Can BT 20V use RON95?

Sil80-13

Just wondering ST & BT can use RON95 fuel? Is it good for our engine? RON95 & RON97, which one is better for ST & BT engine?

lets say if RON97 is already like feeding cheap brand milk to ur newborn baby, then RON95 would be like giving the baby poison hihi. its cruel, cruel i tell u! :rofl:

to drive with RON95 with the same style as using current RON97, its better to retard the distributor ignition timing a little. it means losing a little power which is already the effect of using the new fuel in the first place. either that, or just control right leg to not tekan so fast like before.

feed RON95 to 20V = cruelty. worse than abusing the car on unpaved road. My baby wants RON100 but... sob sob~ :bawling: sigh wat to do... :rofl:

we as a collective, should "import" in our own supply of RON100 fuel. :proud:

i think the engine will ping to kingdom come if u put in ron 95

we as a collective, should "import" in our own supply of RON100 fuel. :proud:

good ideal, when u self import in the RON 100 tell me ya. I will be regular customer for you.
Anyway RON 100 got bad news too, RON100 kadar penyerapan very high too.

Do you all know the Shell produced V-Power, it's actually is still RON 97. But formula of mixture is different.

i just pumped RON95 yesterday when my tank is nearly empty. Kenot aa!! Engine keep knocking all the way. Luckily i just pumped RM10 to try. This morning i pumped bank RON97, it becomes normal back. I read from mag that high compression engine like ours 20V need higher RON,m i right?

Altezza 3SGE BEAMS has higher compression ratio than a 4AG Blacktop,but it can use RON95 without any knocking,i have tried,the only thing is it feels a little slow,and the fuel economy is not much different than RON97.I guess the ECU is more 'intelligent'...

how many tank of ron95 hv u tried on altezza ? hv to give sometime for ECU to 'learn'
and recognize the ron95 ma ?? hehehe..

sorry guys i'm a little lost,
am using bt oso currently,
don really know exactly which fuel is ron95 n ron97..
im curently using mobil synergy...
isit ok????

1 Sept 2009

RM1.80 - ron95
RM2.05 - ron97

Do u know now?

:)

how many tank of ron95 hv u tried on altezza ? hv to give sometime for ECU to 'learn'
and recognize the ron95 ma ?? hehehe..

Not much,but as what i know,yes the ECU will learn,from bad to good right,form heavy knock to no knock.If we use good fuel without knocking,and suddenly fill with bad fuel and the engine knock heavily,the ECU will learn by retarding the ignition (over a period of time) to lessen the knock until certain levels.Since the 1st time i fill with RON95,it doesnt knock at all,so the ECU does not need to relearns if it didnt see any knock...But it doesnt mean that i urge you guys to use RON95,just to share my experience.It is advisable to use RON97 on high performance engine,as it is designed to be,for maximum performance.

Every car might be different,maybe my Altezza ECU kong already cannot notice knock,hehe,but my ears also didnt notice any.But i might not use it unless really short of cash,on the fuel lid it says 'premium',in Japan,premium is 96 octane,97 to 100 is hi-octane.(anybody can confirm this?),but one thing for sure,2ZZGE cannot use below RON97.

Just share experience..happy motoring:driver:

pump RM10 Ron95 in my SVT and it knocks like hell, tune down the ignition timing, re-tarted the distributor a bit (-8) and it was a bit better~ drive till the fuel finish, pump in another RM10 and test, the fuel still ignite earlier than it's suppose to. re-tarted the ignition (-16) and still knock... and really really lack of power.

after 45KM, fuel empty, refuel with Ron97, engine check light went on, reset the ECU, running ok already, no knocking, adjust back the ignition timing (0) respond a bit heavy, then adjust to +8, crank timing +16, then respond is light again ^^~

RON97 only for SVT-20V

4a-ge have knock sensor right?
it should automatically retarding the ingition if knocking happen
however,the recomended fuel for this engine is ron 100
ron 97 already below the requirement..
so, i think ron 95 should not be used but i use it several time because some of petrol station near my place doesn't sell ron97 anymore..
but it not produce heavy knocking sound on my engine compare if i use ron97

---------- Post added at 04:05 AM ---------- Previous post was at 04:03 AM ----------

Not much,but as what i know,yes the ECU will learn,from bad to good right,form heavy knock to no knock.If we use good fuel without knocking,and suddenly fill with bad fuel and the engine knock heavily,the ECU will learn by retarding the ignition (over a period of time) to lessen the knock until certain levels.Since the 1st time i fill with RON95,it doesnt knock at all,so the ECU does not need to relearns if it didnt see any knock...But it doesnt mean that i urge you guys to use RON95,just to share my experience.It is advisable to use RON97 on high performance engine,as it is designed to be,for maximum performance.

Every car might be different,maybe my Altezza ECU kong already cannot notice knock,hehe,but my ears also didnt notice any.But i might not use it unless really short of cash,on the fuel lid it says 'premium',in Japan,premium is 96 octane,97 to 100 is hi-octane.(anybody can confirm this?),but one thing for sure,2ZZGE cannot use below RON97.

Just share experience..happy motoring:driver:

is it ecu problems or knocking sensor fail?

differences in RON won't make your cat get a better performance...no sirry !
but since 20V is a high compression engine (10.5:1 - SVT and 11:1 - BT)...its need a mass of air fuel mixture too make the mechanical parts, the from piston down to extract the energy...thus it needs a highly combustion fuel, too push the piston down...the down side of high comp engine is that it's prone to engine knocking...duhhhh...

Japanese tune the engine using RON100 (some say, no sure is it true or not :D, but i believed it's was and still)...now were are using RON97, which clearly below requirement...but still can feel the lacking of power, have to retard a bit, put more high pressure for the FPR to work on...

now what would the engine feel or say, if it can talk :D ...if we pour in RON95 ???

for me...it's not advice able to use RON95...although 20V has a knock sensor...it can retard and advance the timing slightly when ever it required...but ...using RON97, the knock sensor already make a hard work...now you add the more hard work to it...like AE80TypeD said...you'll add cruelty and add "kedekutness" in you...you want to use a high performance engine...now you are complaining about fuel consumption ? face the fact man...live with it...if can't sell it of and use non-high comp engine... :driver: or else...you can use RON95 it retard it...then make the report here...soo we all can see the long term of the engine and the feedbacks...I'm sure most of us wanna hear it... :adore:

2 cents...
again feel free to correct me if i'm wrong...:proud:

I'm not sure if Blacktop really are tuned for 100RON,i think not,but i could say it is tuned for hi-octane (not specifically 100RON),as most of new generation Jap engines,coz in japan got 2 types of fuel,if i remember correctly..its regular (RON96) and premium hi octane (RON99)..

It should not have a problem to use both fuel as the ecu will make some adjustment,unless it is stated in the vehicle manual we have to use hi octane.But we never know how much the difference between the ingredients of japanese and malaysian fuel.

V-power is RON97...maybe we can try mix RON95 with RON 97 and see if there is any knock..I'll try on my SVT soon...full RON95 and Mix 95 with 97

i using ron95 on my 20V.... dont feel anything.. smooth & ok... maybe still mixing with
some old ron97... wait till i finish whole tank & pump in full tank ron95 again to check

RON 97 for me it's ok
RON 95, lack of power
my svt need RON 97, but most of the petrol station only sell RON 95, so cruel!!
V-power? not available at my place:banghead:

nowadays it is very hard to find petrol station selling ron97!!! i need to travel more to refill my empty tank!