Can Malaysian build 8. sec. drag car!

This answer is quite right but sometime $$$ is not superd. Most of us know that in some top F1 terms like Honda F1, Toyota F1 , Mclaren F1 & etc. They are all very rich but still cannot beat the Ferrari technology for 5 years.

i wonder wut kind of management does F1 using erkk?thier own ems or aftermarket ems...?

Originally posted by simonchangwaimun@Dec 19 2004, 10:21
put jet engine!
U can get a high-tech jet engine which have proven flying very high speed in sky. But we need fast accerelation in 1/4 drag road, any man-kind can handle a very light weight Kancil chassis technology with jet engine?

HP, it seems like u have the answer to everything, y dont u tell us how to build 1??? and how do you define "Malaysian built"??

i think we have yet to see a 9 sec car from malaysia, so maybe 8 sec is far from reach.... :P

Originally posted by 2jzgte@Dec 20 2004, 11:03
HP, it seems like u have the answer to everything, y dont u tell us how to build 1??? and how do you define "Malaysian built"??

i think we have yet to see a 9 sec car from malaysia, so maybe 8 sec is far from reach.... :P
Hi, 2jzgte, I gila of engine power & really appreciated the design & technology of Toyota 2JZ-turbo machine which always stay on top of most Japanese & American drag strip. As a Malaysian, I always keep an eye on the progress of foreign drag machines and I found that is not easy to build a 8 sec. machine in Malaysia within this 3 years. Some friends including top tuners in Malaysia simply claim this isn't problem if they have chance to totally re-design & tune any cars here. This doubt me that their appreciation of hi-tech automobile technology, knowledge of machine & man & excellent workmanship. What do U think?

I do hope more logic answers to this topic which enable Malaysian to build such a machine!

8 sec car. need $$$
with those $$$$ why not i buy a ferrari and pakai it for everyday use
rather than park that car and use only for drag day only

i think it's quite do-able.

but we( tuners/race-workshop) need to break outta this block, and start with REAL spaceframe chassis and fibreglass cover(!!) for the body,
minimum FR
proper Drag slicks
proper dynamics of the chassis + layout (for best accelaration)
aerodynamics
straight-cut gearbox

many basics we don't have in our drag cars
let alone wanna be a dragster..
sigh

the Pink 180SX with the RB26 is an example of how (minimum) a dragster should be.
and i think that car can be alot better..

Originally posted by ninja_iga@Dec 20 2004, 12:18

but we( tuners/race-workshop) need to break outta this block, and start with REAL spaceframe chassis and fibreglass cover(!!) for the body,
minimum FR
proper Drag slicks
aerodynamics
straight-cut gearbox

sigh

the Pink 180SX with the RB26 is an example of how (minimum) a dragster should be.
Til today,hundred of the drag cars participate in California drag challenge have been modified just like U mentioned, why Only few cars able to run under 9 sec.

driver problem?

and the American V-8s are quite... temperamental. Suka suka this engine got more power than the others wan

it's still a big science

go to Australia... most are running 9-10 secs..

Originally posted by ninja_iga@Dec 20 2004, 13:05
driver problem?

and the American V-8s are quite... temperamental. Suka suka this engine got more power than the others wan

it's still a big science

Nither V8 or the Japanese imports, Amerians have the proven & fastest drag machines than any other country.

In Australia, we can also notice that there are hundred of drag imports modified, but very few cars can go under 9 sec.!

Originally posted by ninja_iga@Dec 20 2004, 13:05
driver problem?

it's still a big science

i think the guys here are mostly mentioning japan/proton/import car drag. not the v8 american muscle cars. those v8 top fuel funny cars can have 2000hp and 6sec times.

if the standards are raised (tube frame, unlimited fuels) there is the need to have special regs for these cars too.

now unibody FWD turbo hondas in US able to do very low 8secs.

tube frame FWDs (like lisa kubo) are belting out 7sec runs.

oh and these cars run in different catagories...

BTW most US drag strip has concrete surface for the launch area for better grip. so the times are obviously better.

yeah malaysian can build one. but without sponsors/big prize money, who are willing to build one??

Yeai said .. $$ rules
fork out RM100k cash from your own pocket
then drive the car for few sec , once a week

emm i better off with Bimmer 328 anytime

Originally posted by ninja_iga@Dec 20 2004, 12:18

minimum FR
proper Drag slicks
aerodynamics
straight-cut gearbox

sigh

would taking out the gt-wing improve the time?
physically,gt-wing increases drag = bad for drag
right?wrong?

frankly, i think the overal setup is important, secondly - and more important is the driver!!

space frame, drag slicks etc do help, but we need a driver that can drive the machine to the maximum!!!!

the pink 200sx from thailand came with a mission to clock 8 sec but too bad he broke the gearbox. he sounds very confident that his car can clock 8 sec because the last round when he did 9.099sec, the car is still NOT running on maximum power.

BUT, if any other driver is to drive the car, we may not even get the 9 sec. do u guys notice that the HKS drag r33 is always driven by the same driver (i think kawasaki something)?? i can bet you that if another driver is to drive the car, it may not clock the usual 7 & 6 sec..... controlling a 800bhp++ machine is not easy.... i've sat in 1 800bhp machine before and i can see that its not easy to handle at all, what more if the driver must launch perfectly, gearing at the perfect timing etc etc throughout the 400m???

i've seen a car driven by 2 driver in a same drag race clocking time difference of nearly 1 sec, so driver really does matter!!!

i've sat in at 775KW rear wheel drive rx7 before in australia... and wow the feeling is great..the driver was so cool and calm even tought the car was drifting at 4th gear... madness but yes driver is important.. the car i sat did a 7.66sec rx7 tube frame too.. damn shiock....

Start buying imports Drag magazine and learn how they perform with imports.

The Turbonetics sponsored 2JZ Celica TubeFrame competing in PRO RWD already registering sub 6's timesheet..thier PRO FWD already hit low 9 ( The Kubo Effect )

Drag in US was started since 1960's..and they have 40 years of experiences....