BT auto trans with e-manage

2 Old 2 Rusty

I remember this topic being discussed but couldn't locate it anymore.

Just wondering if anyone has fitted the blue e-manage on the auto trans BT todate ? Mind sharing the results, guys ?

dont waste money on piggyback to 20V, not working......20V interest on stand alone.....

Don't quite get what you meant by your advise, bro ? Can you pls tell me more ? Are you saying that piggybacks does not work on the 20v at all or do mean that it has minimal effect or....:confused:

Or have you tried installing it before & it doesn't produce satisfactory result ?

im using emange now..

and.....??:confused:

and I guess that you're not happy with it ? Mind telling me why or in what aspect specifically that you're not happy with ? Perhaps the increase in performance was not substantial ? Was it dyno tuned ?

Do you think a stand alone will make huge increase on a standard spec BT ? I'm no pro but I seriously think that a stand alone will only allow more fine tuning but if used on a standard spec BT, I seriously doubt that it'll make any big difference with a piggy back, Ben.

Have you compared with any standard spec BT that's using a stand alone ?

Pls do not be mistaken, I'm not arguing or anything like that. I just want to discuss & learn more about it from you since you've one installed on yr car. I'd appreciate it if you could elaborate more on it. Thanks, bro.

BT with 264 highcam n adjustable cam pulley

emanage - 133on wheel
stand alone - 154 on wheel

just need to know piggyback is very hard to cheat toyota factory ECU

Last edited by a moderator:
BT with 264 highcam n adjustable cam pulley

emanage - 133on wheel
stand alone - 154 on wheel

just need to know piggyback is very hard to cheat toyota factory ECU

Wow, that's a big difference; 20+ on wheel ! OK, now I understand what you mean.

The 264 cam is on both intake & exhaust ? What's yr Hp or ps on wheel when it was std, ?

If stand alone, what would you recommend, Ben ? & how much do I need to fork out for it ?

i'm using BT stock auto in AE111 but still not decided which or what type of ecu...
the problem is auto transmission...
even if you use standalone, i doubt that it can support... at the end it will still be use as a piggyback on standard ecu...
i've raise this to Cipan and Ecupro... and receive the same answer...

i havn't decided coz not sure the route to go... coz wife kacau/bising bila nak tukar manual...

so if i use e-manage blue now and then built-up the engine with cams & valve springs, will it be able to support the tuning... while maintaning the auto trans...:hmmmm:

i'm using BT stock auto in AE111 but still not decided which or what type of ecu...
the problem is auto transmission...
even if you use standalone, i doubt that it can support... at the end it will still be use as a piggyback on standard ecu...
i've raise this to Cipan and Ecupro... and receive the same answer...

i havn't decided coz not sure the route to go... coz wife kacau/bising bila nak tukar manual...

so if i use e-manage blue now and then built-up the engine with cams & valve springs, will it be able to support the tuning... while maintaning the auto trans...:hmmmm:

Here's my story; I've also just fitted an e-manage blue on my BT auto. Increase in Hp is not significant but that was not my intention anyway. It's my wife's car anyway, I only drive it occasionally. I fitted the e-manage bcoz the response on the lower revs were very poor; between 1-3k rpm (most used powerband in town driving), to be specific.

My initial dyno reading was 116 ps on wheel. After the e-manage fitted, it increased a mere 2 ps; 118 ps. However, the 1-3k rpm was much more responsive & nicer to drive already. Then being greedy, I had a 1JZ fuel pump fitted & went to retune it again. It's now 120 ps on wheel.

Never mind what the paper says. It did solve my complaint regarding the 1-3k rpm sluggishness. It's now much more responsive & I'm quite pleased with the difference. It's much more pleasant to drive & I've no complaints now.

So Meg, I don't really understand what's your complaint. Is it the performance ?

2ndly, I don't get what you meant by,"even if you use standalone, i doubt that it can support... at the end it will still be use as a piggyback on standard ecu...". A stand alone is a stand alone mar, why will it become piggyback ? Once you use a stand alone, you no longer use your ori ECU, right ?

The other thing is, if higher cams are fitted, the powerband will be shifted to even higher rpms, which I think defeats the purpose of having an auto trans in the first place & I think by increasing the power of the engine, the auto gear box may not be able to sustain & last.

So in my case, it's not about the Hp. It's about more pleasant to drive, that's all. My tuner doesn't even let me change the extractor coz it'll hamper the lower revs, according to him.

I guess what Benjamin78 driving is a manual & not an auto trans.

ya, im using mt. but i think ecu work almost the same for auto, here my story

stock bt mt + factory ECU = 118 on wheel
stock bt mt + factory ECU + Emanage blue = 123 on wheel
bt mt + 264cam and pulley + factory ECU + Emanage blue = 133 on wheel
bt mt + 264cam and pulley + standalone (Aadaptronic ECU -autralia ecu) = 157 on wheel..

that is the different of piggyback and standalone using in the same spec of engine. not to say the piggyback is not good, if u want you fuel curve suite for you daily driving , piggyback should be ok, if u play on hp, standalone will be your choice. piggyback cant increase lot hp in 20v engine. it depend what you want.

ya, im using mt. but i think ecu work almost the same for auto, here my story

stock bt mt + factory ECU = 118 on wheel
stock bt mt + factory ECU + Emanage blue = 123 on wheel
bt mt + 264cam and pulley + factory ECU + Emanage blue = 133 on wheel
bt mt + 264cam and pulley + standalone (Aadaptronic ECU -autralia ecu) = 154 on wheel..

that is the different of piggyback and standalone using in the same spec of engine. not to say the piggyback is not good, if u want you fuel curve suite for you daily driving , piggyback should be ok, if u play on hp, standalone will be your choice. piggyback cant increase lot hp in 20v engine. it depend what you want.

Thanks very much for the detail & explanation, Ben.:top:

I totally agree with you, Ben. I'm not looking for Hp, I just want to sort out my fuel problem on the lower revs for daily driving. If I wanted Hp, I'd got myself a manual trans like you said.Hehehe.

Ben, mind telling me what's the price like for this Adaptronic ? Is the software for tuning available easily in KL ? I may consider it for my other car which is a manual trans; if I could afford it lar...:flute:

What about Haltech if compared to this Adaptronic ? I heard that Haltech is also quite popular.

http://www.adaptronic.com.au/index.php
vs
http://www.haltech.com/r35gtr.htm

well, i'm not complaining or anything... just informing...

my question is that...
if maintaining auto trans, and you wanted to use standalone... can the standalone control the auto trans...
bear in mind that 4AGE auto ecu is 2in1 ecu...

not sure about haltech, adaptronic in malaysia around RM5k (include install, tuning, dyno) , update software can found on their official website as u post.

Meg: not sure about auto, but adaptronic can use on mt, and it can control 20v aircorn system.

well, i'm not complaining or anything... just informing...

my question is that...
if maintaining auto trans, and you wanted to use standalone... can the standalone control the auto trans...
bear in mind that 4AGE auto ecu is 2in1 ecu...

Oh yeah hor, didn't think of that. (the AT ecu being a 2 in 1). You've got a good point there, Meg but seriously, it has never even crossed my mind to run an AT on a stand alone. In order to clarify, I suggest you drop them (Adaptronic or any stand alone manufacturer) a line to ask your question to them, Meg.

not sure about haltech, adaptronic in malaysia around RM5k (include install, tuning, dyno) , update software can found on their official website as u post.

Meg: not sure about auto, but adaptronic can use on mt, and it can control 20v aircorn system.

Wow, RM 5k for the Adaptronic...it's quite costly also. I definately couldn't afford that.:bawling:

Speaking of air cond, I've heard before that Motec can't control air cond for some models too.

I've already consult with Ecupro, he said if maintain auto trans, then even if use standalone... you could only activate them as piggyback... this is also concurred by Cipan (MegaSquirt installer)...

I need to meet Cipan to discuss the best option/route to take on this. I will update back.
Why don't you post the issues to both Ecupro and Cipan? They're in Engine Management thread... and their standalone ECU roughly cost @ RM3K including installation, details better check with them.

Protech - self built standalone ecu by Ecupro from Ipoh, few version already. Old Toyota sifus knew him.
MegaSquirt - diy standalone ecu, could also be a piggyback depends on part and what's activated. Cipan mostly known as sifu on this.

sigh... if only my wife agrees to changing to manual trans... :banghead:

Here's my story; I've also just fitted an e-manage blue on my BT auto. Increase in Hp is not significant but that was not my intention anyway. It's my wife's car anyway, I only drive it occasionally. I fitted the e-manage bcoz the response on the lower revs were very poor; between 1-3k rpm (most used powerband in town driving), to be specific.

My initial dyno reading was 116 ps on wheel. After the e-manage fitted, it increased a mere 2 ps; 118 ps. However, the 1-3k rpm was much more responsive & nicer to drive already. Then being greedy, I had a 1JZ fuel pump fitted & went to retune it again. It's now 120 ps on wheel.

Never mind what the paper says. It did solve my complaint regarding the 1-3k rpm sluggishness. It's now much more responsive & I'm quite pleased with the difference. It's much more pleasant to drive & I've no complaints now.

So Meg, I don't really understand what's your complaint. Is it the performance ?

2ndly, I don't get what you meant by,"even if you use standalone, i doubt that it can support... at the end it will still be use as a piggyback on standard ecu...". A stand alone is a stand alone mar, why will it become piggyback ? Once you use a stand alone, you no longer use your ori ECU, right ?

The other thing is, if higher cams are fitted, the powerband will be shifted to even higher rpms, which I think defeats the purpose of having an auto trans in the first place & I think by increasing the power of the engine, the auto gear box may not be able to sustain & last.

So in my case, it's not about the Hp. It's about more pleasant to drive, that's all. My tuner doesn't even let me change the extractor coz it'll hamper the lower revs, according to him.

I guess what Benjamin78 driving is a manual & not an auto trans.

Bro, Where u tune ur BT auto wif emanage blue?

I've already consult with Ecupro, he said if maintain auto trans, then even if use standalone... you could only activate them as piggyback... this is also concurred by Cipan (MegaSquirt installer)...

I need to meet Cipan to discuss the best option/route to take on this. I will update back.
Why don't you post the issues to both Ecupro and Cipan? They're in Engine Management thread... and their standalone ECU roughly cost @ RM3K including installation, details better check with them.

Protech - self built standalone ecu by Ecupro from Ipoh, few version already. Old Toyota sifus knew him.
MegaSquirt - diy standalone ecu, could also be a piggyback depends on part and what's activated. Cipan mostly known as sifu on this.

sigh... if only my wife agrees to changing to manual trans... :banghead:

Meg,

You may wanna consider this :

http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/2870840-post1.html

thanks bro for highlighting... i've already review the post...
might consider this or emanage ultimate, roughly around the same cost...
i'll update once install...