NewsTop Gear

The Stig Unmasked – Nearly

the_stig_unmasked

For over five years now, one question has truly plagued mankind: just who, exactly, is The Stig?

London rag News of the World claims to know the true identity of the always-masked test driver for BBC programme Top Gear. While the newspaper has suspiciously chosen not to print his name, they did reveal that he used to race the Formula First, GT Racing, and Stock Car circuits. Although at one point he was terrified of race driving, he nearly qualified for the Formula One circuit.

Unexpectedly, Stig leads a fairly quiet life. The married man (sorry, ladies) is in his thirties, and uses a run-of-the-mill £15,000 car as his daily driver. He takes home a healthy £150,000 per year for his work on Top Gear, and side work doing stunts and test driving. The newspaper claims to have confirmed his identity when a top BBC source supported the finding.

The source reportedly said, “Yes **** ******** is the Stig but don’t tell anyone I’ve told you.”

Hopefully for him, show host Jeremy Clarkson will not kill off this Stig -dressed in all-white- like they did the last Stig. Perry McCarthy, a former Formula One driver, played the Black Stig for 22 episodes of the BBC show, until he revealed his identity in the autobiography Flat Out, Flat Broke. Shortly thereafter, Black Stig was launched off the HMS Invincible aircraft carrier in a rocket-powered Jaguar XJ-S, never to be heard from again.

Then again, maybe the article is rubbish. For years, many have theorized the Stig as being a composite of several different drivers. Perhaps News of the World confirmed one of many. “This is the best-kept secret in motor racing and we want to keep it that way,” said the BBC source.

“No one will ever officially confirm his identity.”

Source: newsoftheworld.co.uk via World Car Fans

R
  • R
    RocK
  • Jan 14, 2009
looks like alonso eyes.. ?
S
  • S
    skazareth
  • Jan 14, 2009
no...like Sylvester Stallone.. :p
E
  • E
    expenditious
  • Jan 14, 2009
i am the stig!!
T
  • T
    tis
  • Jan 14, 2009
No expenditious, I am. or, maybe you are from the other episode? Nice meeting you here.
L
  • L
    LANE
  • Jan 14, 2009
look like alex yoong kui kui kui
M
  • M
    MAD1
  • Jan 14, 2009
looks like jeremy clarkson himself!!! hahaha
L
  • L
    links
  • Jan 14, 2009
HK will be holding the Top Gear Live Tour's last stop in Asia. Stig will be performing in the show(driving yaris or smart to play soccer with Jaremy??)

Did this show went to malaysia or singapore last time?
K
  • K
    ken yeang
  • Jan 14, 2009
ok, i admit it, he's my uncle that used to drive bas sekolah in Tanjung Malim.....
K
  • K
    khencana
  • Jan 14, 2009
looks like m.meganathan? m.chandran? karamjit singh? wazi abdul hamid? khalid jamlus?....

oooo maybe he(she) is fasha sandha (a drifter in a malay film) LOL
    16V
  • Jan 14, 2009
look his eye....like monkey....!!!!!!
M
  • M
    mid_engine
  • Jan 15, 2009
ken yeang,u from tanjung malim?
i m from tanjung malim too.
nice to know u.hehehe
F
  • F
    footwork
  • Jan 15, 2009
the eyes looks like jason plato...can confirm if only can see the nose...i suppose that's why they gave the stig that simpson helmet..hehehhe
J
  • J
    jackson91
  • Jan 15, 2009
the clue is already given by their putting asterix "**** ********" instead of his name. so which driver's name has those number of letters in his name?
C
  • C
    cliffordcheong
  • Jan 20, 2009
Ben Collins lah the stig
G
  • G
    gogogo
  • Sep 8, 2009
jackson91 says:
January 15, 2009 at 1:21 pm
the clue is already given by their putting asterix “**** ********” instead of his name. so which driver’s name has those number of letters in his name?

mika hakkinen ?
G