Civic 1.8 Engine Noise ... why?

aerobrain

Hi ...

I bought a Civic 1.8 year 2006 about 4 months ago. Recently I notice there is a gurgling/rattling/knocking sound during start up and during 2000-3000rpm when free gear. I went to Honda Service today for regular service and at the same time asked them to check on this. However, they could found that the sound coming from the engine itself and they suggest overhaul .. I think 3-year-old is too young to be overhauled. Appreciate if anybody has any comments.

I posted some video here .. please hear carefully:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m46sYG-gzh8

and here:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t6Aj7mJEIqA

Thanks!

What's the millage on this. It might be time for an overhaul.

btw...honda put a lot of effort to make this engine perform like a 2.0 while consume fuel like 1.5..it has many high tech friction reducer in the engine..it has special coated piston skirt and also a oil jet to cool the piston which onli normally found in higher performance engine...so it really shouldn't sound like tat...tats like a dog meowing.....:hmmmm:

hmm ... that's why I feel like something wrong with this sound ... you looks like very expert in this area .. any suggestion what should I do?

Thanks!

no xpert la..but mayb u try go other honda sc n then c how they comment...chk ur honda booklet if its fully service by honda sc...try make some noise to them....like how come fully maintained by honda and yet this kind of prob

I think you should go and overhaul the motor. If its still under warranty, why wait?

Go go go go go! Open up the motor.

hope you catch my drift

it is a teppet sound if not mistaken..
i got ask a foremen say it is normal during start up because the oil havent reach the top...
after the engine warm up dy, the sound will gone..

how much ur mileage ah??

btw i'm driving satria..:biggrin:

nope...not those tappet sound...his 1 is really bad...

can tell us wat those ppl at honda sc told u?

sound like Diesel engine....
Something is loose or knocking inside...?? For sure the engine sounds really rough.....should it be that rough?
could it be the timing chain?

I'll send the car to another Service Center today. I'll update you guys soon!

Thanks for the comments.

not teppet sound eh..:hmmmm:
hopefully ts car recover soon..

Bump: not teppet sound eh..:hmmmm:

bro ...tat sound mostly is the con rod bearing and crankshaft bearing noise...this civic 1.8 first batch and maybe few of the 2nd batch have this problems ...it is a manufacturing problems...we turun few engine of this and the cause is the bearing.GOOD LUCK bro...

exactly.

just need to retorque the bearing cap.

based on ur case really hard to say lah...coz mostly it din sound so bad like urs ...i scare ur bearing already kong d or the bearing cap is very loose. i go find out how much the price for u..