News

Coloured-Potholes: The Ideal Solution To Making Potholes More Visible To Save Lives, Wheels and your Body-Kit

There’s only one way to put this, our roads suck and the local councils seem to take pride having huge pot-holes that  claim the lives of motorcyclists in their jurisdiction. There’s no denying it, pot-holes are everywhere and each time someone fills it up, it just happens again. It’s almost as if they filled it up with magic dust that goes soft after a few days, giving them a chance to do it all over again and donate our hard earned tax money to some totally useless contractor to do what he does not know how to do in the first place. Bunch of idiots I say.

I’ve seen countless accidents happen because of irresponsible, ignorant and utterly hopeless local municipal councils refusing to fill up pot-holes and just refusing to do it right in the first place. And what do we car-lovers do? Avoid them at all cost, even if it means slowing down to a crawl and backing traffic up a mile just so we can creep down potholes and creep back up again, anything to keep the wheels nice, shiny and in a perfect circle. What do you think? The local council who we pay taxes to so they can maintain the roads are going to care about our multi-thousand-ringgit rims, our suspension, our aero-kits, basically our entire car? Please, they are more interested in what’s in our pockets.

So what do we do? Trust foreigners of course! Don’t they always come to our rescue? The Indonesians build our buildings, the Bangladeshi’s work our plantations, the Indians and Asians serve us in restaurants, I think I’ve made my point. And now we can thank the Italians. Two Italians actually, university students Domenico Diego and Cristina Corradini who think that potholes need to be more visible. It’s beyond me why no one actually thought of this before but I figured that if someone came up with this idea here, it would just highlight the incompetence of the exact same machinery that was put together to serve us in the first place. So ignorance was practiced instead.

Domenico and Cristina came up with the “Street Safe Initiative” which is essentially a program that wants to take the transportation network to another level by “comparing the road surface to the human skin”. When someone gets a scrape, you see red underneath; Diego and Corradini think the same principle can be applied to roads.

“[The concept] comprises a brightly-coloured layer of asphalt a few inches beneath the surface of the road, which becomes visible when the road surface breaks up, making potholes easier to see and avoid.”

The Street Safe Initiative will be tested later this year in Italy. If it proves cost effective and feasible, the program may be popping up in other European countries and hopefully other countries around the world as well. But like all great ideas, there are those who say it might not work:

Mike Conway Managing Director of FM Conway (a highway-fixin’-and-buildin’ company) doesn’t think it’s realistic:

“It’s a novel idea but it’s not the right solution for the UK right now. To make layers of tarmac stick together we use a bituminous coating that acts as a glue and you’d have to go right back to the manufacturing stage and work out how to make it bright yellow. We should be looking at how to reduce costs by doing the job right in the first place, rather than creating expensive solutions that only have an effect once the pothole is already there.”

Well there are two ways for us here in Malaysia to do this, one is to just do it right in the first place but we have a better chance of having Marilyn Manson, Slipknot, or even Beyonce perform in Malaysia than our municipal councils having enough intelligence to get things right the first time. Secondly, well we could just hand a bunch of guys some yellow paint, a brush and a small pick-up to go around highlighting each dangerous pot-holes, but then again, they may just end up shoveling up more pot-holes and handing out more dirty contracts to dirty contractors to fill up these “life-threatening” potholes. Either way, we car-lovers are screwed.

Source: CarScoop

M
this 1 i have to comment.. i've broken 2 rims going thru pot holes!
M
  • M
    mu77
  • Mar 10, 2010
Seriously i'm so frustrated with the road conditions in KL.. Pot holes and uneven surface can be bad for rims and suspension.. I thought we only have good roads on toll-paid highway.
D
  • D
    damobs
  • Mar 10, 2010
im totally agree with this article!salute!we really will rather brake and cause a mile long jam to save our ride from damages!SALUTE!
L
  • L
    LOL
  • Mar 10, 2010
why just paint the potholes when u can fix it?????

anyway..the road condition in kl is no different as the road in 3rd world country
V
  • V
    VL by Victor
  • Mar 10, 2010
i have 2 rims dented with the potholes! one in batu 5, okr and the one one in federal highway! did u guys notice that the kota selangor got alot of potholes? The hole can be there for 1-2 weeks until the local council repair. Imagine how many cars passing by the road in 1-2 weeks time. Not efficent at all! And all the potholes repaired wont last, and the the hole will come back again. Really sucks
V
  • V
    VL by Victor
  • Mar 10, 2010
BTW, i seen and notice alot of lorries with loaded sand and stone using FAST LANE! when i passing by i can hear the sand and stone hitting my bumper already. Where is the enforcement? I guess because of this maybe the potholes appear in the road because the enforcement dont care! that is the problem.
R
  • R
    Romans
  • Mar 10, 2010
With plenty of sunshine & rain to soak our soft earth & brittler road.
We suggest mix concrete with bitumen to tar the whole strecth of road not just patch up potholes. This include those digging road laying pipes & cables.
TAR THE WHOLE STRETCH OF ROAD PLEASE!
P
  • P
    PocketRocket
  • Mar 10, 2010
If malaysia does this, it would be a very colorful country
V
  • V
    VL by Victor
  • Mar 10, 2010
lol pockerocket, i agree, btw have u guys seen they dig the hole put something, than cover back and few months later dig again and cover again and so on... really wasting our tax payer money. Cant they think like others country to think future. On word, NO PLAN! you see others develop country, before they create a city, they will design the city 1st with bottom is underground etc. so when in the future they can use, not like ours, all the skycrappers is already up, then sundenlly wanna dig it to put a tunnel (smart tunnel but not so smart) etc. Really failure
T
  • T
    td
  • Mar 10, 2010
this idea (IMHO), is not really efficient. potholes spring up like wild mushrooms in Msia, you paint 10 today, 20 will appear tomorrow. it never ends
X
  • X
    XTRMNT
  • Mar 10, 2010
why dis contractors in malaysia after digging up holes and laying down the pipes they never patch the road properly? totally engrossed by the lack of responsibilities shown by the contractors. is there any of the government department that checks the quality of the works? is it JKR? if there is then im not ashamed to say that they're not doing their jobs. i guess we just have to live with the potholes and uneven roads forever.. sigh.
P
  • P
    pissed off
  • Mar 12, 2010
just cement the potholes, at least it will lasts much longer
E
  • E
    Emp
  • Mar 12, 2010
Not only the potholes....but even the underground longkang's cover WOULD be a pothole and it's all along the road which waiting for our wheels to roll on it.
V
  • V
    VL by Victor
  • Mar 12, 2010
Welcome to Bolehland again :) No Holes, No Income. AGREE?
K
  • K
    kiko
  • Mar 12, 2010
There are pot holes everywhere in Malaysia. The only place there are no pot holes is the road in front of Najib's house.
V
  • V
    VL by Victor
  • Mar 12, 2010
DId you guys realise every time you travel along North South Expressway to Penang or JB even to Kuantan, sure got construction work along the highway and it never end? Think about it. The Construction area is not widen the road or making a new 3 lanes on those 2 lanes road. They can drag longer to make sure they got paid lo... aih habis lar duit rakyat...
J
  • J
    jun
  • Mar 12, 2010
1. There will absolutely no reason to have a coloured base coat because it does not fix the problem. Paint it red, yellow or orange I dont care but the hole is still there and we have nowhere else to go. Yesterday there was 1 hole on the left. now there is another hole on the right. You will not be able to avoid 100 % without causing an accident.

2. Like others have said, fix 10 potholes, another 20 already come up. This is because of the endless flow of traffic that we have.
7 am - 3pm shift,3-11pm, 11pm - 7am.

then comes the countless of 10 tonne trucks carrying heavy materials etc etc around 12pm. How can the road survive!!

3. sorry to say la, but if we continue to have greedy bastards in THAT particular department giving jobs to their uncle/nephew/pakcik/sedara's goat, we will continue to be paying for poor roads.

4. then again we might be actually richer than we realise, roads in Klang seem to be made from the surface of the moon. awesome!
R
  • R
    Ron
  • Mar 12, 2010
i so agree on this for m'sian roads. every road or whatever that is tared by m'sians have potholes. so is a good sign for bikers and drivers. and of course the hole is temporary and it must be fixed asap when the hole is seen.. safety must always be first unfortunately we don't have it here... even for the speed breakers..
J
  • J
    joev
  • Mar 13, 2010
i always have some kind of funny thinking on why our roads suck.
the G probably might purposely ignore the potholes and uneven road as they wanna create more RALLY drivers.

lets think bout it, our roads are not predictable. it can test the drivers' on spot reaction which all rally drivers do. so somedays later, we will have our local sebastian loeb, ken block and collin mcrae.

they also can produce a lot of off road drivers as i always pass by the water pond even on a paid highway. Salute the government and contractors hard work for making us more pro in Rally and off road!!!

so please be patient as we will have another malaysia boleh occur in motorsport world
Z
  • Z
    Zapatista
  • Mar 13, 2010
That's why we we have a lot of Wira/Waja tonggek a-la rally ahahahahhahahahahahahaha
L
  • L
    lamadra
  • Mar 13, 2010
Having driven on many countries, I have got to say that Malaysia has one of the better roads. Try western canada or some of the American highways (or even parts of Aussie), and you'll be thankful for Malaysian roads.

But being better doesn't mean there is no space for improvement. Guess the council has got to keep up with the endlessly spawning potholes thanks to our soft soil and rain.
C
  • C
    Casper
  • Mar 17, 2010
If this was to be used in Malaysia, our roads will be filled with pretty yellow colors patches :) Or maybe, the entire road is yellow.
C