Evo masters , pls advice

SatriaCKC

I have already booked and about to pay for my Evo4. This is the part i seriously need help. I just notice one problem on the car , i just need to know if it is serious or not..

1)The radiator dries out. What could the problem be ? The owner says he knows and say will fix that before i get the car.. how serious can this condition be ?

2)Another issue is , when the car is idling , there is some smoke from the exhaust but when i rev it slightly higher or floor the pedal , theres no smoke? ( car is running on microtech)

3) I read through this forum before putting my booking , thanks for the early advices. What i have checked now is , when started , non of the warning lights is out , no leak or anything. Absobers are new , . Is there anything else i need to know?

I'll appreciate a full run through before i really make the payment ...

I have already booked and about to pay for my Evo4. This is the part i seriously need help. I just notice one problem on the car , i just need to know if it is serious or not..

1)The radiator dries out. What could the problem be ? The owner says he knows and say will fix that before i get the car.. how serious can this condition be ?

2)Another issue is , when the car is idling , there is some smoke from the exhaust but when i rev it slightly higher or floor the pedal , theres no smoke? ( car is running on microtech)

3) I read through this forum before putting my booking , thanks for the early advices. What i have checked now is , when started , non of the warning lights is out , no leak or anything. Absobers are new , . Is there anything else i need to know?

I'll appreciate a full run through before i really make the payment ...

Bro, where u located? If in KL, maybe u can call MLOC KL Mech, Evokit (his contact is 012-6107616) to run through the car before u make the payment.

The issues above i replied in the other thread.

Also, hope that your dream is realised soon and u are able to join up with MLOC...

unfortunately i'm not from KL where all the masters are... I don;t really mind the exterior . I just much more concerned on the chasis , engine and gearbox. To be truthful , it feels really amazing driving a 4wd turbo, i lost trust in FF and FR after test driven a evo..damn its addictive... I just want to make sure everything is alright before buying an evo and end up regretting it..

Where then are u located? There are MLOC members spread throughout Malaysia ...

Hi bro ,

1) smoke - What smoke color is it ?
2) radiator dried out - might be small matter but If its serious might affect the engine .
3) You need to check if there is any oil leak & water leak .
4) Check the AYC condition whether got sound when turn .
5) Check the gear whether smooth while driving.
6) Check turbo got boost or not .

After you collected the car , it's better to change the gear oil , AYC oil , engine oil & the timing belt . Check all the water hoses .

Cheong
Skyzone Car Performance (Sunway Mas)

unfortunately i'm not from KL where all the masters are... I don;t really mind the exterior . I just much more concerned on the chasis , engine and gearbox. To be truthful , it feels really amazing driving a 4wd turbo, i lost trust in FF and FR after test driven a evo..damn its addictive... I just want to make sure everything is alright before buying an evo and end up regretting it..

Welcome to the World of 4WD's....

As ive also got my ride 3 months ago and honestly,whether you like it or not you need to prepare a sum of RM5~8K to do some wear & tear parts replacement and putting in some aftermarket stuffs as well.

Ive spent money to buy experience and as for yr question,take Pang advise...
Message me if you hv idling problem, engine die off when added an aftermarket bov, car start to jerk whenever boost kick in, etc...

Im still forking money to get more experience on my ride...:banghead::banghead::banghead:

---------- Post added at 03:38 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:36 PM ----------

Dam...I wish ive peoples advise before i bought my ride last time...

Welcome to the World of 4WD's....

As ive also got my ride 3 months ago and honestly,whether you like it or not you need to prepare a sum of RM5~8K to do some wear & tear parts replacement and putting in some aftermarket stuffs as well.

Ive spent money to buy experience and as for yr question,take Pang advise...
Message me if you hv idling problem, engine die off when added an aftermarket bov, car start to jerk whenever boost kick in, etc...

Im still forking money to get more experience on my ride...:banghead::banghead::banghead:

---------- Post added at 03:38 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:36 PM ----------

Dam...I wish ive peoples advise before i bought my ride last time...

jameswwt how to solve the idling probs,engine die off when i add aftermarket bov?? my car the rpm will drop to 300rpm to 200rpm after rev it and free the gears, whats the prob??

Honestly,its very difficult to solve bcos this is a common problem for Evo 4 model (Air Flow).
The problem will be even worst if u hv changed to aluminium pipings.

Have u tried to re-circulate the bov into your air filter port?

My problem solved (90%) after i put in a aftermarket ecu.

Pls try to get more info's frm others Sifu's bcos this is solely based on my personal experience.

Hi bro ,

1) smoke - What smoke color is it ?
2) radiator dried out - might be small matter but If its serious might affect the engine .
3) You need to check if there is any oil leak & water leak .
4) Check the AYC condition whether got sound when turn .
5) Check the gear whether smooth while driving.
6) Check turbo got boost or not .

After you collected the car , it's better to change the gear oil , AYC oil , engine oil & the timing belt . Check all the water hoses .

Cheong
Skyzone Car Performance (Sunway Mas)

1)Smoke is whitish but evaporate quite fast...only got during idling.. rev-ing or test driving no smoke..
2) I'm not sure how the radiator dried out. It just gone after the next day without starting the car!
3)SIFU!! How to check if the AYC got problem or not ? U-Turning no sound consider ok ar ?
4) Gear is smooth( I guess ! as i was really thrilled with the response from 4WD)
6) Definately got boost
( What is the difference between AYC oil and transmission oil ?)

Additional question. This car is using microtech for ecu with a controller . If the batteries is removed from the car got any effect on the settings or not ?

---------- Post added at 09:27 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:25 PM ----------

jameswwt , no problem with the bov.. just perfect...I'm now very anxious waiting to get the keys... everything i do is just happens to have that e4 flashing in my brain...

SatriaCKC ... bro, i think your cylinder head gasket is leaking man ... that's why your radiator coolant habis without starting car. i kena before. eventhough metal head gasket but leak after 7-8 years ...

Try removing one of your spark plugs and use a strong torchlight to check for water on top of the piston.

SatriaCKC ... bro, i think your cylinder head gasket is leaking man ... that's why your radiator coolant habis without starting car. i kena before. eventhough metal head gasket but leak after 7-8 years ...

Try removing one of your spark plugs and use a strong torchlight to check for water on top of the piston.

Hi Pablo,actually im facing the same problem too...Most of the mornings b4 i start my car i'll check the radiator water first but this few days the water always kurang a bit lol....Tried tracing the problem but cant see any visible leakage frm the hoses, thermostat & water pump area...

How to tell if its the cylinder head gasket problem?

Hi Pablo,actually im facing the same problem too...Most of the mornings b4 i start my car i'll check the radiator water first but this few days the water always kurang a bit lol....Tried tracing the problem but cant see any visible leakage frm the hoses, thermostat & water pump area...

Very easy to remove 1 of the spark plugs like i mentioned above. Use a torchlight to look into the hole after removing the spark plug. If u can see water, 99% is cylinder head gasket leak. the remainder 1% may be a crack on the block but that's very rare.

For my cests tat beta check compression engine if one of that low means tat head gasket got lubang.... correct me if i say somethings wrong :hmmmm:

Bro ,

1) engine die off problem - What brand of BOV you using ?
2) White smoke - Does it continue ?
3) Water dried out issue - i suggest you to go to your familiar workshop .
4) AYC sound - Can hear sound when you turn 90 degree corner even at slow speed . Pls check ur AYC oil also , see whether is blacken . If yes , must change !
5) Engine oil is black oil in chinese bro . Transmission oil is gear box oil in chinese .

GTG , ttyl

this is a simple guide for u that can be test at the car.......

1.if u wanna see how bad the smoke effect from...
-take the dipstick out(stick u measure the oil level)then start the engine then rev the engine a bit about 2-2.5k rpm couple of times then see if there any white smoke come from the hole the dipstick come from...if there any white smoke come out that u can see clearly it result the engine ring or block are in bad condition..can be repair like changing the pistong ring or rebore for a bigger siza piston..

2.if u wanna see how bad the water drain from the radiator....
-(do this test when the temp was cold)..open the radiator cap..then start the engine...after that run the rpm in fast time couple times about at 2-2.5k rpm...concentrate at the radiator cap housing at the radiator..see if the water from radiator being push out or not at a length about more than 5-6cm above the radiator cap housing...if yes that sign is because the head is 'bengkok' coz of overheating that can cause the water disappear into the block or through the gasket...

this all are a simple test that can owner or buyer themself learn to test the engine condition at emergency times sometimes...more than that request from any isfu beside u there...not just a test for evo car but can be used for many or can say all off car outside there...good luck

p/s:microtech memory doesnt fade away if u disengaged the battey...
then after buying it take one more time setting the microtech seeing it run at 'lean' or 'rich' fuel map coz this can effect u after this coz new owner sometimes wanna 'kemaruk' maa...hehehe

-(do this test when the temp was cold)..open the radiator cap..then start the engine...after that run the rpm in fast time couple times about at 2-2.5k rpm...concentrate at the radiator cap housing at the radiator..see if the water from radiator being push out or not at a length about more than 5-6cm above the radiator cap housing...if yes that sign is because the head is 'bengkok' coz of overheating that can cause the water disappear into the block or through the gasket...

Hi Not Bad,
if say,the radiator being push out as you said 5~6cm above the radiator cap and the head (head?) is bengkok, then what shall i do? As Pablo advise, change the cylinder head gasket (metal head gasket)?

Hi Not Bad,
if say,the radiator being push out as you said 5~6cm above the radiator cap and the head (head?) is bengkok, then what shall i do? As Pablo advise, change the cylinder head gasket (metal head gasket)?

James, if head bengkok, then need to look for a good used head liao ... metal head gasket can't save it also ... :biggrin:

ALAMAK!!! But how to tell head bengkok??? Ive just check my car compression and everything looks normal...Can tell whether the head bengkok or not thru compression test (where the mech take out the plugs and put a gauge meter and crank the car)?:banghead:

check compression is for leaking of head gasket,i think check compression wont know tat head got bengkok or not cuz for me is a bit hard to know even that u r not try to test at road so wont know it,u try take up the dipstick see weather the engine oil got brown colour or not if got that mean u have to change a used head oredi.....this my cests:listen:

Alamak??? Then how to get a head (do u mean the block?)? Can i just find a engine kosong a replace the block?

Will it be a major work? if prolong the problem what will happen? Since there is no sign of brownish color frm my engine oil, should i change to a thicker metal head gasket?

Lastly,is Evo 5,6,7,8,9 all the same?