Drive a Honda Civic Eg/EK Must Read!

USJ101

Aug 1, 2009
Brother,

My EG is going to be 17 years ago, but none of the symptoms as you describe.
Do I need to purposely open it and take a look?
By the way, is it only happened to EG and EK?
I have SM4 and also nearly 20 years old, everything still fine..
Please enlighten me.

Thanks.

E-Tech

Jun 28, 2005
Johor
Brother,

My EG is going to be 17 years ago, but none of the symptoms as you describe.
Do I need to purposely open it and take a look?
By the way, is it only happened to EG and EK?
I have SM4 and also nearly 20 years old, everything still fine..
Please enlighten me.

Thanks.
Well if no symptom yet do not mean it is 100% okay...
It is not difficult to take out the ecu, open the cover and have alook.

Currently happens more in eg ecus...why, can't say for sure... but NORMAL
life span of capacitors(by manufacturer) is 10 years...
I also believe it depend the way the car is being used.... always long distance more easy to kena...

Anyway all up to you bro...:biggrin:

ryand

Dec 25, 2009
Guys...
this picture is the ecu that smoked after a customer balik kampung..was a P27
When reach his destination he smelled like something burning..
Finally he traced it to the ecu...
10 cents coin is for your reference of the hole size....TQ
can this type of damage be repaired? I have a the same problem.

terenceng

Feb 13, 2008
eTech Bro,

Can i have your contact number? My location is at JB.

I got two apexi power fc in hand now, both got problem, dunno whether can repair or not..

call me if u are intersted to fix it or sms your hp number then i will contact u.

Terence.

Jan 21, 2010
Singapore
I must say Mr E-Tech has an impressive personality. Such knowledge is certainly of commercial value and yet he chose to share it openly instead of guarding it like a secret. Gathering good karma for sure. Cheers.

apexkecik

Nov 22, 2008
port dickson
I must say Mr E-Tech has an impressive personality. Such knowledge is certainly of commercial value and yet he chose to share it openly instead of guarding it like a secret. Gathering good karma for sure. Cheers.
yup..agreed with you..salute mr E-tech:biggrin:

shah5755

Apr 20, 2007
Pj....kch
b4 this i didn't even care to view this thread,but after i noticed my ride jerking,i remember this thread and read all the post to gain some info.....and yes after i take out my ecu and check got one caps with burn mark.....better u guys check ur ecu b4 its to late:biggrin::biggrin: prevent is better than cure :rofl::rofl: thanks to mr E-tech for all his contribution to help us hehe

E-Tech

Jun 28, 2005
Johor
Bros...
P30 ecu...
Lucky you(you know who). Minor damage only. & caps was changed and copper trace checked and touch up.
3 caps have started to leak.. You can see big and small oxided mark near caps..

Came across this article from Elektor Electronics Magazine - November 2004 on the project for building a car battery desulfator.

http://notes.ump.edu.my/fkee/e-Magazine/Elektor%202004/Articles/E/e04b020.pdf

Extract from the article :-
Sulphation
The capacity of a lead-acid battery gradually decreases during its service life due to normal wear and tear, for a variety of reasons. However, the aging process is considerably accelerated if an uncharged battery is stored for longer than a...