4g15 modify

brother

Apr 29, 2005
cheras,kl
need to asking all sifu in zth......4g15 wira engine got any head can masuk for this engine......twin cam can go in?

amboo

May 24, 2005
kola pilah
u find this engine..........and then u take the head.....

4G15 12-valve DOHC 1.5 liter specs.
Bore x Stroke: 75.5 x 82.0
Piston Displacement: 1468cc (89.6 cubic inch)
Compression Ratio: 9.5:1
ECI-Multi(Electronically Controlled Multi-point Fuel Injection)
Horse power: ??
Torque: ??
en

but i dun know wether wujud or not in malaysia but this engine spec for uk

c00lric

Nov 4, 2004
Bro,

I would suggest that u drop in a 4G91 engine, it will be a better bet compare to mod da 4g15 to twincam. Just my 2cent. Else get ur car SCed. Waiting for it to be launched at the end of this year, Hopefully. Cheers bro.

brother

Apr 29, 2005
cheras,kl
amboo said:
u find this engine..........and then u take the head.....

4G15 12-valve DOHC 1.5 liter specs.
Bore x Stroke: 75.5 x 82.0
Piston Displacement: 1468cc (89.6 cubic inch)
Compression Ratio: 9.5:1
ECI-Multi(Electronically Controlled Multi-point Fuel Injection)
Horse power: ??
Torque: ??
en

but i dun know wether wujud or not in malaysia but this engine spec for uk
if go in this head than + bolt on turbo TD04 can?may be get more power lo......this engine can get in malaysia la....coz last time i meet with woc member he car also convert this type engine...but 1 to buy the head may be susah la...!

brother

Apr 29, 2005
cheras,kl
c00lric said:
Bro,

I would suggest that u drop in a 4G91 engine, it will be a better bet compare to mod da 4g15 to twincam. Just my 2cent. Else get ur car SCed. Waiting for it to be launched at the end of this year, Hopefully. Cheers bro.
ya la.....no $$$$ ma....i save the $$$ than get power n the 4g15 engine still new just use for 1/2 year only may be 3year later i will convert the engine la...

brother

Apr 29, 2005
cheras,kl
got any sifu can helf in this engine! :D

brother

Apr 29, 2005
cheras,kl
any good sugestion????please pos in let we shear.... :D

Yong_5290

Nov 4, 2004
Klang
hotmail.com
bro...u sure WOC member got such special engine?
4G15 DOHC...

i would just suggest u 2 save up the trouble n put in a 4G91 Dohc straight...easier
4G91 comfirm can bolt on td04..just get the manifold..those piping stuff...injector...engine management n lower ur compression

PAIPON

Apr 3, 2004
brother said:
need to asking all sifu in zth......4g15 wira engine got any head can masuk for this engine......twin cam can go in?
my friends & i just done a 4G15 mod project on a 1999 efi 1.5wira. results quite impressive but we don't do any dynotest yet....

FYI, Head upgrades not give much different on total power output of 4G15. Anyhow theres no other alternative to fit a DOHC head to this 4G15.
Refer to our mod project, concentrate on rework of stock 4G15 head, piston, cylinder bore, cam, flywheel & clutch.

1. dismantle engine 100%
2. dismantle head 100%
3. Port & polish head..110%
4. change cam to matspeed cam...i'm not remember which type but it was a daily driving type (bought 2nd hand)
5. dismantle stock piston from the connecting rod.
6. Change piston from stock to 1.6 (sohc) refit with stock 4G15 connecting rod. Be sure to fit the piston with all new piston rings.
7. Rebore block until the 1.6 piston fit....(let it done by engineering shop..they know it well)
8. get a mitsubishi flywheel, i'm not sure which type but it can be fitted with 1.6 clutch set.
send to engineering shop...lighten it a-bit only...
9. Get new "Overhaul gasket set" to replace all old gasket when reinstall the engine.
10. Get new sets of crankshaft bearing + conrod bearing
11. Get new 1.6 radiator (thick type)....RM250 only (without fan)...in kemaman laa...

Results:

1. The engine seems to be injected with steroid, very fast respond & takeoff also good in long distance run. No need to compare with 4G91, coz it can easily play with stock 1.6 satria! Journey from kemaman to KL and back to kemaman was a very fun driving experience on this reworked 4G15. Don't know how to explain but...believe me... satisfaction guaranteed!!

2. Engine temp will be in normal behaviour if 1.6 radiator installed. Cooling fan also not in stress...
if use Stock radiator, the cooling fan will frequent spinning (not permanently spinning laaa)...however the temp was not even touch mid section of temp meter, don't worry!

3. From our studies, No worries to whack the engine coz, timing belt was short and less load to spin with, one top pulley, one bottom pulley, tensioner bearing that's it! ...compared to DOHC which much more load (two top pulley, longer belt...) to operate and high tendency of slacking or damaging the belt....
4G15 timing belt ori: RM150 complete set! damn cheap maaa....

brother

Apr 29, 2005
cheras,kl
PAIPON said:
my friends & i just done a 4G15 mod project on a 1999 efi 1.5wira. results quite impressive but we don't do any dynotest yet....

FYI, Head upgrades not give much different on total power output of 4G15. Anyhow theres no other alternative to fit a DOHC head to this 4G15.
Refer to our mod project, concentrate on rework of stock 4G15 head, piston, cylinder bore, cam, flywheel & clutch.

1. dismantle engine 100%
2. dismantle head 100%
3. Port & polish head..110%
4. change cam to matspeed cam...i'm not remember which type but it was a daily driving type (bought 2nd hand)
5. dismantle stock piston from the connecting rod.
6. Change piston from stock to 1.6 (sohc) refit with stock 4G15 connecting rod. Be sure to fit the piston with all new piston rings.
7. Rebore block until the 1.6 piston fit....(let it done by engineering shop..they know it well)
8. get a mitsubishi flywheel, i'm not sure which type but it can be fitted with 1.6 clutch set.
send to engineering shop...lighten it a-bit only...
9. Get new "Overhaul gasket set" to replace all old gasket when reinstall the engine.
10. Get new sets of crankshaft bearing + conrod bearing
11. Get new 1.6 radiator (thick type)....RM250 only (without fan)...in kemaman laa...

Results:

1. The engine seems to be injected with steroid, very fast respond & takeoff also good in long distance run. No need to compare with 4G91, coz it can easily play with stock 1.6 satria! Journey from kemaman to KL and back to kemaman was a very fun driving experience on this reworked 4G15. Don't know how to explain but...believe me... satisfaction guaranteed!!

2. Engine temp will be in normal behaviour if 1.6 radiator installed. Cooling fan also not in stress...
if use Stock radiator, the cooling fan will frequent spinning (not permanently spinning laaa)...however the temp was not even touch mid section of temp meter, don't worry!

3. From our studies, No worries to whack the engine coz, timing belt was short and less load to spin with, one top pulley, one bottom pulley, tensioner bearing that's it! ...compared to DOHC which much more load (two top pulley, longer belt...) to operate and high tendency of slacking or damaging the belt....
4G15 timing belt ori: RM150 complete set! damn cheap maaa....
wa....soi many thing 1 to modify in the engine so from all the thing u modify, total cos how many u pay in this modify?than what is FYI???so the 4g15 DOHC head can fit in the 4g15 SOHC engine lo...!? brother go dyno la....... :D

PAIPON

Apr 3, 2004
aiyaa….FYI = For Your Information

where got so many thing…..that was the steps to perform modify + overhaul engine lah…

DOHC head CAN’T fit into 4G15……

Cost of modify & overhaul..

Piston 1.6 (cut shop) 120.00
Fit 1.5 conrod to 1.6 piston (upah) 20.00

Rebore Block (upah) 80.00

Piston Ring (new) 40.00

Conrod bearing (new) 40.00

Crankshaft bearing (new) 50.00

Flywheel supertouring (cut shop) 130.00

Lighten flywheel (upah) 30.00

1.6 clutch (new) 250.00

1.6 radiator (new) 250.00

Racing Cam (2nd hand) 750.00

Timing belt set (new) 150.00

Overhaul gaskets/seals kit (new) 75.00

Heavy duty/high temp gasket glue (better than silicone) 15.00

Workmanship = free… do it ourselves, 4G15 is very simple engine to work out with

Duration to complete = 2 days maximum

Advantages = Satisfaction, more confident, the engine is consider new coz it was 100% rebuilt, no hassle to pay runner or whatever for registering with JPJ/puspakom….

Yong_5290

Nov 4, 2004
Klang
hotmail.com
paipon...as u say nonit 2 compare wit 4G91 coz can easily play wit 1.6 satria...
4 ur information...4G91 can tapau 1.6 4G92p easily

brother...there is no 4G15 Dohc...except 4 the 1 using in mitsubishi colt...the timing belt is on the left hand side...got mivec turbo also..

4G15 bored 2 1.6 not 2 say cannot but the reliabilty is the main concern..
as 4G15 bore n stroke is 75.5mm x 82mm while the 1.6 piston is 81mm...tat means boring as much as 5.5mm more 4 each cylinder...

the flywheel u saying is from mitsubishi super touring 1.6 o 1.8
the most u can skim off is 1kg...

opet

Feb 26, 2005
Yong_5290 said:
paipon...as u say nonit 2 compare wit 4G91 coz can easily play wit 1.6 satria...
4 ur information...4G91 can tapau 1.6 4G92p easily

brother...there is no 4G15 Dohc...except 4 the 1 using in mitsubishi colt...the timing belt is on the left hand side...got mivec turbo also..

4G15 bored 2 1.6 not 2 say cannot but the reliabilty is the main concern..
as 4G15 bore n stroke is 75.5mm x 82mm while the 1.6 piston is 81mm...tat means boring as much as 5.5mm more 4 each cylinder...

the flywheel u saying is from mitsubishi super touring 1.6 o 1.8
the most u can skim off is 1kg...
i thought evo 9 is the first model using Mivec Turbo...
new mitsu colt using code 4G15 ???

as as i'm concerned, there is no 4G15 DOHC, even uk spec also using 4G15p sohc...
i would say, the possibilities to transform 4G15 into 4G15 DOHC is quite impossible..