Tyre for 175/55R15 or 175/50R15

Mar 29, 2021
175/55R15 or 175/50R15
What tyre are recommended for this size? My driving style is daily but sometimes do have some weekend drives.
Priority ranking:
1. Dry and wet grip
2. Quiet and Comfort
3. Threadwear

Have not seen this tyre size for a very long time. Friend use to have on his kenari.
There are very little tyre choices even those days. I don't think you have much choice now too, but get one of the few available.
Simple google search shows tyres like Dunlop J5, Goodyear Assuarance Duraplus 2 and Michelin XM2+ which all are entry level tyres.....

Reactions: hannsforever

175/55R15 or 175/50R15
What tyre are recommended for this size? My driving style is daily but sometimes do have some weekend drives.
Priority ranking:
1. Dry and wet grip
2. Quiet and Comfort
3. Threadwear
Like what vr2turbo said, this is a rare size and the range of brands you can get is limited. The range of models also limited and quite frankly as long as you're choosing the big names - all the low to mid-range models are more or less the same.

XM2+ is good for its class, but it costs a premium over its peers. I would look at the kimchi over the Continental.

6UE5t

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
Like what vr2turbo said, this is a rare size and the range of brands you can get is limited. The range of models also limited and quite frankly as long as you're choosing the big names - all the low to mid-range models are more or less the same.
Agree, just choose the cheapest one you can find out of the popular top brands for this low end/econo category.

XM2+ is good for its class, but it costs a premium over its peers. I would look at the kimchi over the Continental.
Meh... hankook ventus on a heavy MPV is rubbish. Flexes unexpectedly and frightens the shit out of you in the wet in a corner.

I've tried KU39, and PS31. Very good for the money in terms of grip. Not PS3 but the PS31 inspires confidence in the wet more than RE003.

That being said I have never used any Hankook tires....

6UE5t

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
Which Ventus? Usually I saw SUV are using the S1Evo2 SUV which actually should be very good, but I never get to try it yet. I have used the V12E2 before and very good value for money but yes they're soft sidewall hence I pump higher for them, so far ok in the wet.

V12 I used on innova. I pumped the max without affecting comfort. I drove to Sgp once and it was in the rain on Sgp roads at legal speeds and even my passengers felt the whole innova flex/slip/something. It was unnerving more so in the rain. I thought maybe just the weight and I tried it on the Myvi too.. same thing. But then again could be because I was using high sidewall sizes. 60 and 65.

Hello, you got the right Hankook model or not? V12 is UHP and if not mistaken do not have 60 and 65 series aspect ratio.

Maybe you use the Kinergy model.......lol

Hello, you got the right Hankook model or not? V12 is UHP and if not mistaken do not have 60 and 65 series aspect ratio.

Maybe you use the Kinergy model.......lol
shit... senility at 40. I'm doomed. You're right.. Kinergy. And we're talking about entry level and mid-range so V12 doesn't apply. Kinergy is rubbish

• Haha
Reactions: minibeany and 6UE5t

shit... senility at 40. I'm doomed. You're right.. Kinergy. And we're talking about entry level and mid-range so V12 doesn't apply. Kinergy is rubbish
Most entry level is like that. More towards comfort and durability. Like Falken Top Range FK510 have very good feedback. Even tyre review recommends that model. Now Falken have come out with Ziex ZE310 Ecorun. Pattern looks a bit like the 510 but not the performance.......lol

Mclaren super rookie, Lewis Hamilton was caught speeding on a French highway on Sunday afternoon.

Hamilton, 22, was clocked by radar doing a very normal 196kmh (for his standard) at the wheel of a Mercedes CLK. French police have suspended the F1 driver’s license for a period of one month and fined him 600 euros. His car also got confiscated, but police gave Hamilton a lift to his hotel.

Policemen said Hamilton...