Cheras Taman Pertama BHP attendants are murderers?

This is the full article from The Star

KUALA LUMPUR: A man’s desperate attempt to save a woman from her burning car was in vain because petrol kiosk attendants refused to lend him their fire extinguishers despite his pleadings. The tragic 3.30am incident yesterday happened after an accident involving the woman’s Perodua Myvi, a couple’s Toyota Vios and a lorry with two men. The accident, on the flyover along Jalan Cheras near Jalan Loke Yew, caused the Myvi to catch fire.

Among the earliest to arrive on the scene was 31-year-old Teo Chai Yong. He was on the phone with the emergency hotline operator when he heard the frightened screams of “Tolong! Tolong! Help me!” from a woman in a Myvi. Sparks flew from under the car. Teo quickly drove to the nearest 24-hour petrol station, less than 500m away, hoping to find a fire extinguisher. “As I ran up to the paying counter, I saw four fire extinguishers behind the glass door. An attendant was on the other side. “I pleaded with him to let me have the fire extinguisher and screamed that someone was pinned inside a burning car. “But he just stared at me and kept saying he was not allowed to open the door after hours,” Teo said. In desperation, Teo even offered to buy the extinguishers and showed the attendant his identity card. Shortly, a second attendant showed up beside the first man and told Teo to call the fire department if there was a fire.

In frustation, Teo rushed back to the accident scene, only to see the car, with the woman still inside, engulfed in flames. “She was still screaming but I could do nothing. I just stood there, her screams grew more frantic before fading away,” he said in a telephone interview. BH Petrol’s managing director Tan Kim Thiam, when contacted, expressed regret over the incident at one of their petrol stations. He said robberies were common in those hours. “The staff were concerned and did not respond to the request as they could not see the accident,” said Tan, who declined to comment further.

City traffic police investigations chief Deputy Supt Abdullah Roning said the woman was burnt beyond recognition and her personal identification documents were also lost in the fire. “We believe she was a 27-year-old college student from Sarawak,” said the city police prosecution division head. The driver of the Toyota Vios and his girlfriend were also seriously injured and were rushed to Hospital Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia here. The case is being investigated under Section 41 (1) of the Road Transport Act 1987 for reckless or dangerous driving.
from here, we can see that :

1. the Vios caused the accident when it jumped the divider and crashed into the myvi. the myvi was then rammed by the lori carrying vege. both the driver and girlfriend are at Hospital UKM. police is already investigating them under reckless driving.

2. Teo rushed to BHP petrol station to borrow fire extinguishers and you guys know what happened next.

3. Official Press Statement from MD of BHP : they are more worried about robbers than a potential life threatening situation.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

So PowerMonster, I have a few questions.

1. since when does Bank open 24 hours?

2. if the management of that particular BHP petrol station thinks that IT IS DANGEROUS to operate because of frequent robberies, WHY OPEN 24 HOURS AND FORCE 2 OF THEIR STAFF TO RISK GETTING ROBBED?

3. even if you wanna talk about responsibility, i would like to know what is your comment on the following. based on what was listed as regulation, why are the 4 fire extinguishers locked inside the premises, cutting off accessibility to it?

the following was taken from Occupational Health & Safety Regulations at Petrol Stations for your reference. The link to OHS and all its regulations are HERE.

11.7.1 Location of extinguishers
The positions of extinguishers shall be chosen to optimize access in an emergency. The following considerations should be taken into account:

1. At least one powder-type extinguisher should be at ground level at each loading position. For a top-loading installation at least one additional powder-type extinguisher should be at the loading platform.
  2. All foam type extinguishers should be at ground level within 10 m of the loading point.
  3. Locations should be on approach or exit paths.
  4. Access to any extinguisher should not be vulnerable to blockage by a fire.
4. its nice of you to throw in the "boy who cried wolf" example. however, i wanna ask you, has Teo ever been convicted or even suspected of "crying wolf" before? if he hasn't or you don't have any proof whatsoever, keep your irrelevant examples in that cold blooded narrow mind of yours.

5. what you said was true. the 2 attendants at BHP didn't cause the accident. however, there are 2 different situations here. the cause of the accident AND also the cause of the death of that poor girl. while the BHP staff didn't cause the crash, they definitely caused the death of the girl BY NOT LENDING THE FIRE EXTINGUISHERS.

6. by the way, powermonster, do you have any sister/cousin/daughter/niece that YOU DON'T MIND THEM BEING BURNED TO DEATH because of 2 strangers who are too paranoid and cold blooded to help save their life?

7. what did you answer for your MORAL PAPER during SPM?

Soalan 67 - Kamu adalah seorang pekerja di stesen minyak. Kira kira pada pukul 3:20 pagi, ada seorang datang ke stesen minyak anda dan meminta tolong untuk meminjam alat pemadam api kerana ada kemalangan berlaku di jalanraya dan kereta tersebut sedang membakar. Adakah kamu akan

a) geleng kepala dan bersenyum sama itu orang dan enggan meminjam alat pemadam api kepadanya kerana kamu takut dia seorang perompak?

b) memberitahu dia kamu tak boleh meminjam alat pemadam api itu kepadanya kerana boss akan marah.

c) buat tak tau dan suruh rakan pekerja kamu untuk bercakap sama itu lelaki yang sangat cemas kerana ada mangsa yang sedang terbakar.

d) jerit kepada lelaki itu dengan kata kata "kamu sekarang ada dalam kamera. saya akan melapor kepada polis."

e) melakukan semua di atas.

3.20 am ?? and 500metres away ... I WONT OPEN THE DOOR TO ANYONE TOO !!

too bad ... Malaysia is not safe

pussy :thefinger::thefinger:

---------- Post added at 10:36 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:28 AM ----------

.... try asking the nearby SHELL or Maybank there... see if they open the doors to anyone at 3 am in the morning.... when accident not within sight

graveyard shift workers in Kiosk and Banks etc .. main responsibility is to look after the place and been told of many types, methods and stories robbers use to gain access.

The Boy that cried wolf - Unfortunately this time is for real.... ! If in Singapore I bet they will open the doors as its a SAFER country

PDRM should find out who and what caused the fatal accident - surely not the 2 fellas in the kiosk but seem to be getting the full blame.

At those wee hours.... Probably a reckless or drunk driver hit her car - Many rowdy pubs in Cheras

you're still a pussy !! :thefinger::thefinger:

Why can't the kiosk attendant get Teo to step back and throw a unit of fire extinguisher outside of the premise? Teo even offered to buy the fire extinguisher with cash. WTF were they thinking???

From Malay Mail:

http://www.mmail.com.my/content/38606-witness-watches-helplessly-woman-burns-death-accident

G. Prakash
Thursday, June 3rd, 2010 14:14:00
BTD

What was left of the Perodua Myvi following the fire that engulfed the vehicle and the driver

KUALA LUMPUR: Lorry driver Abdul Halim Awang watched helplessly as a woman screamed for help in her burning car along Jalan Cheras this morning.

Still trembling and voice choking, Abdul Halim recalled his first instinct was to rush towards the Perodua Myvi that had burst into flames. But the intense heat forced him to keep his distance.

"I can still hear her scream. It is heart-wrenching that I could do nothing to help that poor woman. My lorry was right behind her Myvi and, therefore, I was closest. But the flames consumed the car within seconds," said Abdul Halim.

"I could see her struggling and even heard her screams fade away. There were two others who tried to help but couldn't do anything. It will take a long time for me to recover from this."

In the incident, two others were seriously injured when their car veered and crashed into the Myvi travelling in the opposite direction. This occurred on the flyover along Jalan Cheras heading towards Jalan Loke Yew.

Abdul Halim, whose lorry was also hit, is a key witness to the accident.

It was learnt Cheng Kar Jin 17, who was driving a Toyota Vios, and his female friend Cheng Yoke Ying 17, were headed towards Jalan Loke Yew.

"The Vios hit the Myvi headon. The collision forced the Myvi to crash backwards against my lorry and it spun a few times before coming to a stop," added Abdul Halim.

Yusrimi Aziz, 36, and one more witness who only wanted to be known as Zam even brought out small extinguishers but it was in vain.

The victim could not be identified as the body was burnt beyond recognition and personal identification documents were destroyed in the fire.

• MM0306MA17.jpg
    MM0306MA17.jpg
    18.2 KB · Views: 143
  • n_03fire.jpg
    n_03fire.jpg
    42.9 KB · Views: 180
  • P6030202-300x224.jpg
    P6030202-300x224.jpg
    22.7 KB · Views: 147
BHP must show some respect !
they should not put the fire extinguisher in glass juz for decoration

3.20 am ?? and 500metres away ... I WONT OPEN THE DOOR TO ANYONE TOO !!

too bad ... Malaysia is not safe

dude....so yr one of those who would just walk away when u see somebody in need of help cos too worried about yr own well-being?

"too bad ... Malaysia is not safe"

too bad???? somebody burnt to death and thats the best u can utter? thats not the right way la my fren. even if the area is not safe, at least take a look or take a peak ler.whats more, akina even took out his ic for them to hold in deposit. did they even bother to look at it? at least ask akina to put it at the glass for them to look at it then decide. or they were such wussies, they could've just asked akina to slide the IC under the door and they can keep it. from akina's story, it was obvious those 2 didnt even care and was taking it as a joke. where's the report from BHP saying that 1 crazy loon was kicking and trying to break in? how come they didnt call the police when they saw akina trying to break in? u gotta look at things from both sides thats y i asked if these 2 guys could see the accident...but the more i read akina's story and the news from all over...i still think those 2 fellers were the real murderers that night.

i also totally agree with mizunori....why were the extinguishers inside? they are supposed to be within reach of the pump. this is totally against the health n safety laws...in this case, mizunori already pointed out the black n white.

If a tree were to fall on a person...would u blame god for pushing that tree down or the person who just walks away saying the tree is too heavy to lift?

have you all joined the page? BHP got 2 supporters die-die wanna say that the 2 attendants are NOT wrong. read all about the 2 supporters comments HERE.

bro..no other groups? this group blames the whole of BHP...thats a little too broad la. the brunt of it should be to that 2 fellers and BHP's non-conformance of extinguisher placements. i read thru all the comments and sherman yap really irks me man. the way he says the extinguishers were not meant for use outside the station boundaries is just stupid. is he a robot or something? yes the extinguishers were not meant for use outside...so next time...wanna burn his mother 1 meter outside the station's boundary n put him standing there....see he will run with the extinguisher n stop 1 meter from his mother cos not supposed to use outside the station premises hahahha

maybe both sherman and fadhlie wants free petrol from BHP for being a great supporter? :biggrin:

supporter or not...really kayu la. robot meh? everything follow rules. wonder if these sort of ppl can be taught to drift or not....too bz following the rules of drifting end up masuk gaung...

Dear all,

The victim is a sister to my friend.

Right now, the family is understandably and horribly upset about how the poor sister died. Innocently driving back home and from nowhere, a car comes hurtling from opposite direction. Impossible to avoid. Gets pinned in her car but can see that the car is starting to catch on fire right in front of her. The fear, the heat, the pain, the agony... none of us can ever imagine such an ending. I just wish her soul will rest in peace and god will protect her soul given her ordeal in her last minutes of her life.

This is just verbal information over the phone when my friend went to the police station just now: I have been told that the driver of the Vios was driving under alcohol influence (the word i heard was 'drunk') and talking on the phone when he lost control of the car.

I do not know the extent of how Mr. Teo could have saved my friend's sister's life even if he got the fire extinguishers but.. I am greatly saddened that we will never find out if she could be saved - be it due to society's conditioning of 'self safety first', be it due to some stupid corporate protocol to save costs by securing their fire extinguishers or be it due to simply the worker's ignorance and cold-heartedness.

I personally do find that the comment by BHP's corporate people are also quite cruel and selfish. They should be fired for projecting such a stone cold image of BHP and making excuses at that.

But whatever it is, my friend's family has lost a daughter/sister to drunk reckless driving... thats the reality. They are suffering now so please pray for them.. Pointing fingers of what could have been..it'll be a neverending story.. I think its better to try to improve our society's safety for the future by:

• Stricter enforcement on drunk driving / handphone usage
  • Proper easy access to fire extinguishers at public places (maybe with key in breakable glass)
  • Recommendation to have fire extinguishers in cars

What do you guys think?

• Stricter enforcement on drunk driving / handphone usage
i totally agree with this one. this whole incident's root cause was a drunk driver. no denying that. laws for drunk driving and or handphone usage is already in force...but rarely enforced. i agree there should be stricter enforcement

• Proper easy access to fire extinguishers at public places (maybe with key in breakable glass)
actualy if by reading the OHS posted by mizunori, the protocols are already in place. but as point # 1...not enforced. if you were referring to public places as in bus stops n such...i think our society is totally not ready for such freedom. today install...tomorrow whole thing hilang including the bolts...

• Recommendation to have fire extinguishers in cars
i already have one in my car, 1 in my kitchen and 1 big one in the hall of my house. common sense says "sediakan payung sebelum hujan" so yes...i also agree with you on this

PD...i would like to offer you my condolences and hope u pass it on to your friend's family

Proper easy access to fire extinguishers at public places (maybe with key in breakable glass)
i vote for this at every 24hr store where possible

condolences to the family of the deceased, i read dis news in the paper and i wept. drunk drivers shud be severely punished from now onwards

putra dreamin,

my condolences to your friend's family. sad to say, there are others who seem to think BHP people's actions are justified in that they don't need to lend out the fire extinguishers. if you follow this link to facebook, you will see what i mean.

although there are many types of selfish people out there, please convey the message to your friend that there are also many others who condemn the selfish acts of BHP. we can only hope that your friend's pain will subside a little bit knowing that his sister is in heaven now, safe from harm.

do keep us informed of any updates. thanks for dropping by to share.

just wondering shud we write a letter to BOMBA, KL. like wat mizunori77 has pointed out, the fire extinguisher shud be placed at the pump and not store inside the kiosk. As far as i know after getting some advise from my friend, BOMBA actually issue fire certificate to all operating premises. and if BOMBA find out that a premis that does not follow the rule stated, they could actually revoke the fire certificate. Eventually, the kiosk owner will find himself in big shit trouble.

Fuck bhp!!!!

i'm not sure how true this is but this was shared in facebook by akina teo. He was trying to help a girl who was trapped inside her car from burning to death but the bhp people refused to lend him the fire extinguishers. Anyone from cheras heard about this also?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ start of akina's story~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

fuck bhp!!!!! Fuck bhp!!! Why? Let me tell you!!

This morning approx 3.20am, at cheras tmn pertama roundabout,

saw a freak accident, involving a vios, myvi and a lorry.

Im one the first badge who arrive, mean it just happen maybe seconds ago.

Vios believe to be turtle and badly damaged. When im passing by the vios, rear passenger started to pull out the front driver and front passenger.

Then when i pass the myvi, the car was totally sardine. Heard one girl was yelling cos piined inside. I stop my car then run towards the myvi to offer a hand while calling 999 emergency line to request for ambulance and bomba.

Then saw fire spark at the engine bay of myvi. While still on the phone with emergency line to provide more details, i run back to my car and drive to bhp station which is just less than 500m away from the scene.

Then i request for the fire extingusher from the attendant which is kept inside. There was 4 extingusher on the ground. But the attendant refuse to pass to me.

The bhp attendant claimed dat the door cant be open.

Then i shout at him, i need it! I want it! Someone is pinned inside the car and its started to burn!

Then the bhp attendant keep repeating he kenot borrow and open the door.

Then i was like wtf! If ur kiosk is burning can u come out? Then he replied yes.

Then he still say he kenot open the door. Then he say his boss wont allowed to borrow. Wtf!!!

Then i started to amuk kicking the kiosk and punching the glass of the kiosk.

I even throw my ic to him say that if im dun return u report police.

I saw i borrow.. If i use it i will pay for it. Then he keep on just smile at me.

Then he ask another partner to come out. Then i start shouting and yelling at them with bad words saying dat if the girl dies you two are the murderer.

Then the 2nd bhp attendant shout back at me.

I demand for their names, i told them i would complain bout them,

then the 2nd attendant copy down my number plate and said that all my acts been recorded on cctv and he gonna report to police tumoro. I challenged him.

Then i drove off back to the scene.. The car was totally burning and the poor girl was burn alive inside.

Then i spoke to the bomba and pdrm how many casualties was inside. They told me one girl.

Then i spoke to pdrm about the incident happen in bhp.. Then the policemen also scold with anger wtf with them.. If i could get the fire extingushier.. The girl might be saved.

Then the policemen ask me to go police station to report a cover about the bhp, and he assured me that the stupid bhp wont get to report on me.

Personally i would like to ask, how much does 4 fire extingusher cost? Isit more expensive than a life?

Would like to ask the bhp petrol station's boss! U cant afford to lose 4 fire extingusher then u better closed down your station!!!! Fuck you boss!!!!

And this is to bhp malaysia!! Seens your procedure to keep all safety gadget inside the kiosk... If anything happen during refueling... Is your attendant gonna open the door to help? Seens he claimed that the door cant be open after hours??

Fuck you bhp!!! Fuck you!!!

I personally from now on will boycott bhp... I dont know how about you all!!!

Gonna give bhp hq a call tumoro... See what the fuck will they say about this kind of safety measurement they have!!!!!

For the two bhp attendant!!! You are the murderer!!!!!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~end of akina's story~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

additional info by akina teo
- the 2 attendants were local people
- the 2 attendants threaten to lodge police report against akina for shouting and screaming at them for not helping. The 2 attendants also said they will pass the video to the police.
- akina has contacted bhp hq, the star, china press, nstp, berita harian and fly fm. Interview with fly fm already done.

i dunno abt others... but i will boycott from now till the fucking MD and the particular bhp station wind up their business..