Forte: Brake caliper painting.

DarkAccoon

I was asked by my friend to assist him with painting his brake calipers as the original metal finish just dun look good enough. Being an avid DIY-er and semi-pro detailer, I agreed to give a helping hand and lend him my tools as well.

Owner removing the wheels of his car.

When working with the car up, always use an A-Stand to ensure maximum safety.

After the wheels were removed, calipers were inspected and a cleaning is required. Amount of dirt from a 1 year plus brake caliper.

After cleaning with Optimum Power Clean. Safe on your clearcoat, yet powerful enough to even clean your brake calipers.

After all 4 calipers have been cleaned, this is how black the water is.... macam black oil only.

Amount of brake dust that settled..... which is why we advice washing the wheels with separated cloth as you would not want these to touch your paint.

Owner goes hands-on with the paint. We opt for paint brushing as the brake caliper is not smooth surface and hence brush line would not be visible. And its less messy compared to spraying.

Slowly and precisely painting to ensure minimal if not none of the paint goes beyond the caliper.

Used hair-dryer to quicken the drying process.

End results.... this is the rear caliper.

After wheels have been installed back.

Sweet god... this is nice. Makes me wanna do it to my White Knight as well but nah... i am getting too old for these mods.

Since the owner was here, he asked me to help with removing a sticker that is stuck to his windscreen as well. After removing, we discover a peculiar stain on the same spot. At first we thought it was just glue mark.

After OPC the glue away, the owner was horrified.... I too was horrified....

The sticker has.... discoloured the tinting..... and sorta melted the tint as well. Lesson learned, dun simply stick stickers on your tinting, god knows what kinda glue they use.

DarkAccoon

2k car paint. I did the same for my Putra few years back and lasted till today. No need hi-temp paint unless maybe you always go genting and touge downhill.

DarkAccoon

I think high temp paint is limited in terms of color availability.

Dun think its required as I use the 2k car paint on my rocker cover of the putra which have overheated numerous times previously and the paint is still there nicely until i decided to paint remove it and sent it for powder coating.

DarkAccoon

DarkAccoon

Use those small chinese brush? Painting is easier than spray-painting? Any dripping of paint onto the rotor? Lol
yes, we used those small chinese brush.

Pros of painting:
- easier to control
- less work (no need to wrap it and all the usual prep needed for spray painting)
- you are assured there would be no overspray.

Cons:
- may not look as smooth (but in this case, the surface is not even so no brush lines can be seen at all.)

Erm.... we were careful with the brush so no paint dripped on the rotor as well. Even if got also, just brake once or twice and it would be gone d.

DarkAccoon

since we were using the painting method...... we use very little for all 4 calipers....

We got the 500ml (cause the paint shop that mixed the paint can only go so little). and by the time we finished..... it looks as if we never use any paint. kaka.

While speculation is the fuel of the internet that we can’t live without, overkill is a common problem that the rumour mill can’t find a balance with. Topic in point, you could probably fill all the pages of a male social-reject’s porno magazine collection with the stuff that’s been generated regarding the Toyota FT-86.

From delays, to...