d series auto oil

sazleej

guys..
just wanna ask.. been wondering too long..
my ride is ek3 4 door auto sohc.. d16y wan..
just wondering, can some1 suggest any gear oil rather than honda wan? is it true if i put another brand gear oil will make my gb kong?? the mech here also said that.. can i use idemitsu wan? which one aa??

I vaguely remember something my independent mechanic told me about the oem Honda ATF/MTFs having a distinct 'conditioning' additive to them that is specific to Honda trannies which help to maintain the synchros ~/= smoother, notch-free shifting. Perhaps one of the resident gurus here can further elaborate but I believe that it's not just a cheap ploy by Honda to keep you buying only their products so if you're not intending to swap a LSD drive or something on that kind of scale, I suggest listening to your mechanic and sticking with the ATF-Z1. Also, I wouldn't go as far as to say that your gearbox will 'kong' if you introduce a foreign agent but expect abnormalities ranging from harsh shifting to lasting damage hence the adage: "If it's not broken, don't fix it".

i'm asking because it is soo hard to get the honda gb oil in my place.. have to go to kota kinabalu ( about 250 km ) to buy the freakin' oil.. by the way, i haven't heard that auto got lsd wan.. eheheeheee is there available?? sorry...

Why don't you get your mechanic to order in a cache of the stuff for you? Unless he's 250kms away as well, I'm sure he has a runner to fetch him things. As for my pun about the LSD, it was meant to help establish on what plane does your need for gearbox oil extend beyond oem. No offense intended! In the end, it's all about personal preference and priority, i.e how much do you rate (a) preserving your drivetrain over (b) convenience/procrastination? or are you in the middle of a flush and all you have is Idemitsu? As you can see, your choices vary in conformance to the scenario. If it was me, hm, I'd just temporarily use whatever is available to me until I get the chance to go KK. Then I'd buy up a sizeable inventory if my wallet permits.