CV Joint Boots

I tried once, its never an easy job especially without proper tools and also experience.

my experience, long long time and i will never want to do it again

01) loosen the wheel bolt
02) jack the car
03) take out the tire
04) drain the gear oil
05) Remove the bolt on the outer CV, this one really dam bloody hard
06) Remove the ball joint
07) Tie rod end, and others things like the absorber bolt, need to make sure the knuckle are loose
08) try the easy way.. i.e. remove the outer boot "I cut it", and check the inside got lock ring. if got remove (my mechanic told me some car got), i can't recall if nissan got it.
09) fail to take out the cv. end up pull the entire drive shaft
10) my is the short drive shaft, its easier. if the long one the mid section you need to unbolt, (its bolt to the engine) before can take out.
11) try to knock it out but also fail...
12) than go machine shop and cut the dam CV..
13) best part.. i brought the wrong CV... sigh
14) got a used one from chop shop and put it in..
15) return the wrong cv, and end up cheaper..

shiet, I've heard from many people who did it at home said they couldn't get the CV out and ended up sending to the workshop to get it done.

yeah, when the cv in the car run for too long, the lock ring inside will somehow jam.

If can, get the entire shaft.. easier :D but expensive

Man, I was intending to do it myself, kept convincing myself that it is going to be easy, but based on what most people experienced, it has to be, somehow, done by a workshop?

Edgar,

If its a fix quote than its worth to pay the money. Trust me, unless you got the correct tools, and also Plan B if your Plan A fail. If something wrong and they still charge you aud 93, than ok lah.

I heard there is an easier way to remove the CV joints with a special tool? What does it look like?

Hey! What is this?

http://img232.imageshack.us/img232/1299/450x6001166424141055155fd3.jpg

I saw this kit from Japan Auctions site

http://page3.auctions.yahoo.co.jp/jp/auction/c148547007

And why is the boot split in half? I cannot understand Japanese and this is the first time I see this form of boots, from my understanding judging from the picture, all you have to do is just replace the boots without taking the CV joints out?

Am I right? And how do you join the splits up?

seen this before, but how reliable no one know.. maybe you need to change every 6 months, but if its cheap than why not just do it. :)

make sure you buy like 2 or more to keep.

yeah I reckon, after reading the English translation, I found out that it is will actually be glued and ring attached, and it really doesn't make sense to me.

I'd found a supplier here who can actually supply me the whole cv joint + boots +clips for just AUD$50. Which is a good deal, considering that since I am going to change the boot due to tear, the cv joint might have worn up a little already at this stage, although there is no clunking noise, yet.

I am still worried the CV joint would be very very hard to get out :(

if you can take out the CV and replace the boot, than its much better, not sure the AUD 50 CV joint are good quality or the taiwan made. The original are always more reliable

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=320067546408&sspagename=ADME:L:RTQ:AU:1

looks promising! I called up Nissan the other day and they want to charge me AUD$88 each, for the boot only. OMFG.

nissan always charge super high price... the ebay seller sell the entire shaft also, think its aud 260 for a pair. maybe that will be easier.

yes, he recommended me to get the entire 2-pieces of driveshafts for easier replacement, but I was thinking, is it really necessary to change the whole driveshafts?

and, what benefits do I get if I changed my old one, like is there going to be any significant difference?

if you run into trouble taking out the CV, think you will end up spending more. Thats why is better to get the entire shaft.

Hi Guys,

My A32 drive shaft is not straight, bent (most probably from an accident). This probable has damaged my CV joint and when replaced with new CV joint, the 'bad cv-joint sound' persist. Can anybody suggest/recommend me where to find a used shaft in KL.