BusinessWeek: World's Cheapest Cars

davidv00

Mar 27, 2006

BusinessWeek.com has profiles a list of world's cheapest cars:

* GM Daewoo Matiz Mini/Chevrolet Spark: A five-seat, five-door hatchback that underpins the Chevy Trax concept.

* Chevrolet Aveo/Kalos: Slightly over 10 grand, but 400,000 owners can't all be wrong.

* Hyundai Atos: 1.3 million sold, mostly in India as the Santro. $6,350 for the base model or $9,920, fully loaded.

* Hyundai Getz: At 4.9 ft. tall, lower than the Atos, but the Getz is longer at 12.5 ft. overall. $9,400 to start.

* Suzuki Maruti M-800: Four-door, 10.9-ft. long, 1,444-lb. 800cc Suzuki starting at $4,400.

* Suzuki Maruti Alto: Probably going to replace the M-800, it offers 47-bhp for a starting price of $6,000.

* Suzuki Maruti Swift: This Versa-like model is Maruti's first global car, with a base price of $8,800.

* Tata Indica: This all-Indian model offers lots of room for its low price and its success has spawned a $2,200 sibling.

* Chery QQ3: For $3,900 to $5,200 it competes directly with the Chevrolet Spark.

* Chery Flagcloud: Well-equipped mid-size sedan with sticker prices ranging from $7,300 to $12,500.

* Geely HQ S-RV: Mini SUV based on the Daihatsu Charade platform. $4,400 to $6,200.

* Geely Merrie Star: Four-door sedan and hatch for $4,200 to $6,500.

* Fiat Palio: One of the older cars in the group, it's based on the old Fiat Uno and sells for around $5,000.

* Fiat Uno: A new replacement for the hugely popular Uno of the '80s and '90s.

* Dacia Logan Sedan: Spacious, no-frills 75-hp sedan starting at $6,600.

* Dacia Logan MPV: Low-cost, seven-seat minivan for $10,900 to $15,500.

Source: BusinessWeek

davidv00

Mar 27, 2006
well, the price for Kancil EZ850 with only less than 1000 c.c. priced at RM30k+ which equivalent to USD8.7k+ and you compare any models above, you will be amazed. I don't call Kancil one of the cheapest in the World, it only cheapest in Malaysia (by force).

Lord_darkslide

Oct 19, 2005
wow...
getz, atos, aveo.. all +- usd10k

MALAYSIA BOLEH!!!!

ivan7

Mar 28, 2006
Subang J
all because we want to protect proton when even after 10 yrs they are still not sustainable..sigh..

simonchangwaimun

Nov 21, 2003
Cheras
teamshadowrider.multiply.com
yea...
milo tins not included...coz they're rating cars...not dairy product packagings
hoho

TermiziYeoh

Jul 29, 2005
Cheras , Sel
Overseas will be amazed by Malaysian people -

"Holy crap,look at those Malaysians are very rich , they are willing to spend USD9k for a Milo Tin"

BlackSamurai

9,000 RPM
Sep 2, 2004
near 7-11
www.hcc.ne1.net
jeff, kancil is not cheap in international market. sad new is, it's indeed the cheapest car in our country (whom can't even take care of their gobermen office ceiling.)

neojack

Apr 17, 2007
SWIFT IS CHEAP? HAHAHHAHA. at malaysia it is nearly 90K .

corolla_KE70

Feb 17, 2006
its not about protecting proton, its about protecting our beloved AP kings and our beloved auntie fidah hehehe... and dont just target proton, they are only 20+ years in carmaking industry compared to toyota/honda.if you do that its like comparing the rich lim goh tong (genting tycoon-how old is he?) with some sg wang hanphone dealer(almost all 20-30 year old). just my 2cents..

BlackSamurai

9,000 RPM
Sep 2, 2004
near 7-11
www.hcc.ne1.net
they are only 20+ years in carmaking industry compared to toyota/honda.if you do that its like comparing the rich lim goh tong (genting tycoon-how old is he?) with some sg wang hanphone dealer(almost all 20-30 year old). just my 2cents..
i meet up with a proton guy, he give me the same thing... if I'm not mistaken, china car maker just launch their SUV TIGGO. And how long has they in car making business?

mind set need to be changed, competitor will not care how long you exist in the market, history is not important, in real business world, the objective is to knock the nearest competitor out of ring and move on to next target. That's how Toyota moving to biggest car manufacturer in the world.

PS: Compare to Conti, Japan car is just a baby.... enough of those lame excuses.
sorry, off topic post.

I have been struggling with water stains on my windscreen & adding on driving in low light & kaboom rain -

you know by leaving yr white cars not wash for a week plus u will get stripes - like zebra - because of our acid rains, industrial fall out & esp working & staying near factory with emission fumes - I am one of the victim

this was what i have been struggling with for a long...