. so, mines is 5liter X rm12= rm60.

kapitan

Dec 29, 2003
I just go n change and its smoother n less sound liao when engage 1st n R... flush... er... not sure wanna do it or not...wait until 55k then only see how lar... thanks

BlackSamurai

9,000 RPM
Sep 2, 2004
near 7-11
www.hcc.ne1.net
any recommeded brand for gear oil?
20000KM? aiya, i just miss mine. :huh: better send for gear oil service. :P

Last time did for my Kancil and WIRA, but didn't feel the different.

kapitan

Dec 29, 2003
difference?
like car horsepower increase or something like that aa?
actually i dont think it's possible... just wanna take good care of it and to get rid of the noise when engage 1st or R..

kicap

Aug 18, 2004
my mech put Motul oil into my GB and the result really impressive. no more noise and very smooth, but quite expensive la :angry:

uss2defiant

Jan 5, 2004
i jst recently changed my bout a week ago.
i found that i had better response n power and less jerk to the car after shifts.
but i still find it hard sometimes to engage 1st or 2nd.
driving a 130y.
my mechanic's bro said something bout plates.
no idea bout it.
im going to see my mech tomorrow so ill be asking bout it.
my dumb batt. one of the plates kong so had to call aam change new one.
the batt still under warranty

BlackSamurai

9,000 RPM
Sep 2, 2004
near 7-11
www.hcc.ne1.net
Originally posted by kicap@Nov 28 2004, 23:48
my mech put Motul oil into my GB and the result really impressive. no more noise and very smooth, but quite expensive la :angry:
kicap,

how big is your engine cc and how much for the Motul GB oil? I'm looking for Motul info. Can share where to get Motul?

mirage2929

Dec 5, 2004
I thought SLICK gear box oil is good for proton cars. It will solved the engagement problem on 1st and 2nd gear.

Many workshop recommended engine oil on gearbox, they said its better coz its thinner than gearbox oil. All i can say its total bullshit, tried once but ended up changing to SLICK after few days coz felt gb very loose and engagement problem too.

FocalPoint

Apr 26, 2004
For manual gearbox, Tufoil is highly recommended.

Dosage of about 5%, in most cases about half an 8 oz. bottle will make gears shift easier and run cooler.

Had a Triton 2.5 non-VGT with 4D56 DI-D engine ...

Thinking of a turbo upgrade as the engine revs to around 3000 rpm and run out of steam already ...

Does anyone done this before and can recommend which turbo are suitable for the engine ?

Doesnt wanna get crazy power and was hope for minimal turbo lag and more usable more across the rev range ...

Thanks =)