Engine Oil from Tesco

what did you spot for 139 and 149?
Today at Tesco Puchong, Shell Helix Ultra at RM139 for 4L

---------- Post added at 11:44 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:43 PM ----------

Thanks guys, I was hoping got score some Mobil 1 0w40 ~RM150...
Mobil 0w-40 4L at RM168.88
Mobil S2000 SS 5L at RM118.88

last saturday went to tesco...

fuhhh now tesco oil range price up moer than rm10/bottle... dangggg

sincy

Dec 20, 2007
hi guys... install SMARTSHOPPER app ..on ur hp..
thn u can review latest prices...

i grab pic from tesco web.
tht day saw giant promotion shell helix ultra 129++ something...
but i nvr try castrol edge b4, will go get it..this few days....but sure lot ppl ... u knw..chinese n.y ..promotion..

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
If RM129 then is cheap as nowadays at RM149 in Tesco
If want Shell, can just buy the USA Formula Shell 5w30 FS @ rm129/4ltr from AEON Jusco.
They also have promotion on Mitsubishi Oil (Eneos) 5w40 FS @ rm109/4ltr.

Other promotion I saw is in AEON Big (formerly Carrefour):
- Mobil 3000 X1 5w40 FS @ rm148/5tlr
- There's 1 oil stated 'Made in Japan' branded Tech Plus, 5w40 & 10w40, both claimed FS for only rm78.88/4ltr! The packaging is in a tin can just like any other Japanese oil, imported by Legs Marketing Services (Malaysia) Sdn. Bhd. Don't know how legit this oil is coz it's so damn cheap and never heard of such oil before.

---------- Post added at 10:34 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:29 AM ----------

Btw someone posted this in Lowyat Forum in the oil topic:
МаÑло VIII. Затмение. Ð*езультаты теÑÑ‚Ð¸Ñ€Ð¾Ð²Ð°Ð½Ð¸Ñ Ð¼Ð¾Ñ‚Ð¾Ñ€Ð½Ñ‹Ñ… маÑел. - Образовательный блог

Makes you think again about what oil you want to use now! :biggrin:

sincy

Dec 20, 2007
the test result nice..mostly thy burn at 400`c above..

TOTAL QUARTZ 7000 SAE 10W40 this result nice too.. at tesco..89++ ...5L oh.. 2.0cc up car can try ya..

sincy

Dec 20, 2007
cXbai...shell helix ultra result teruk..

i jst change leh....buy from tesco last yr..2015..rm139
2000km only

Shinjite

Feb 27, 2006
Klang
If want Shell, can just buy the USA Formula Shell 5w30 FS @ rm129/4ltr from AEON Jusco.

Other promotion I saw is in AEON Big (formerly Carrefour):
- Mobil 3000 X1 5w40 FS @ rm148/5tlr
- There's 1 oil stated 'Made in Japan' branded Tech Plus, 5w40 & 10w40, both claimed FS for only rm78.88/4ltr! The packaging is in a tin can just like any other Japanese oil, imported by Legs Marketing Services (Malaysia) Sdn. Bhd. Don't know how legit this oil is coz it's so damn cheap and never heard of such oil before.

Tech Plus brand, I checked and it is not in the API listing directory so it is not API certified

Yup, if can use 5w-30 is another choice.

Mitsu oil at RM109 is the older SM rated one? because I saw new SN rated ones at RM130 plus already.
I manage to get at Aeon Quill city the SM 5w-40 Mitsu FS at RM89. They clear to make way for the SN ones....:biggrin:

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
Yup, if can use 5w-30 is another choice.

Mitsu oil at RM109 is the older SM rated one? because I saw new SN rated ones at RM130 plus already.
I manage to get at Aeon Quill city the SM 5w-40 Mitsu FS at RM89. They clear to make way for the SN ones....:biggrin:
The Mitsu oil is already SN, I saw in Mid Valley promo @rm109 (not sure for all or just AEON member only).

---------- Post added at 04:13 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 04:05 PM ----------

cXbai...shell helix ultra result teruk..

i jst change leh....buy from tesco last yr..2015..rm139
2000km only
Yah, all Shell Ultra results were bad! I'm never that confident with Shell in the first place and this just ensures me to avoid Shell oil altogether! Most popular Castrol on sale here also got bad results, except surprisingly the Magnatec 10w40.

Mobil 3000 which I'm using now also like that! Anyway never mind, I still have stock of that oil just for 1 more change, so I'm just gonna finish it and that's it! Maybe next time I'll just use Total Q7000 10w40 or the Castrol Magnatec 10w40. :biggrin:

I suppose if you just use normal driving daily then still ok, just don't put it under extreme stress for prolonged duration like racing on track/time attack.

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
I read the Russian article....surprisingly most OEM oils are cleaner :driver:
The Toyota 5w30 FS and BMW Super Power 5w40 FS oils look damn clean! These 2 might be my target also for future change depending on the price I can get on them. However many other BMW, Mercs, Honda, and VW oils are also not that good or bad.

I was browsing through the Pivot website earlier today and as I was
looking @ the Stepping Gauge section, I got curious about something.

1) Why is there a need to install such a meter in a car? The car already
comes with a RPM meter. What difference does this Pivot meter make? Why
do cars need to install things like Boost Meter, Speed Meter, Tachometer
and Shift Lamps?

2) Are such lamps only installed for Manual Transmission cars? or do
people actually install in on...