Fuel Consumption increased

simplythebest

Last time I can get RM 10 - 100 kms, but now RM 30 only 200 kms, RM 50 only 400 kms (last time RM 50 , 500+ kms.

What is the problem? my master pump just replace the seals yesterday, need to drive for 2-3 days again to see whether got leaking or not. Just want to list down the problem. Heard from the mech, the fluid all leaking inside the dunno what 'surbo'? :unsure:

And, early morning I start the engine got like black stain coming out from the exhaust. Engine oil? :blink: , i'm guessing only.

Bad, very bad fuel consumption. :( . Last time I simply tarik 2-3 times a day still can get RM 10 - 100 kms. Now tarik 2-3 times, sigh :(

Oh one more, my engine not yet do tuning, the yellow color icon is ON while driving (meter panel). Could it be the engine?

acbc

Jan 9, 2004
KD
Maybe of price increase?

Paying RM 10 = less fuel than last time?

Better use km/l or l/km.

trex92

Aug 10, 2004
Originally posted by simplythebest@Feb 20 2005, 06:23
Last time I can get RM 10 - 100 kms, but now RM 30 only 200 kms, RM 50 only 400 kms (last time RM 50 , 500+ kms.

What is the problem? my master pump just replace the seals yesterday, need to drive for 2-3 days again to see whether got leaking or not. Just want to list down the problem. Heard from the mech, the fluid all leaking inside the dunno what 'surbo'? :unsure:

And, early morning I start the engine got like black stain coming out from the exhaust. Engine oil? :blink: , i'm guessing only.

Bad, very bad fuel consumption. :( . Last time I simply tarik 2-3 times a day still can get RM 10 - 100 kms. Now tarik 2-3 times, sigh :(

Oh one more, my engine not yet do tuning, the yellow color icon is ON while driving (meter panel). Could it be the engine?

Did you service your car regularly every 5,000 km? Also check your spark plugs, they might need replacing. When you take out ur plugs, note down the colour of the plug heads. Are they whitish, yellowish or black with soot? Whitish would mean your fueling mixture too lean, while black with soot normally signifies too rich mixture. Also check your air filters to see if they are clogged and need replacing or just need cleaning. The yellow light I presume you meant by the "Check Engine" Light? If that is so, you'll need to send your car in to the specialist who can diagnose the ECU error codes to tell you what's wrong with the car. Maybe a just faulty sensor, but it would affect your engine's performance and causing the high petrol consumption.

As for your master pump, it does not affect your petrol consumption. Master pump is for the hidraulics for your brakes and clutch. A master pump failure can result in 2 types of leaks. Leaks in the engine compartment which you can see easily, or leaks inside the firewall, behind your dashboard into the car's compartment. Guess your mechanic meant the 2nd type.

simplythebest

Originally posted by trex92+Feb 21 2005, 14:40 --></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (trex92 @ Feb 21 2005, 14:40 )</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'> <!--QuoteBegin-simplythebest@Feb 20 2005, 06:23

Did you service your car regularly every 5,000 km? Also check your spark plugs, they might need replacing. When you take out ur plugs, note down the colour of the plug heads. Are they whitish, yellowish or black with soot? Whitish would mean your fueling mixture too lean, while black with soot normally signifies too rich mixture. Also check your air filters to see if they are clogged and need replacing or just need cleaning. The yellow light I presume you meant by the "Check Engine" Light? If that is so, you'll need to send your car in to the specialist who can diagnose the ECU error codes to tell you what's wrong with the car. Maybe a just faulty sensor, but it would affect your engine's performance and causing the high petrol consumption.

As for your master pump, it does not affect your petrol consumption. Master pump is for the hidraulics for your brakes and clutch. A master pump failure can result in 2 types of leaks. Leaks in the engine compartment which you can see easily, or leaks inside the firewall, behind your dashboard into the car's compartment. Guess your mechanic meant the 2nd type. [/b][/quote]
Yes, i service my car engine oil every 5,000 kms and spark plugs every 10,000 kms. Except for the air filter, very dirty already. I'm still using the capalang stock filter :( . Maybe I'm buying a K&N filter tomolo (actually the last service, the mech told me is very dirty but I'm so busy till I forgot about it :( ) . Whats the price again for drop in K&N? RM 200? or was it RM 180?

The brakes are ok now, i ask the mech to kasi 'makan' more. :D

Regarding the engine check light, check everywhere .. dont know what is wrong. First, check the sensor, thought its faulty so get a new one test .. still cannot. Then Wash the throttle body because while driving halfway the engine died :ph34r: <--- no more mati engine but the check light still there. Then check air filter, clean the dust and all (but still dirty, is ok). Then finally today, tune the engine. After tuning, check light still there. Then open the air filter box, the sensor inside blew liao. Then got it replaced with a used one. Finally problem solved! :D

Now I need to get a new air filter, to see whether my fuel consumption back to normal or not. :(

WinDz

Mar 29, 2004
whoaa lau .. ur engine bay damn clean.. anyway thats off topic... about this fuel consumption raise.. i also kena after i change from no.5 spark plug to no.6 spark plug.. before i change i rev all da time also the petrol tak makan banyak.. u usually my full tank will allow me to do like 450 km... now after change.. my minyak now from full tank gonna finish soon.. only done 300km only... darn man ... makan minyak like hell.. could it be the spark plug problem? too cold ??

ocean

Nov 24, 2003
Originally posted by simplythebest@Feb 20 2005, 06:23

morning when you start the engine ... the black stain still appear ?? My car also have this problem .. but once the engine hot .. It become to normal ... headache .. headache ... Mine is Wira carburetor engine ..

TiBuN

May 16, 2004
Penang / BM
No ill meaning intended but isin't black stain at exhaust usually associates with engine head gasket ???
Is the black stain observation on occured lately when the fuel consumption becomes high? And your check engine light is ON all the time ????
I think should check engine oil level first right ?

Maybe I'm wrong, but no harm trying...

trex92

Aug 10, 2004
Originally posted by TiBuN@Feb 23 2005, 13:30
No ill meaning intended but isin't black stain at exhaust usually associates with engine head gasket ???
Is the black stain observation on occured lately when the fuel consumption becomes high? And your check engine light is ON all the time ????
I think should check engine oil level first right ?

Maybe I'm wrong, but no harm trying...
engine head gasket is bluish smoke i think...

The black smoke/residue shows that improper engine combustion. Could be due to spark plugs defect, overfueling mixture, dirty airfilter clogging up the air intake, AFS faulty causing improper fueling etc...

TiBuN

May 16, 2004
Penang / BM
Originally posted by kher@Feb 23 2005, 15:23
borrow this topiuc to ask a bit.

y ppl always say old cars hav higher fuel consumption??? :huh:
I believe the only 1 word to describe is "Efficiency"....

simplythebest

Originally posted by WinDz@Feb 22 2005, 03:46
whoaa lau .. ur engine bay damn clean.. anyway thats off topic... about this fuel consumption raise.. i also kena after i change from no.5 spark plug to no.6 spark plug.. before i change i rev all da time also the petrol tak makan banyak.. u usually my full tank will allow me to do like 450 km... now after change.. my minyak now from full tank gonna finish soon.. only done 300km only... darn man ... makan minyak like hell.. could it be the spark plug problem? too cold ??
My engine bay is dirty, dont you know using digicam take pic the output very clean? :lol: Spark plugs I use only NGK5 the cheap one around RM 15+ at spare parts shop. Gonna pray hard after I change the plugs and filter, still haven't change the filter, no time.

I don't know what is the problem, my last accident they took out the engine. Because the damage was quite bad, thats why need to do tuning. When I got back my car, then I realise the fuel consumption increased. :(

simplythebest

Originally posted by ocean+Feb 23 2005, 11:20 --></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (ocean @ Feb 23 2005, 11:20 )</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'> <!--QuoteBegin-simplythebest@Feb 20 2005, 06:23

morning when you start the engine ... the black stain still appear ?? My car also have this problem .. but once the engine hot .. It become to normal ... headache .. headache ... Mine is Wira carburetor engine .. [/b][/quote]
Only happens in the morning when warming up the engine, not sure what is it. I hope is the exhaust tip dirt. Because my tip is quite dirty. But these few days no black stain.

artnet

Jan 19, 2004
Sarawak
www.cardomain.com
may be it's time to have a new heart... ;)
ermm... i only know 4G63 for Mits. :P

my old honda also has a high fuel comsumption....
how about u change a new caburator? ehehe.. just an idea.
dunno it works or not.

regarding the black stain.. my honda also like that. it will split
black water stain out from the exhaust in the morning.
but it doesn't consume engine oil.

it is found a bad spark plug, gearbox leak oil lately. service and sold off.
so dunno how is it now. should be fine.

trex92

Aug 10, 2004
Originally posted by simplythebest+Feb 24 2005, 00:29 --></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (simplythebest @ Feb 24 2005, 00:29 )</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'> <!--QuoteBegin-WinDz@Feb 22 2005, 03:46
My engine bay is dirty, dont you know using digicam take pic the output very clean? :lol: Spark plugs I use only NGK5 the cheap one around RM 15+ at spare parts shop. Gonna pray hard after I change the plugs and filter, still haven't change the filter, no time.

I don't know what is the problem, my last accident they took out the engine. Because the damage was quite bad, thats why need to do tuning. When I got back my car, then I realise the fuel consumption increased. :( [/b][/quote]
check ur car's ignition timing too... does ur car hesitates and then with a jerk only it moves when u floor the accelerator? Worser ignition timing problems can cause misfirings, and it has a audible "marbles rolling in the exhaust pipe"-like sound. Also was ur engine damaged in any way in ur accident? If so, did the mechanics change a part of the engine during the repairs?

coldfish

Feb 21, 2004
when fuel consumption goes up, it usually means your car has turned into a monster. congratulations.

guyz, im gonna convert my engine very soon, from experience ppl out there who have convert and stuff, could u list me down wat i should do and check out, wat i should ask for and stuff, how's the procedure? where should i go? well i have some questions...

when converting my engine, i wanna upgrade to nissan 4 pot front and back with 5 lugs knuckle, will jpj approve this? or should i just drill the rotor to pcd 114 4 holes? or any1 could tell me a good disbrake and rotor with 4 holes pcd...