Silvertop Ecu Overheating!

sbirdz

Hi there guys,

lately i have changed another ecu and here is my car status

- silvertop (2nd batch) auto half cuts
- converted transmission over to manual transmission
- wiring everything is stock as from the halfcuts itselves
- no extra grounding cable or wire added...

Here is the questions:
i have burned 2 automatic silvertop ecu
- last found problems was after i rev my car hard and i meant really hard here...
- car engine check light *ON* then the car dead straight away
- try to pull out the ecu, and found that it is as hot as burning

Went to check for the ecu light causes
- ecu were dead and wiring were fine

so now i am using another ecu, which somehow i find that here is something not normal,
- everytime after i rev it hard(testing) on the new ecu again, the whole ecu gets hots...
- if i drive normally even with aircond off, the whole ecu just warm.. very normal temperature

So now, what does the thing cause the ecu to be overheated? i really don't wanna burn another round of ecu again.. and i checked the internet which somehow i find that some were saying that the ecu original place on the AE101 body were just above the exhaust..

So i shifted it out and sit right under the passenger side wall which has a better air circulations... and i even try to make a anti-heat piece of thing to block the heat from the chasis wall in middle from going up into the ecu..

and it seems, the heats wasn't from the exhaust... so is this something wrong with the voltage going into the ecu? does adding grounding cable will helps? or adding 12v stabilizer on the 2 power supply wire on the ecu will helps?

i really dun wanna fry this new ecu, as it was an aftermarket rare item... so anyone? faced this problems? :banghead:

oh birdie...ouch ! burned 2 ecu eh... relocated the ecu and symptom still same ar...
don't think adding grounding will solve it.. scared maybe your wiring short circuit,
try to trace each wires end-to-end if can, u might find perhaps 1 that is loose and touches
your chasis/body which kind of short circuit it..

p/s: i don't think the heat from exhaust below is that extreme to overheat the ecu, to confirm this, u can try put a small box/ciggy.box at the ori/ecu location then rev ur car, then take out the box
to see if very hot or not..

well, that is what i get too from my friends..

if the exhaust heat is enough to burn ur ecu, then ur floor carpet will confirm the first to burn and lit off...

Guess, maybe like what you said.. i need to sent back to my friends and have him check my wiring one by one jor.. hisk!~~~

well, that is what i get too from my friends..

if the exhaust heat is enough to burn ur ecu, then ur floor carpet will confirm the first to burn and lit off...

Guess, maybe like what you said.. i need to sent back to my friends and have him check my wiring one by one jor.. hisk!~~~

remember to update the result back here .. share share knowledge and result.. :)

good luck birdie..

The max. temperature i measure last time inside the SVT ECU was 50~60°C. The measurement was done by pluged in one digital thermometer into one of the hole at the ECU casing. It mean this is the temperature inside the environment of the ECU. The temperature at the surface of the components could be be 5~10°C (or much much more) higher.
The components use to build the ECU are rated at 105°C and above therefore they have no problem to survive in this environment.

Bump: If you are not aware of this... SVT ECU already reach its life span of service. It mean it will fail at any time just a matter of your luck. Sbirdz's ECU wasn't die due to over reving, they die due to age problem. So if you do not know your ECU's condition, its better for you to keep one spare in your car all time. I had my car stall in the middle of the busy traffic before. That painful moment was unforgettable...

maybe there is short circuit. check all wires before ur car burn.

Thanks there... well, when i bought this item from Nuthin... he mentions the same to me too... so hahaha!! that is why i am still keeping Khwong spare ecu(wit aircond's ic condamned) with me... so that means...

fuck the heat and happy revvinG! HAHAHAHAHA!!! :D 105 degree...

:biggrin: coz nuthin said another happy options to me when i purchase it... if it is burned down.. or spoiled... it is more worthy to restore it compare to stock svt ecu...

but still, i would like my wiring to be checked... and adding ground wire.. to see if it helps reducing the heats... because Mike (wfhan) did mentions something logic here... if an ecu were manufactured for once you rev it hard, it becomes hot and die eventually.... then i don't think toyota might even launch or release it... so i find it is logic there

and maybe i am just worried with the heat with the 2nd ecu, due to it is really hot... I will check my wiring out with my regular wiremen friend... won't cost me a bomb but might cost me becomes 2 wheeler for 2-3 weeks times... :)

will keep u guys updated after this.. alright.. :D

Sbirdz, you don't have to check your wiring if there is no error codes or check light.
If there is anything burnt or short circuit, the ECU will give you a check light.
Do you have check light now?

Sbirdz, you don't have to check your wiring if there is no error codes or check light.
If there is anything burnt or short circuit, the ECU will give you a check light.

nup...it is very fine now...

actually i am just worried about the heat creates by the ecu when i hard rev it... and i am still testing... the blardy thing just now damn cold... even i try to ram hard... man man!!! WTF is wrong with the ecu r... if this thing keeps on creating heats by itself, then how the hell am i going to rev it safetly lor...

*sorry for the complaining above* hahaha!!

so, if my wiring is fine, then i shall proceed with the grounding wire installations... and then keep on testing until it won't gets hots even i am revving it hard during hot sunny day...

btw, does normally ecu will becomes hot? and if it is broken, can u fix it? It is a Mines Ecu for svt auto transmission type...

actually i am just worried about the heat creates by the ecu when i hard rev it... and i am still testing... the blardy thing just now damn cold... even i try to ram hard... man man!!! WTF is wrong with the ecu r... if this thing keeps on creating heats by itself, then how the hell am i going to rev it safetly lor...

so, if my wiring is fine, then i shall proceed with the grounding wire installations... and then keep on testing until it won't gets hots even i am revving it hard during hot sunny day...

btw, does normally ecu will becomes hot? and if it is broken, can u fix it? It is a Mines Ecu for svt auto transmission type...

kyle, today it is cold doesn't mean it is no problem... and u better take some preventive action,
which is still go to ur wiring technician fren to at least check 1 round. sometimes we really donno when is our "sui' time, and we won't want the car to suddenly die off in the middle
of peak hour traffic jam (* touchwood *).

And i doubt the standard OBD-II can access your MINES to retrieve error code (u need the computer + connector + software for MINES).

but if u want, u can experimentally plug in the stock SVT ECU to see if the error code (caused previously) was still stored in that ECU or not. if got, then at least u can narrow down to the problematic area & troubleshoot based on that code. If it is erased due to unplug too long already, then this step is useless.

I dun think i can detect back this problems... that ecu is already dead...at daws there

and i am going to switch back my ecu to original ones later once after works.. because i found out that my fucking old alarm units is creating a short circuits on my interior lights and creating a fake door *open* signal... need to fucking drag the whole alarm set out... really scared it might created some short circuits or wiring problems with my car... :D

today is 24th, have wait until 28th.. then purchase the new alarm and went to my wireman house on sunday and let him install everything for me.. gezz...

and a friends of my over on msn is starting to scared my dick off here already.. saying later if i rev, my car might caught in big fire and KABOOM!! due to short circuits... then bye bye... will be floating in heaven with my AE101... :banghead::banghead:

Grounding won't cut down the heat generated by the ECU. But a good grounding work will be able to reduce the noise from going into the ECU via supply line.
Why are you bothering the heat while it is actually consider as normal? If you really want to have a cool ECU so that you can have a good night sleep, perhaps you may want to add a big heatsink on the casing of the ECU... :biggrin: gurantee 5°C down at least.
If the ECU burnt not because of short circuit or mis-handling, normally it can be rebuilt to restore back its original performance. A rebuilt ECU will run as good as new.
Thanks for the "Thank you note" bro. Just sharing the info.

Hmn... maybe i am just over worried here about the heat due to the 2nd ecu dilemma..

Well, and due to this reason... i am thinking of bringing my car to my friend who did rewired my car before.. but maybe like what you say, it is not necessary as what you told me if there is something wrong with the damn wiring, the engine check light will alert me.. :) better don't waste any money here le..

ok la then, bro Levin818.. thanks for all the explanations.. and my damn past alarm really spoilt already.. creating a confuse signal over to my car on the acc, on & start signals. :)

and if one day anything happens to my this ecu, mind helping me restore it? ^-^

so mind pm me your number? :D

Grounding won't cut down the heat generated by the ECU. But a good grounding work will be able to reduce the noise from going into the ECU via supply line.
Why are you bothering the heat while it is actually consider as normal? If you really want to have a cool ECU so that you can have a good night sleep, perhaps you may want to add a big heatsink on the casing of the ECU... :biggrin: gurantee 5°C down at least.
If the ECU burnt not because of short circuit or mis-handling, normally it can be rebuilt to restore back its original performance. A rebuilt ECU will run as good as new.

Bump: Hmn... maybe i am just over worried here about the heat due to the 2nd ecu dilemma..

Well, and due to this reason... i am thinking of bringing my car to my friend who did rewired my car before.. but maybe like what you say, it is not necessary as what you told me if there is something wrong with the damn wiring, the engine check light will alert me.. :) better don't waste any money here le..

ok la then, bro Levin818.. thanks for all the explanations.. and my damn past alarm really spoilt already.. creating a confuse signal over to my car on the acc, on & start signals. :)

and if one day anything happens to my this ecu, mind helping me restore it? ^-^

so mind pm me your number? :D

It is happening on mine ECU also from the 1st day i rev my BT auto..I mean the heat problem. It is like what you said, like burning. But i did not give a fuck on it untill now still fine.:proud:

my car oso same condition with u bro sbird, oledi take two ecu so far. but now im using bt manual ecu with svt auto wiring. thanx to bro cuscostrucbrace. since im using bt ecu no more prob coming

Well, i am still on testing here... but i believes svt ecu lifespan is shorter nowadays, like what others said... and most probably it wasn't due to the wiring fault... and that is why bt seldom having the problems of ecu burned or damaged...because of the age they were produced.

Can't wait to test it out again soon with the grounding wire and cable all done.... :) but i will post here again once i done a complete checking with my car... and i don't really travel a lot in my car... as i ride my fat ass scooter to work... so only on weekend i can get along with my car... :)

im oso hear if using svt need to do some grounding but dont know is it true or not

Write your reply...