2016 AMG A45 laps Suzuka in 2:27.953!

Tom

TIMETOATTACK
Jul 6, 2000
<iframe src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/o-ASWqdhxQg" allowfullscreen="" frameborder="0" height="400" width="700"></iframe>

I found this video especially interesting since the A45 is currently one of the most sought after hot hatch today. Even more so now with the recently launched facelifted 380hp version.

In this video, ex-Petronas Team Syntium Japanese GT Driver Tatsuya Kataoka takes the factory stock Mercedes AMG A45 4-Matic out on the 5.8KM Suzuka Circuit and impressively clocks a 2:27.953 lap, which from some quick research literally puts the A45 right up there with the likes of Nissan's R35 GTR.

Video: Nissan GTR

<iframe src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/fqj4abHhAlQ" allowfullscreen="" frameborder="0" height="400" width="700"></iframe>

I haven't been able to find more details of the above video or more examples of a factory stock GTR however.

For more reference, FastestLaps.com has a brief list of lap times here:

<table class="table table-striped fl-laptimes-trackpage"><tbody><tr><td>1</td><td>Koenigsegg One:1</td><td>Robert Serwanski</td><td>2:17.00</td></tr><tr><td>2</td><td>Ferrari F40</td><td>
</td><td>2:25.26</td></tr><tr><td>3</td><td>Ferrari F50</td><td>
</td><td>2:26.52</td></tr><tr><td>4</td><td>Renault Megane RS 275 Trophy R</td><td>Laurent Hurgon</td><td>2:28.00</td></tr><tr><td>5</td><td>Porsche Carrera GT</td><td>
</td><td>2:28.42</td></tr><tr><td>6</td><td>Porsche 911 GT2 (993)</td><td>
</td><td>2:29.15</td></tr><tr><td>7</td><td>Porsche 911 Turbo 3.6 (993)</td><td>
</td><td>2:31.16</td></tr><tr><td>8</td><td>Honda NSX 3.2</td><td>
</td><td>2:32.54</td></tr><tr><td>9</td><td>Lamborghini Diablo SV</td><td>
</td><td>2:32.98</td></tr><tr><td>10</td><td>Porsche 911 GT3 (996)</td><td>Naoki Hattori</td><td>2:32.99</td></tr><tr><td>11</td><td>Ferrari F355</td><td>
</td><td>2:33.25</td></tr><tr><td>12</td><td>Renault Megane RS 265 Trophy</td><td>Laurent Hurgon</td><td>2:33.33</td></tr><tr><td>13</td><td>Honda NSX-R (3.0)</td><td>
</td><td>2:34.08</td></tr><tr><td>14</td><td>Honda NSX Type-S Zero</td><td>
</td><td>2:34.69</td></tr><tr><td>15</td><td>Nissan Skyline GT-R V-Spec</td><td>
</td><td>2:35.17</td></tr><tr><td>16</td><td>Honda Civic Type-R JDM (FD2)</td><td>Keiichi Tsuchiya</td><td>2:35.20</td></tr><tr><td>17</td><td>Lancer Evolution VI Tommi Mak..</td><td>
</td><td>2:35.70</td></tr><tr><td>18</td><td>Nissan Skyline GT-R (R34)</td><td>
</td><td>2:36.26</td></tr><tr><td>19</td><td>Mitsubishi Lancer Evo VI</td><td>
</td><td>2:36.50</td></tr><tr><td>20</td><td>Mazda RX-7</td><td>
</td><td>2:37.26</td></tr><tr><td>21</td><td>Renault Clio RS 220 Trophy</td><td>Kato Hiroshi Tadashi</td><td>2:38.00</td></tr><tr><td>22</td><td>Ferrari 550 Maranello</td><td>
</td><td>2:38.50</td></tr><tr><td>23</td><td>Lotus Elise 111R</td><td>
</td><td>2:46.10</td></tr><tr><td>24</td><td>Honda Civic Type-R (EK9)</td><td>
</td><td>2:49.17</td></tr></tbody></table>

Megane RS275

<iframe src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/WOCB6_e0SOc" allowfullscreen="" frameborder="0" height="400" width="700"></iframe>

Just for comparison sake, this is Renault's Megane RS 265 driven by RenaultSport official test driver Laurent Hurgon who clocked a 2:33.328, which is almost 6 seconds slower than the said A45 and that's what over 115hp surplus and 4WD can do for the white hot AMG

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
This A45 AMG surely takes the crown for the new king of 2ltr turbo AWD car.
Quite a surprise that the old F40 & F50 are still so high up the chart. Where is the R35 btw, not shown in the list, only the older R34 GTR there.

Wonder how the A45 will do in the Green Hell, that will be more representative of where it stands.

Shinjite

Feb 27, 2006
Klang
Quite a surprise that the old F40 & F50 are still so high up the chart. Where is the R35 btw, not shown in the list, only the older R34 GTR there.

Wonder how the A45 will do in the Green Hell, that will be more representative of where it stands.
Yeah the lap time of the R35 GTR is not in the list but in the video with VDC off, it clocks 2" 27.934 but that was way back in 2010. The 2016 GTR would have lap a lot faster :biggrin:

Overall, the A45 AMG is a beast!!

that f40 and f50 is legend proper super car....

it have everything about supercar...anything but comfortable ride definately wasnt in the list :biggrin:

short wheelbase,high torque high hp coupled with AWD is a great recipe started by scooby v10 that not really successfull.....then followed by this and ford focus as well as audi s1 (correct me if wrong)

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
that f40 and f50 is legend proper super car....

it have everything about supercar...anything but comfortable ride definately wasnt in the list :biggrin:

short wheelbase,high torque high hp coupled with AWD is a great recipe started by scooby v10 that not really successfull.....then followed by this and ford focus as well as audi s1 (correct me if wrong)
Hahaha, yeah there's a saying like along these line "if you still feel comfortable that means you're not going fast enough!"

I thought the V10 hatch wheelbase is just the same as the sedan version, no? Is it shorter wheelbase than the earlier V9?

Tom

TIMETOATTACK
Jul 6, 2000

2:27? It's faster than the other 4WDs? For real?
Yeah the lap time of the R35 GTR is not in the list but in the video with VDC off, it clocks 2" 27.934 but that was way back in 2010. The 2016 GTR would have lap a lot faster :biggrin:

Overall, the A45 AMG is a beast!!
I was hoping to find more concrete list of official lap times but to no avail, I suspect the GTR in the 2nd video isn't the best effort done out there.

Yeah. I'm sorry but there's no way in hell the Merc can outdo the GTR in a track battle. Especially with all that track wizardry and power difference. No way lor.

Tom

TIMETOATTACK
Jul 6, 2000
Yeah. I'm sorry but there's no way in hell the Merc can outdo the GTR in a track battle. Especially with all that track wizardry and power difference. No way lor.
Nope not at all nada

Sent from my SM-N9208 using Tapatalk

Hahaha, yeah there's a saying like along these line "if you still feel comfortable that means you're not going fast enough!"

I thought the V10 hatch wheelbase is just the same as the sedan version, no? Is it shorter wheelbase than the earlier V9?
actually longer than older gen sooby...(sedan/hatch same wheelbase)

but it is shorter than evo X wheelbase about 1inch...

this a45 wheelbase also longer than scooby....

major downside on scooby i think is the power tune

Tom

TIMETOATTACK
Jul 6, 2000
actually longer than older gen sooby...(sedan/hatch same wheelbase)

but it is shorter than evo X wheelbase about 1inch...

this a45 wheelbase also longer than scooby....

major downside on scooby i think is the power tune
well not just on the geometry actually,
these new super hatches like the A45 have Electronic Damping, Torque Vectoring, dual clutch transmission to name a few and these few aspects would already make previous JDM legends seem primitive

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
Check this out, quite funny. The A45 was left in the dust despite the Evo missing apexes after apexes by meters! :biggrin: Surely the Evo must have gobs of power.

[youtube]xFX9DJ279ho[/youtube]

Shinjite

Feb 27, 2006
Klang
Check this out, quite funny. The A45 was left in the dust despite the Evo missing apexes after apexes by meters! :biggrin: Surely the Evo must have gobs of power.

[youtube]xFX9DJ279ho[/youtube]
From the way it accelerates, I think that EVO has close to double of the A45's HP :rofl:

BLaCkHoWLiNG

'(^^)|Most Awesome Member
www.autojunctions.com
As at 25/12/2016 the list have been shattered.
For more reference, FastestLaps.com has a brief list of lap times here:

1. BMW 6.0 V12 E45 : Tom Goh 1:55.00
2. Renault Megane Edisi Tom Goh 1:58.00
3. Mini Green Goblin Tom Goh 2:05.00
4. Koenigsegg One:1 Robert Serwanski 2:17.00
5. Ferrari F40 2:25.26
6. Ferrari F50 2:26.52
7. Renault Megane RS 275 Trophy RLaurent Hurgon 2:28.00
8. Porsche Carrera GT 2:28.42
9. Porsche 911 GT2 (993) 2:29.15
10. Porsche 911 Turbo 3.6 (993) 2:31.16

Hi, I saw this Swift Sport on Mudah for sale. So I would like the get more info from the previous owner. Hopefully he is somewhere on ZTH, or anyone know the previous owner do let him know. So here goes:

May I know when you sold the car to dealer, what is the mileage? Any problem with the car? Accident before? :driver:

Thanks.