Engine and gearbox oil

Cow

Guys,

can share your experiences with the different brands and types of oil which you have used for your 4G63T?

any recommendations and such?

thanks!:driver:

oil - Q8 F1 full synth- 10w-50, very good. heavy at first 500km but somehow a shift in chemical properties occurs after that, making your engine feel lighter. usual life 4000-5000km.

tranny oil - Endless - damn chun. no complaints
MOTUL - damn chun at first, apparently bulletproof. but theni think doesnt last as long as the endless.

End of the day, i think not much difference between them. just dont use 'minyak pelincir cap tiga kaki gajah' then you should be fine.

i use eneos semi-syn 10-40 only, change every 3k , now aredy 3 years using the same brand. i wont go for those expensive oil, because i think its all the same.

grearbox i use redline.

i use motul all the way....but lately very pricey....need sort alternative..

Huhuhuhuh...

nowdays need to think smart on how or what oil need to be used...if good one soo damn pricy..cheap one scare engine problem:banghead: :banghead: ...i think la...dunno corret or not..:smokin: :smokin:

me also didnt change my gearbox oil yet...damn..hehehehehe:stupid: :stupid:

how often should you change the engine oil for the 4G63T? every 5000km or 8000km? and also is full syn and issit 5w-50 (cant remember the number).. what about gear oil, lsd oil etc? how often do you guys change them?

some ppl recommned 5k, but i notice i need to top up when it reach around 2k, so i might better change it at 3k. my car run on semi syn which is less than 100/4L

Hi Cow,

This was discussed many times before in MLOC forum. Would help a lot if you try search and I'm sure many discussion on engine oil would turn up.

As for which is good/recommended, you need to share your driving preference. Ie normal street driving or lots of uphill/stress driving or you for racing / trek use ? Difference application uses different greds of oils and brands. Ie, 10w-40 is usable for normal street driving but not for stress and would be good to go up by 15w-50. Whereas for trek, will be good to go even higher to the 60 to protect your engine but day 2 day driving with viscocity of 60 oil will be very sluggish for your driving experience, no doubt it is thick for protecting your engine though.

I'm using Motul 300v 15w-50 for normal street driving. Very pricey but is a good oil (esther base).

Hardly go on trek or stress so can't comment any other oil.

my 2 cents..

How about IDEMITSU japanese engine oil, full synth .. for street driving ?

I never use IDEMITSU before but by review that i've read, they seems to be quite good and reputable engine oil.

hmmmm...

Last time i use the V99 Bylon fully sytn. from what i get free during the AGM & service it at Boostzone..its a very good oil and bit pricy..but after this dunno what oil im gonna used lah..hehehehe..

aiyo how lah.. i dunno what oil to use.....

hmmmm...

Last time i use the V99 Bylon fully sytn. from what i get free during the AGM & service it at Boostzone..its a very good oil and bit pricy..but after this dunno what oil im gonna used lah..hehehehe..
Marzuki, just use Motul 300V i.e competition,chrono .... a bit pricey tp engine selamat dunia dan akhirat....u can see the different if u have oil temp and oil pressure meter... bcoz it's ester base that maintain the viscosity of the oil.

castroledge i heard good things, but never got around to try it....

still stick to motul (i am using 6100 synergie semi sync)....coz so far so good....can last up to 5k still going..but gonna change next week...ehheehe