Features

Driven: Porsche Macan makan trip, via some twisty B-roads, to Ipoh

_MG_6711

We had a short stint behind the wheels of a Porsche Macan some months back, and have been longing ever since to have a proper go across the range. We got lucky – Sime Darby Auto Performance (SDAP) must have heard us, because they made arrangements for our two favourite activities: 1) Macan, ahem, makan, roadtrip up north to Ipoh, and 2) via some narrow, twisty B roads.

_MG_6733

Does a small SUV make sense in Porsche’s already hefty line-up? Yes, we believe so. When the Cayenne was launched over a decade ago, it saw its fair share of naysayers – many who claimed Porsche had committed cardinal sin. Instead, the Cayenne not only flourished, but also pulled the brand from the brink of bankruptcy. The Macan makes perfect sense, especially now, targeting a niche of young buyers. With the Cayenne, Porsche worked hard to differentiate it from its VW brethren, and we are in no doubt that similar, if not equal effort, has gone into setting the Macan apart from its Audi/VW family.

_MG_6561

What do we already know about Porsche’s Macan? Well, the Macan is available in four flavours starting from the standard Macan (237hp/350Nm), then the Macan Diesel S (245hp/580Nm) and Macan S (340hp/460Nm), with the manic Macan Turbo (400hp/550Nm) completing the range. The Macan will get a 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder, the Macan Diesel S and Macan S will each have a 3.0 litre turbo V6 (diesel and petrol respectively of course) and the Macan Turbo is powered by a twin-turbo 3.6 litre V6. All Macans come standard with a seven-speed PDK gearbox, and while it is mostly rear-biased, the electronically controlled multi-plate clutch is able to send 100% of the power to the front wheels.

Sitting through the morning’s briefing session; we were told that the Macan Turbo was not available for due to availability. However, we would have plenty of time to sample and swap between the rest of the Macan range. After our previous brief session (you can read our first impressions here), we were certainly excited to further explore the breadth of the Macan’s abilities.

_MG_6602

The first leg of our trek up north saw us traverse open tarmac. From inside the driver’s seat, it feels uncannily as though we’re hustling about in a hot hatchback (albeit with an elevated view out). Our highways are renowned for their surface imperfections but the Macans felt very well damped, soaking up road pimples in its stride, even in its harshest setting.

When we previously tested the Macan, we let loose on a long, clear stretch of road and were impressed by the performance from the 2.0 litre turbo. However, we’ve now hopped from the Macan, to the Macan Diesel S, then into the Macan S and we unsurprisingly liked the Macan S best. That’s not to say that the Macan and Macan Diesel S are lacking, or are bad choices – factor price and economy into the equation and they make a compelling argument, plus a whole lot more sense. We are Zerotohundred after all, so naturally anything that goes like stink will be the first to get our attention.

_MG_6570

Power aside, where the Macan really shines is in the handling department. For our second leg up north, SDAP had arranged for us to head to our destination via some narrow, very twisty kampung roads. Unsurprisingly, Porsche has kept to its ethos, gifting the Macan with handling abilities unlike any other compact SUV we’ve ever driven.

If you’ve watched that short video clip above, you’ll note that our route saw some sharp corners mixed in with sudden dips, but despite all that punishment, the Macan remained unfazed and held steady. Body roll was kept cleanly in check, and the amount of available grip and traction was nothing short of incredible, especially considering a car this size and weight. Any SUV, compact or otherwise, should not feel at home attacking roads like this. And yet the Macan felt more comfortable out here than it did on open highways. All this adds up to bestow the driver with supreme confidence – on any roads, in any weather.

_MG_6702

So the Macan looks good, is practical, will cope in all terrains and any weather, plus it is an absolute hoot to drive. So far, there really is very little to complain. There is no bad choice when it comes to picking a model – you’re sure to find one to suit your lifestyle. Don’t scoff at the standard 2.0 litre Macan; we found it more than sufficient for everyday driving, the Porsche badge an added bonus especially given its price point. Although we didn’t drive the Macan Turbo, we have a feeling it might be a little overkill, especially since we were already blown away by the pace from the Macan S. And does the world really need a compact SUV like the Macan, you ask? Well, if it drives like this, why not, we say. Why not?

_MG_6673

As usual, and we’ve said this many times before, trim and equipment levels will vary between the models. But really, everything else is optional – limited by only the depth of your wallet. All prices listed are inclusive of registration fees and road tax, sans insurance, with a four year warranty plus a four year package of free service, parts, and maintenance.

Porsche Macan
Engine 2.0 litre / 4-cylinder turbo
Power 237 hp @ 5,000 rpm
Torque 350 Nm @ 1,500 rpm
Zerotohundred 6.9 seconds
Price RM420,000

Porsche Macan Diesel S
Engine 3.0 litre / V6 turbodiesel
Power 245 hp @ 4,000 rpm
Torque 580 Nm @ 1,750 rpm
Zerotohundred 6.3 seconds (6.1 seconds Sport Chrono)
Price RM545,000

Porsche Macan S
Engine 3.0 litre / V6 twin-turbo
Power 340 hp @ 5,500 rpm
Torque 460 Nm @ 1,450 rpm
Zerotohundred 5.4 seconds (5.2 seconds Sport Chrono)
Price RM560,000

Porsche Macan Turbo
Engine 3.6 litre / V6 twin-turbo
Power 400 hp @ 6,000 rpm
Torque 550 Nm @ 1,500 rpm
Zerotohundred 4.8 seconds (4.6 seconds Sport Chrono)
Price RM785,000

W
w0n
From taking pictures of supercars on the streets, Won has taken his hobby to a whole new level, by regularly contributing to '(00). Owner and purveyor...