Formula 1News

Lewis charged by Melbourne police for doing burn-outs and powerslides

Lewis Hamilton was on Friday night charged by local police after he was caught doing smoky burnouts and ‘fish-tailing’ in a Mercedes road car near the Albert Park circuit.

At 9.15pm in St Kilda, within sight of the Formula One circuit, Hamilton was pulled over in his E500 saloon by a Victorian Police divisional van. Police charged Hamilton, who will be summoned, with improper use of a motor vehicle and have impounded the car for 48 hours. Police confirmed that a 25-year-old Briton has been charged.

Senior Constable Scott Woodford said the man was “extremely cooperative” and “fairly disappointed” with the incident. Wire reports said Hamilton was “visibly upset” and “worried this would dent his reputation”. The incident coincides with a push within F1 for better road safety, with all teams contributing to the FIA’s global campaign.

In a statement issued by McLaren, Hamilton said: “This evening, I was driving in an over-exuberant manner and, as a result, was stopped by the police. What I did was silly, and I want to apologise for it.”

Source: ESPNF1

N
  • N
    netmatrix
  • Mar 27, 2010
Hmm... somehow i want to related this to Tiger Woods. Hamilton F1 car crash as F1 car is jealous Hamilton having affair with E500. hehehe
R
  • R
    rt
  • Mar 27, 2010
its actually a merc c63
D
  • D
    dd
  • Mar 27, 2010
dumb and silly fella...
I
  • I
    iskett
  • Mar 28, 2010
It was definitely dumb.

But he did it for the entertainment of the fans though. Straight out of the circuit and he wanted to give a show to a gathering bunch of spectators outside Albert Park and started doing donuts and stuff.

Funny thing is, with his sharp F1 eyes, he couldn't see a Police van was parked just outside of the place! lolz..
B
  • B
    biz
  • Mar 28, 2010
well maybe he never knew the australia police are so strick even superstar perform some skill to public also cannot.

tot that he is superstar and police will like enjoy with him.

as our local police wil said enjoy for it if happen like that ;)
A
  • A
    applejuice
  • Mar 28, 2010
whats wrong with the bloody media? e500 or c63?
A
  • A
    artworkz
  • Mar 28, 2010
haha, he was a mat rempit oso, haha!!!
D
  • D
    drMpower
  • Mar 29, 2010
this guy is just over rated. hes just one of the guys, nothing special.

even jp montoya rated higher than him in my list..
B
  • B
    BabyGodzillaGTi-R
  • Mar 29, 2010
Yeah Montoya is probably good when he get his high of Coke b4 he races...
He still cracks me after Montoya hits his head on the poor camera man on Youtube.
R
  • R
    rajie
  • Mar 30, 2010
it happen near my hse ....its was a a C63 amg the new model C- class
R
  • R
    rajie
  • Mar 30, 2010
*it*
R