ArticlesEngine UpgradesFeaturesProton

‘(00) spends 10-minutes behind the wheel of the new Proton Satria Neo ‘Lotus Racing’

Whenever Proton releases a new vehicle, the whole of Malaysia holds it breath in anticipation. That is what I would like to call the silent patriot inside every Malaysian hoping that the new model will be better than the outgoing model, and to be fair, to date, all new Proton’s have been better than those they replace.

So far all Proton models have been replaced with newer and better models except for the Perdana and the Satria GTi. We have no idea when the Perdana replacement model will be out but we do know that the new Satria Neo GTi is just a few months away.

[zenphotopress album=2699 sort=random number=5]

The division that handles cars like the GTi and other sports Proton models is known as R3 (Race Rally Research). The last R3 car was the Satria Neo R3, a car which some may argue featured nothing more than aesthetic upgrades, but trust me when I say that R3 is capable of so much more than just an aesthetics upgrade.

Almost all the boys at R3 are involved in motorsports in one way or another, the division actively competes in the Sepang 1000km race and before that it was the 12-hour Merdeka Millennium Endurance Race and R3 have been crowned champions in both series. Rallying is another form of racing that R3 is involved in and the division will also manage your Proton or Lotus at any race event for the right price, such is the competence, knowledge, experience and overall know-how of the team. So when R3 comes up with a new product, we pay attention.

Headed by champion drifter and racer Tengku Djan Ley, R3 has been working overtime to come up with its latest product that also celebrates the return of the Lotus F1 Team. Here’s what basically happened, they took a Satria Neo, threw out whatever they didn’t need and saved 50 kilograms, slapped on some highly capable products from some of the most highly respected OEM and aftermarket manufacturers from around the world, bumped up the power by 20hp, gave it a Lotus green paint job, and voila, we have the Satria Neo Lotus Edition.

A RM115,000 Proton Satria Neo that had some people up in arms and others in awe, so is it actually worth it? I got about ten minutes behind the wheel on track and the conclusion is maybe it is, but it all depends on individual perception because personally I would have loved more power and focus but a close friend of mine bought one, get what I mean?

The car has been built around the traditional Lotus ethos of lightweight, power, and handling. Shedding 50kg’s over the standard car is no easy task but it has been done thanks to lighter FRP (fiber reinforced plastic) fenders and front bumper. The twin-weave carbon fiber bonnet easily shaves a couple kilo’s off the regular car as it too is incredibly light, in fact so light it is that at the right angle it is able to support its own weight and not slam shut.

The new aluminium coil-over suspension is another contributing factor to the diet program together with the lightweight AP Racing brakes. The wheels save 2kilo’s each resulting in a total drag reduction of 8kg’s and that’s not all but I’m sure you know where the up-rated performance comes from now, it’s all about lightweight.

Power is still generated from the standard in-line 4 cylinder, 16-valve, 1.6-liter CamPro CPS engine, but it has now been massaged to create 145bhp@7000rpm and 168Nm of torque at 5000rpm, so the engine definitely is a screamer but you need to work the new 5-speed close-ratio gearbox hard to really appreciate the work that has gone into the car.

The gearbox is a completely new unit and features new gear ratio settings and a larger (4.625) final drive, the new box has been tuned for acceleration but also contribute to a new top end figure. Managing the engine is a new programmable R3 Engine Management System that has been supplied by Siemens.

New lightweight R3 Cam Shafts with adjustable alloy cams, crank, and water pump pulley, together with a R3 4-2-1 Performance header with a stainless steel exhaust system top off the contributing factors to the respectable performance upgrade.

And now the drive. Before I got into the car I was expecting hardcore full bucket seats with a completely stripped out interior, MoMo steering wheel and perhaps even a roll cage. But instead I was greeted by standard seats wrapped in leather and a standard steering wheel also wrapped in leather, no roll cage here but the interior was highlighted by the same green that adorns the exterior, it’s an acquired taste really but sits well with the overall theme of the car.

My immediate reaction was to question why a RM115,000 “sports car” does not feature Recaro’s or any other form of bucket seats. It appears that everything in the car is functional and the seats remained the same as it gives enough rear-end and hip support for the driver. The seats have also been designed to provide full support to the driver and passenger in the event the dual-airbags have to be deployed, so there really was no reason to change the seats. But something did get to me though, lightweight is imperative to a performance car, so the presence of leather is a big question mark, I would think that lightweight leather like alcantra or perhaps even simple cloth wrapping would have saved a bit more weight, cost a lot less, and would sit well with the overall theme of the car.

Time to go out on track then, so clutch in and I was surprised again. The clutch was incredibly light for a car with sporting intentions but that could just be me being too accustomed to stomping down on the weighty third pedal of my own ride. Gear changes were smooth and short from click to click thanks to the new close-ratio-gearbox, and the new aluminium gear knob does have a nice feel to it but may tend to heat up on a typically hot Malaysian day.

So out of the car park and onto the track, get on the accelerator hard and listen to the throaty exhaust signal you to shift, the rev meter shows a 6000rpm redline but that’s because the meter is standard but not the car, you can actually rev the car past 7000rpm. Shift into second and there’s no shove in the back or anything as dramatic, 145hp hardly has that effect but the revs were quickly and smoothly building up and third gear was promptly called upon. The acceleration figures stand at 9.2 seconds to the 100km/h mark but it certainly doesn’t feel like it thanks to the comfortable seats and overall ambiance but I was not to be fooled, this car does have a few tricks up its wheels so I was cautious.

We were at Proton’s oval test track with a 45 degree banking, its a semi-high speed track so entry speed for the bankings were about 130-140km/h, but the car is capable of much more so I had to constantly watch my entry speed, according to the guys at R3, the Satria Neo ‘Lotus Edition’ tops out at 200km/h, respectable for a car that previously could hardly manage 180km/h.

Out of the track and onto the braking and slalom course. Before I saw the car I had already known what type of modifications the car was going to carry, everything seemed great but it was the AP Racing brakes that I didn’t quite understand, it seemed like overkill to me so I asked Djan about it. Apparently the idea behind the Satria Neo ‘Lotus Edition’ is to have as many parts from the Formula One car over to the Neo, that’s why there are products that are typically reserved for high powered cars like the AP Racing brakes and the Ohlins suspension.

At the braking test, I was told to floor it over 300 meters and stomp on the brakes, stopping distance was predictably short and with a total lack of drama in the form of a rear end threatening to swap places with the front. The suspension tuning is a great contributing factor to this and it was further highlighted at the slalom course.

I have clocked up a lot of hours behind the Satria Neo R3, pushed it hard enough to know that it doesn’t like sudden imprecise shifts in weight and it will let you know by ungripping the rear end so I expected the same from the ‘Lotus Edition’, and just to make sure I carried more speed than necessary into the slalom course, and without braking made my entry, no understeer, very little body roll and the best part it just gripped and kept going. Impressive stuff and racer Faidzil Alang who was seated next to me went on to explain that the Ohlins suspension actually has an additional valve in the damper that opens up to guarantee ride compliance. The dual valve system also works to ensure a comfortable ride over any road conditions ensuring that the Neo ‘Lotus Edition’ is useable on a daily basis.

So that was the end of my short test, we have been promised more drive time but that’s due to happen at a later date. Later, while seated with the boys of R3 I had to ask if they expect the ‘Lotus Edition’ to do well, according to them, almost half of the 25 units due to be produced are already sold and the rest are quickly being grabbed. But what is the purpose of such a car? Why would you even want to build such a car knowing that the Satria Neo is a car meant for those looking for a car in the RM50,000 – RM70,000 segment. The answer is simple, the Proton Satria Neo ‘Lotus Edition’ is a brand building product put together to show the capability of the Neo, which is due to spawn a few other models including the highly anticipated GTI edition.

RM115,000 for a Satria Neo is a lot of money to be paid for a two-door Proton but someone told me that the car is not meant for boy racers, but with such branded products and such a character, it is the boy racers who will be attracted to it, but ultimately it will be those who have RM115,000 sitting around to waste that will buy the car. The modifications itself cost more than RM30,000 and the Ohlins suspension are made exclusively for this car so there’s no way you can get hold of the same suspension to be fitted into your own Neo (unless you get someone to steal a ‘Lotus Edition’). The car is pretty special there’s no doubt it, but the price will definately put some people off. I will refrain from making a final verdict till I get more drive time but for now, the modifications and the character upgrade that has been done to the car is, simply put, fun.

[zenphotopress album=2699 sort=random number=25]

T
  • T
    teamsleepnine
  • Apr 19, 2010
awesome!!......the all sold right??

and yes i'm in before the comments will be full of"better get vios,lancer gt".....etc etc...
G
  • G
    Giler
  • Apr 20, 2010
The real crime is proton is just producing 25 cars, i hate proton for so many reasons...
C
  • C
    cRazYee
  • Apr 20, 2010
they are sort of starting to misuse the brand "lotus"

Spoil the real legacy of Lotus Engineering
F
  • F
    Ferruccio
  • Apr 20, 2010
I don't think so.

Although this product commemorates the Lotus Racing F1 team, thus carrying branding distinctly different to Lotus Cars, or Lotus Engineering.

I think it is also clearly made out to be a product of R3, not Lotus Engineering.

Lastly, even if there is any Lotus Engineering credit present, remember that Djan was a engineer there and was involved in the development of the Elise S2 back in the UK, then transferred to Lotus Engineering Malaysia then set up Proton R3. He was a chassis engineer with Lotus Engineering.
D
  • D
    Dominikei
  • Apr 20, 2010
Let's send 1 of it to Jeremy Clarkson of Top Gear.... :)
S
  • S
    speedstar
  • Apr 20, 2010
Huh u pay RM 120,000 for only 145hp???????? better get Ek99 Civic Type R RM60,000 goes up to 250hp honda some more chix goes crazy maa.. hahaha...

It only produce 25 unit becoz only 25 rich people with extra money only will buy this car.
A
  • A
    Arena Driver
  • Apr 20, 2010
Weh stupid. your EK99 Civic Type R 2nd Hand la dei! Barang all barai d. Some more old looking. If ur not one of those 25 rich people then shut up la.
E
  • E
    ELMO_X
  • Apr 20, 2010
still dont quite worth it

u pay alittle extra u get a 2nd hand scooby/evo or top up 40k more u get a pajero sport / fortuner
W
  • W
    wilm3
  • Apr 20, 2010
haha...even a EK99 Civic Type R 2nd Hand will still win this neo! i meant in terms of reliability...but performance and handling still wonder as no review yet...to be short...honda is honda....proton is still proton....
G
  • G
    growUP
  • Apr 20, 2010
Yeah... it is a lot of money for a SATRIA...
for some people... better get this... better get that...
proceed...
ur money... ur TASTE...
but it is 'achievement'.....

some people already satisfied for a 97' "Wiralution"....
and some really proud spend 15k for "Ah Beng" look alike bodykit...
it is subjective... right....
N
  • N
    nick
  • Apr 20, 2010
@speedstar: Ek99? Ek99? must be berry powderful eh? BIKIN MALU LAH WEI.
N
  • N
    nick
  • Apr 20, 2010
guys, i can't believe none of you realised that there is no such thing as HONDA EK99.

it's EK9. only one "9"
G
  • G
    growUP
  • Apr 20, 2010
it's stand for EK 99' Spec....
B
but poor ek9 only can race under classic car....itu kete sudah tua le...
A
  • A
    ayahkau
  • Apr 20, 2010
with 115k i shall "SPOON"ed my 2007 FD...still...no need to open the door to pay toll...
A
  • A
    ayahkau
  • Apr 20, 2010
and i agree with growUP..i understand with EK 99 spec... not a big deal.
S
  • S
    speedstar
  • Apr 20, 2010
ARENA DRIVER: no wonder y u are driving only PROTON ARENA hahahaha...
**ek99 meant ek9 spec 1999 la bro.
L
  • L
    Lancewood
  • Apr 20, 2010
Hmm...how come the current RM115k car only does 0-100 in 9.2secs whereby the 1st Satria 1.8 GTi was advertised to do that in 7secs? something fishy.
P
  • P
    pumpkin76
  • Apr 20, 2010
Because the 1st batch Satria GTi came with 1.8 4G93 Mitsu engine and MMC ECU ma....... that's why...
L
  • L
    Lancewood
  • Apr 20, 2010
And the 1.8 4G93 makes tons more power/torque??? You have any idea the disparity between 2 secs??
P
  • P
    pumpkin76
  • Apr 20, 2010
Guys.... if saving of 50kgs brings such a big impact on performance as per the traditional Lotus ethos of lightweight, power, and handling, then imagine this.... a 50 kilos skinny fella driver will outperform a 100 kilos driver if both of then are same skilled and given the same spec car.... right? LOL.....
L
  • L
    Lancewood
  • Apr 20, 2010
And the 1st Satria 1.8 GTi was no lightweight either....
N
  • N
    netmatrix
  • Apr 20, 2010
Since this car was mentioned to be some sort of a preview of a GTi version. Why not include a larger capacity engine like a 1.8L or 2.0L? It seems the car has too much handling for the puny engine. How about 160hp-180hp for a change?
G
  • G
    Gadget Intelligent
  • Apr 20, 2010
For a RM115k..

Go and get yourself a brand new Lancer GT, Civic 1.8 i-vtec more better la... Or 2nd hand RX-8, Toyota Caldina 2.0 GT4, Toyota Wish 1.8, Honda Stream 1.8 i-vtec, then a "so called" Lotus but its still a PROTON! Proton Satria Neo is still a Rubbish car! Interior totally sucks !

Check this out :
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3ZtFRPk5xn0
Q
  • Q
    QuarterMile
  • Apr 20, 2010
FOR RM115k

I think you will be better off getting the real LOTUS(2nd) for a couple more grand.
C
  • C
    cRazYee
  • Apr 20, 2010
"I don’t think so.
Although this product commemorates the Lotus Racing F1 team, thus carrying branding distinctly different to Lotus Cars, or Lotus Engineering.
I think it is also clearly made out to be a product of R3, not Lotus Engineering.
Lastly, even if there is any Lotus Engineering credit present, remember that Djan was a engineer there and was involved in the development of the Elise S2 back in the UK, then transferred to Lotus Engineering Malaysia then set up Proton R3. He was a chassis engineer with Lotus Engineering."

cuz reputation of Lotus F1 is still brought up by Englishmen, no Malaysia
although malaysian runs current Lotus f1, i still dont think Proton branded car should take credit from it, even if anyhow sister related company, they dont deserve yet

Malaysian has been seriously misusing "Lotus" Branding, having a look on current so call Mofaz racing rebrand to Junior Lotus Racing.
S
  • S
    SundayDriver
  • Apr 20, 2010
looks pretty good
but not for that price i think
L
  • L
    links
  • Apr 20, 2010
The engine plays a key role in a performance car. To carry a 'high performance' version the engine must be in par with other similar cars in the market.

This 1.6 engine does not provide what it has to deliver. No high rev capability, low out put ,and low torque. 0-100kmh still more than 8 secs?...you dont want to be tail gating by the toyota vios on the straight while driving a 'lotus engineered' 2 doors performance car?

during my time, our satria 1.6 single cam with some mod on the intake manifold, engine balancing, high cam, enlarged throttle body, ignition boost and good set of spark plugs plus exhaust system already can deliver 130something hp on dyno machine....and we are talking like more thn 10 years ago....Its 2010, why our 1.6 DOHC engine with adjustable cam pulley, improved ECU and other goodies are still giving the similar output???

if proton want to charge premium on the performance car, it must spend more time on the real engineering which is atleast in par with the global market level. It may not compatible with the mature players like renault clio RS, vw golf gti, ford focus ST...but should be alteast able to show some real performance figure before it called itself a sports performance car....e.g 0-100kmh below 8 secs.
X
  • X
    xXx
  • Apr 20, 2010
Only people with more money than sense will buy it i guess.. ^^
J
  • J
    Juannabe
  • Apr 20, 2010
I appreciate the goals of R3, after all, if Nissan has NISMO, Toyota has TRD, Mercedes has AMG, and the list goes on for pretty much every manufacturer, then we should all continue to salute R3.

As with most of you, my qualm is in the price and the whole Lotus connection. Enough of Lotus this, Lotus that already, we get it. But seriously, Proton is trying way to hard to be something it's not. My personal take is, they think that by adding the Lotus badge (and coloring it British Racing Green)it now makes the Neo a Lotus. The average Malaysian motor head won't buy into that (we're too opinionated). And thus comes the price factor. Cause it's still a Proton, a RM115 price tag is over-priced. Seriously!

So, if it's for the sake of branding and showing-off technological know-how, then why doesn't Proton and the R3 outfit just sell the cars to break even (the Neo Lotus Racing should be a test bed for better things to come out of Proton) - i mean come on - Toyota's LF-A is selling at a loss because their main purpose is to show-off the advancement in technology they have acquired from F1.

Let's be honest, this is a boy racers car. So it's time to make the boy racers happy, give them a locally developed racer at a locally affordable price - and u'll have more joy and less b!tching.

Or give us a real sports car. New chassis, new look, new performance figures worthy of the Malaysian Book of Records, then maybe RM115 would be worth forking over.
Z
  • Z
    zan
  • Apr 20, 2010
why don't proton produce engine 2.0 liter for this car???
plz2....
W
  • W
    wilm3
  • Apr 20, 2010
haha...1st of all, proton needs to improve its chassis 1st. my sis' ex-WAJA (yr2001). condition exactly like driving a mouse cage as there were lots of mouse screaming around at dashboard...door panel....undercarriage....etc...
B
  • B
    bizardo
  • Apr 20, 2010
as always threads with the name 'proton' will attract tons of people.

115K is seriously too much for a Proton. yes there's the Ohlins sus, AP racing brakes, and a CF hood. yes those parts are expensive branded items. but come on.. it's overkill..

but then again, since it's only for a brand building exercise, it looks good. n i don't think they'll earn much from it anyway.

the Neo GTi is just a few months away? that's great news. but what is it going to be named since the moniker GTi has already been patented by VW? Neo RR? Neo R? Neo GT1? Neo GT?

n where's the waja and perdana replacement? i'm still hoping to see the proton badged lancer as the waja.
J
  • J
    Jarod
  • Apr 20, 2010
Quote "to date, all new Proton’s have been better than those they replace" unquote, is totally correct!!! Proton is/will continue to improve on its own cars but they still dun realise is that they have to be better than Korean for starters!!!! Look at where Hyundai & KIA is today, compare with Proton. That should be the yardstick for comparison but we have yet to talk about the Jap.

Another rubbish achievement, good luck JAGUH KAMPUNG!
S
  • S
    sid
  • Apr 20, 2010
stupid . ada ka compare neo with witk ek9 . typical 'ricer' . kah kah .
P
  • P
    piggie
  • Apr 20, 2010
waiting for the 1st neo lotus r3 to get stolen n stripped for the ohlins n AP calipers. have fun keeping this baby... everybodys gonna eye on your car. watch your back. your car might be driving away.
S
  • S
    supremeniche
  • Apr 20, 2010
RM115k for a Satria Neo 1.6l. Is this fake or they are still thinking of April Fool's day?? Satria GTI still perform better as an older version.
G
  • G
    growUP
  • Apr 20, 2010
to some people...

talk is dirt cheap
compare ur self first to d'other
THINK outside the box
it is better to do something then nothing
u know wat i mean aight....
S
  • S
    sincereopinion
  • Apr 21, 2010
why u guys talk like chicken with no head. Comparing your stupid mods on single cam got more power? For fact, satria neo has beaten HONDA INTEGRA DC2 at sepang during MME. That's class B, my friend.. and they do it with style. And R3 has beaten more powerful skyline gtr and porche with their lotus exige. All MME. At least u should give them some respect with these winning guys. Rm115k.. I dont know whether it's worth it or not, but Satria GTI r3 selling at rm80k++ still worth rm50k++ in today market..
V
  • V
    Vox
  • Apr 21, 2010
Maybe zth members still cant accept that Proton is actually pricing standard levels same with their HOONNNNDAAA and TOOOYOOOTAAAA cars.

Remember their slogan and understand it properly =)

Honda is just "power of "dreams". ( Memang dream sahaja )

While Toyota is always "moving forward eventhough you don't want to"
( US Case ban on toyotraaaaa )
N
  • N
    No turbo sux
  • Apr 21, 2010
New Proton Satria Neo GTi spec
1.6 CPS turbo-charged
175PS
230Nm
8secs
215Km/h
A
  • A
    AXXeLL
  • Apr 21, 2010
Turbo Charged? where did you get that news from? thats something interesting....
L
  • L
    links
  • Apr 21, 2010
if you look it from malaysia, perhaps it great for proton to launch that, but if you look from outside malaysia. Its totally a different story.

It may done well on MME, or something else. But we are comparing a aroad car here not a track car. A soup up performance version which still delivering 0-100km for 9.2secs? I dont mean to compare it with a 1.6 single cam 10 years ago but i think to show more sincerity, atleast more should be done. ITs not doing something better than nothing. If you want to do something and hope people to appreciate, you must be able to deliver what is compatible in the market not in your mind only.

if R3 is stand alone from proton, it means this should be a complete car here for the road going we are saying.....so it should have more space to work on with the budget given.

115k price for proton is not a problem. But what it makes people think that 115k is worth to spend is a big point. some likes it and some may not like it. Therefore i respect individual opinion. so no flaming please. Thanks
M
  • M
    mokomoko
  • Apr 21, 2010
The pricing of cars in our country is fucked up to begin with. RM115k for a satria is ridiculous. RM120k for a new gen civic is also ridiculous. all because of our stupid 200% tax on imports then prices skyrocket.....we are forced to buy...because we have NO OTHER CHOICE.

fucked up.....just fucked up.

our pretty pennies go bye bye
X
  • X
    xXx
  • Apr 21, 2010
agree wit mokomoko ... all is just to earn money...
X
  • X
    xXx
  • Apr 21, 2010
if this car was made just to show the malaysian tht wat proton and R3 can do with their technology ...they have show us... 0-100 in 9.2 sec... its quite fast to be honest ..if they compare this result to about 20 years ago perhaps ^^
A
  • A
    artworkz
  • Apr 21, 2010
when 1st time i read lotus edition, i think is maybe like a neo s2000. have 4wd etc. but in the end is jus like a 1989 civec ef . light weight, dohc but single vtec, small room. maybe buy an old ef 2door n renew again like keiichi tsuchiya ae86 ll be better. can put spoon brake oso. hehe. rm 115k,funny lah. an evo BRAND NEW without tax oso price aroud that.

r3 earn the money on drifting purpose?
K
  • K
    kethon27
  • Apr 22, 2010
keshy The Author,

Thanks for the report.. Not all ppl will have the chance like you to test drive a brand new car with those engineering experts. BTW 145bhp@7000rpm is the figure from the crank or on-wheel?

I have the same thoughts same with you why no-bucket seats? or maybe at least semi-bucket.. I read somewhere in the internet there are rules to install bucket seats. Yes you can install a bucket seats at those accessories shops and you are are responsible for your own safety if any accidents caused by the seats.

But of course, R3 such a big company they cannot risk to spoil their name and simply install a bucket seats because they need to put this Neo undergo some safety testing and these kind of testing does not come cheap and it consume alot of time.Correct me if im wrong.

But i think one of the reason for not installing bucket seats mainly because R3 wants to retain the comfort thats why i see why high-tech Ohlins suspension with dual-valve is being installed. Tradition Sports car dont give a damn to comfort.. :P I seat a FD2R bucket seats. Seriouly i dont really enjoy for long-journey. a normal 1.8 Civic is more comfort..

I love this car at 1st sight especially new recipe is being put into this car but the Ringgit of this Neo is making me sad..perhaps need to hunt for Pre-owned this Lotus Edition Neo,maybe a year later? hahaha
N
  • N
    Night Soul
  • Apr 22, 2010
After reading the whole articles n commentz all i can said is at least Proton try to make a move forward to produce sth new in the automotive industry.. troubleshoot a few projects n mayb will release a beast in the future.. is just a matter of time..!!!
W
  • W
    wannabe
  • Apr 23, 2010
ek elee honda ek9 design pun dah lapuk..semua dah barai..leaking sana sini..masuk/kluar workshop ntah braper kali. Baik aku drive satria neo r3 lotus racing..bergaya beb..handling superb..power not bad..limited edition lak tu..this super special lev car worth 115k is just not for you
malaysia boleh
K
  • K
    Klon B
  • Apr 26, 2010
Itu la malaisia... sikit2 guna alasan Malaisia Boleh.. Kalu Malaisia betul2 Boleh.. Itu Neo Lotus boleh kasi stroke-kan enjin ke 1.8L.. setakat alasan block cinonet, itu pomen bawah pokok bleh la kasi alasan camtue.. R3 bukan pomen bawah pokok, lu korg tuner hebat2.. selalu main itu 'game' besar2.. bagi la muka sikit.. baru lu korg bleh cakap 'branding exercise' tah pemende tah..
E
Well said in the last statement! Good!
E
I want one!
J
  • J
    john doe
  • Apr 29, 2010
"The car is pretty special there’s no doubt it, but the price will definately put some people off." - well. so far 20 has been sold, only left 5. Seems like the price didn't put some people off eyh. Come on guys, its a good achievement for our local product. Give some respect.
H
  • H
    HaZaRd
  • Apr 30, 2010
u dont't have the money, just dream it or step way.

a worthy car for collection. :)
C
  • C
    chubbiekid
  • Apr 30, 2010
put the lotus edition against swift sport,or even ek9 and ae86 TRD(legally).we'll see how?
R
  • R
    re9465
  • May 2, 2010
a simple satria neo,, with 1.8 gsr NA can pull out 230km/h.... if its just for the colr of the lotus neo people are going to put out some serious cash,,,,,,satria neo r3 was ok,,,but neo lotus should atleast powered by 1.8 engine or upper
S
  • S
    Sime Darby Motor Hyundai
  • May 5, 2010
Sorry of topic, just to share info,

My office just release Hyundai Tucson 2.0 Dual CVVT 6 speed 163bhp . What can i say the engine not that great. Underpower,lack of pickup,very noisy to deliver pickup. From my personel view most of malaysian are blind when they see imported marque they say 'good' blindly.Of course as a salesman you say good. Before you put your 2k deposit please checkit out this first:-

1.Underpower
2.Lack Of Pickup
3.Struggle and noisy to deliver pickup
4.Cheap Plastic at dashboard+door trim
5.Rear Seat Vertical really uncomfort.
6.Air Cond not so cold vs Malaysian weather
7.Noisy Aircond
8.Limited features compare to Exora you get 20 extra features.
9.Cheap Audio + speaker they should fix Bose
10.Cheap Hankook Tyre.

For sure if you want to upgrade from protons you say good but this is the truth.

Regards

HYM
N
referring re9465 and klon b,
have you ever tried satria neo?
the standard one?cps?
im sure you didnt
because you just simply talked about it without fact
even its just 1.6,its still can reached 200KM/H nicely
comeon dude,if even 300BHP and you didnt fully utilise it,
whats the point to produce?
Proton and Lotus did R&D,but you?
do you ever invent a car before?
naah,im sure you didnt
they create on what people suit.
they dont produce car for race
if you ask a car for race,better you check on proton S2000!
this car mainly produce as an exclusive product from Proton to support F1 Lotus Racing.
not for race,
this is very very affordable to buy one
check on its tyre, brake, system and all.
dont talk rubbish if youre just noob about satria neo
S
  • S
    superman
  • May 7, 2010
satria neo lotus edition sucks.... rather buy a honda civic... lagi syok... proton is protected car manufacturer....
N
go for civic RM129K at 1.8 with no exclusive stuff attached to the car is totally different range superman,
comeon,check on this Proton Satria Neo R3 have on it lah,dont judge by its brand,but by its quality.
get a life!
N
  • N
    neolover
  • May 8, 2010
well...
RE9465.... GSR N/A 1.8 vs Campro 1.6... nice comparison....
Klon B..... smaller capacity means smaller internal parts. smaller parts means lighter in weight, lighter in weight translate to better fuel economy, easier to rev up the engine.
B
  • B
    Bird
  • May 8, 2010
why..
u claimed this thing got not enough power...
then at another thread, u claim our living cost (fuel, car, loan interest) is like hell..

and everyday i drive on road..i never seen ppl using their 5sec to 100kmh car to max...and on highway 180km/h is enough to leave 99% cars behind..and i can do that with my neo...

enough? or not..
G
  • G
    GT-R
  • Apr 4, 2011
i think i'll buy a s15 spec-r lagi bagus...
chin cai boleh potong THAT piece of crab (neo lotus racing)
then proton should change enginer...even lotus also...
R3 change R4 (race rally reserch RUBBISH)
G