Features

Interviewed: Toshio Suzuki – Nissan GTR Driver who beats 911 Turbo At The Nurburgring

toshio-suzuki-nissan-gtr-interview-401

Zerotohundred.com – Remus:  Konichiwa, Good afternoon Suzuki-san and Inoe-san, Thank you for having us here at Adenau Garage for this exclusive interview and viewing of the masked GTR35 test car. Suzuki-san, We all know you as the driver that did 7 minutes 38 seconds 54 milliseconds at Nurburgring in the masked GTR35.

Please introduce yourself and share with us on how you became involved in the development of the GTR35.

toshio suzuki nissan gtr interview (39) toshio suzuki nissan gtr interview (25) toshio suzuki nissan gtr interview (14) toshio suzuki nissan gtr interview (4) toshio suzuki nissan gtr interview (31) toshio suzuki nissan gtr interview (40)

Suzuki-san: I’m from Saitama Prefecture. I have been racing for many years now. I started off with Karting, in my younger days I’ve won the All-Japan Kart Championships two times.

In 1991, I raced in the 24 Hours of Daytona and finished 1st. In 1993, I participated in the Formula 1 for Team Larrousse.

After that I’ve raced in many various national championships such as the Japanese Formula 3000 Championship (now known as Formula Nippon), Japanese Touring Car Championship (JTCC) and The Super GT Series (JGTC).

I have also participated in the 24 Hours of Le Mans. I have now retired from competition racing.

In my career I have raced the GTR32, 33 and the 34. Since I’m very familiar on how the GTR behaves, my expertise is needed in the R&D of the new GTR, for this reason I was chosen to be in the R&D team as their test driver for the development of the GTR35.

Zerotohundred.com – Remus: As a Test Driver for the GTR35, what do you do?

Suzuki-san: We would test the car it in various places with different climate and road conditions. The Skyline 350v was used as the R&D car to collect as much data as possible. We have been testing and developing the ‘GTR35’ as early as 2003.