Car wiring burn and short

jeff_sin

jeff_sin

Jan 18, 2006
yesterday i was driving, i encouter the problem of my left speaker suddently got and off. then i adjust (move) a bit of my HU and the recover. ok fews hours back i start my car and drive back home, on the half way, the radio player suddently power off and on, then i hear a sound like 'zzzeee' sound like wiring short, then a burn smell come out. not more than 30 second the smoke become so seriously then i pull down my car at the road side and squad down and look at the fuse box, it was BURN!! Immedialtely i go to my boot and take out the fire extingusher and pull down the fire! WHT HAPPEN? i was so shoick, this car is only 2 yrs old wira.

Make me so takut to drive back home. then all the hazard, air can, radio, can indoor light, power windows all gone off

jeff_sin

jeff_sin

Jan 18, 2006
I was wonder i forget my car still under proton warrantee or not because all my car services is done by outside workshop 1. Can i complaint proton? i was so fed up and disappointed with proton, before this, the car was good and didn't bring problem to me.

Now, i have try to DIY to remove my panel or dashboard to do some inspection myself first just send to my mechanic. The problem now is i don't have any experience, but everythings has first time so i try and i encouter some technical problem can anyone teach me?

jigc

jigc

Jan 30, 2005
sorry to hear the incident.
but it is lucky that u have fire extinguisher!:X-:

to open the center panel:
-ok, u have removed 3 screws
-pull off the hooks at coin slot (2 hooks at bottom where u remove a big screw, can u see that??)
-hold the top 2 corners of center panel, pull it out horizontally so that u wont break the metal clip. u need great strength for 1st time

for detail: can see here.

as for ur side panel, did u remove all screw? there are 5 screws.
u open the sunglass compartment, on top where it is hooked, there is one screw. did u remove it??

jeff_sin

jeff_sin

Jan 18, 2006
ya, i am really lucck to have a fire extingiusher in my car...so now i recommend all proton or non proton driver better put 1 in our car. know wht? now my finger kena burn because trying to pull down the fire first, the fire even serious enuff that my hand also cannot pull of, can imagine, if don't have the fire extinguisher, now my car maybe in newspaper that the car burn itself for NO REASON that are not surprise happen in malaysia.

ya, i have refer the pic already, i already remove all the screw, the problem for the center panel is about the metal clip which i pull hardly also cannot pull out.

yes, side panel i already remove all the screw also but wht is the plastic that together with dashboard 1? do i need to remove also? or got other method to do so?

jigc

jigc

Jan 30, 2005
jeff,

for center panel...
ok, i remember when i pulled it for the 1st time, it was very hard and i broke one of the metal clip :(
ask some1 to pull lah, u have no enough strength, remember the off the hooks...

for side panel, do u mean the side board??
there is not necessary to remove it.
just pull!

DarkAccoon

DarkAccoon

yo dude
i think i found ur problem

i notice that ur radio is not using the original fuse anymore
seems that it has shorted last time and someone replaced it with a new fuse

from what i guess, it could be that the 10amp fuse that was use did not 'fused' when something went wrong
therefore causing the fire

but then i could be wrong

as for ur panels, just use a flat head screw driver to 'kew' the thing out lar
but wrap the screw driver with a clothe first else u might scratch the panels

cheers mate, everything happens for a reason

acbc

acbc

Jan 9, 2004
KD
Lucky for u man... otherwise, it will be another 'Proton catches fire' story...

10A is for radio. Anything higher is potentially too dangerous should anything happen to the radio.

howiechoo

8,000 RPM

howiechoo

8,000 RPM
Jul 25, 2004
Bukit Jalil
shouldn blame to proton...most probably is caused by the outside workshop u go to...maybe acc shop?

jeff_sin

jeff_sin

Jan 18, 2006
DarkAccoon said:
yo dude
i think i found ur problem

i notice that ur radio is not using the original fuse anymore
seems that it has shorted last time and someone replaced it with a new fuse

from what i guess, it could be that the 10amp fuse that was use did not 'fused' when something went wrong
therefore causing the fire

but then i could be wrong

as for ur panels, just use a flat head screw driver to 'kew' the thing out lar
but wrap the screw driver with a clothe first else u might scratch the panels

cheers mate, everything happens for a reason
yes, the fuse is replace by me for fews time already, and i confirm i am using a 10AMP fuse, i was wonder this time the fuse was not break and direct burn it :baring_teeth:
i was really fed up, i think this time don't know how much cost me again!
don't know can complaint proton or not. it is really scary, its happen too suddently.

jeff_sin

jeff_sin

Jan 18, 2006
So now for the side panel , yes i did remove the screw from the sunglass conpartmant already. but everythings is loose and ready to take out, discover where it is together with the dash board? maybe i shud update some pic to show u guys.

jeff_sin

jeff_sin

Jan 18, 2006
jigc said:
jeff,

for center panel...
ok, i remember when i pulled it for the 1st time, it was very hard and i broke one of the metal clip :(
ask some1 to pull lah, u have no enough strength, remember the off the hooks...

for side panel, do u mean the side board??
there is not necessary to remove it.
just pull!
the side panel is wht i mean that u have been mention, there is a sunglass compartment there.

DarkAccoon

DarkAccoon

i think it is better to check ur radio wiring again

see if there is any loose connections or broken insulation
cause under normal circumstances, it should not just blow out of the blue
from what i can tell when u say u heard some zzzzzzzz.... sound

i believe the fuse did blow, but didn't blow enough, cause a jump inside the fuse which is similiar to what happens in a spark plug

anyway, check ur wiring for expose cables ya, got a feeling ur positive is exposed and was touching the car body, judging from the fact that it was ok once i moved ur player

feudalklippe

Apr 25, 2005
Sunway
I kow how initially ur car was caught on fire. I probably think that the fuse for ur radio was mistakenly put to 30 A or bigger. My car last time, short circuited..my tailight fuse was burnt up, melting summore. Lucky it does not affect others..i managed to plug it out b4 anything get to worse..then my alarm, power windows and air-con were all not working...don't know how to do,just send it to shop.hehe..more reliable than me, doing it..gud luck 4 ur DIY bro!!

jeff_sin

jeff_sin

Jan 18, 2006
feudalklippe said:
I kow how initially ur car was caught on fire. I probably think that the fuse for ur radio was mistakenly put to 30 A or bigger. My car last time, short circuited..my tailight fuse was burnt up, melting summore. Lucky it does not affect others..i managed to plug it out b4 anything get to worse..then my alarm, power windows and air-con were all not working...don't know how to do,just send it to shop.hehe..more reliable than me, doing it..gud luck 4 ur DIY bro!!
it is impossible, i remember i replace with a 10A fuse.. :emoticon_U:

DarkAccoon

DarkAccoon

yo feudalklippe,

he put a 10amp fuse larr
go look at the picture

that was how i know he replaced the fuse before

color code for fuse
10 amp = red
15 amp = blue
20 amp = yellow (this one only for air cond blower)

I bought some accessories, and wanted to install them. Went around a few accessories shops and they all don't want to install for me. Their reason: :"No confident! WOrry they might spoil my car..."
Nothing complicated... but it seems that such work require a more skillful wireman to install.

Please intro me good wireman , accessories in JB.