Mercedes-BenzNews

Leaked: 2010 Mercedes-Benz SLS AMG “Gullwing”

2010-mercedes-sls-gullwing-1

We’ve been teased for a really long time but finally it’s over, thanks to CarPoint, the 2010 Mercedes-Benz SLS AMG has leaked out, and it’s looking good and everything that the spy shots said it would be.

2010 Mercedes SLS Gullwing (4)2010 Mercedes SLS Gullwing2010 Mercedes SLS Gullwing (2)2010 Mercedes SLS Gullwing (6)2010 Mercedes SLS Gullwing (7)2010 Mercedes SLS Gullwing (3)

2010-mercedes-sls-gullwing

It will be officially unveiled next week at the Frankfurt Motor Show, but here’s a little low-down on the highly anticipated three pointer. The 300SL inspired “Gullwing” will be powered by a front/mid-mounted version of Benz’s generic 6.3-liter V8, an engine that also powers the majority of AMG’s offerings. A seven-speed dual-clutch gearbox is used to channel 563hp and 480lb-ft of torque to the rear wheels. Weighing in at 1,590kg, the SLS does the century sprint in 3.7 seconds and onto a top speed of 317km/h. Carbon ceramic brake discs are optional but tick on that box and any speed party will be dispersed with supreme authority.

2010-mercedes-sls-gullwing-2

The hundreds of spy shots of the SLS have pretty much shown how the car would look like but this is the first time we’re getting a clear view, its upright front fascia, the headlamps, and curvaceous rear rump draws cues from modern and classic Benzes.

2010-mercedes-sls-gullwing-6

Colour choices will include Alubeam Silver, Syvanite Grey, Alanite Grey and red. This will compliment the leather and alcantara interior and ten-spoke forged wheels. Production begins in late 2010 with sales starting the following year. Early pricing suggests a €177,310 figure in Germany. Expect it to cost an arm, a leg and your entire family’s savings here in BolehLand. Till next week, this is all we got so far.

2010-mercedes-sls-gullwing-7

Source: Carpoint

M
  • M
    munky
  • Sep 9, 2009
fecking ugly
S
  • S
    stormlcc
  • Sep 9, 2009
it's old school classic design, very nice, but i admit that the front headlamps looks a bit fairlady'ish
J
Probably the ugliest car ever produce by Merc
P
  • P
    peter
  • Sep 9, 2009
GTR35 front lamps.
K
  • K
    KS
  • Sep 9, 2009
Very much like GullWing... The old 1 i was saying ofcos
Z
  • Z
    zain
  • Sep 9, 2009
Merc has screwed up the good name & rep of the Ori Gull Wing Merc by producing this out-of-place new Merc.

Way to go, Merc...
R
  • R
    Reza
  • Sep 10, 2009
Completely uninspiring and a waste of time. The original gull wing is a beautiful work of art in the true sense of art. The new one is a disappointment
L
  • L
    LOL
  • Sep 10, 2009
my great great grandpa shud love it..but not me
V
  • V
    vyraz
  • Sep 10, 2009
dang, cool car, but they fergot abt why it failed last time, u cant part it anywhere, u will have to get out of d car rite at d parking square, then put it in neutral, push it in d box and put a stone behind d back wheel so it doesnt roll backwards. good luck
N
  • N
    netmatrix
  • Sep 11, 2009
The lights look too GTR'ish. The back boot seems like it came off a BMW 6 series coupe. The car in red looks a lot like a Ferarri 599. Hate the flat bottomed steering. Interior should not be in red.

Overall this car isn't really inspired by the old one. But rather, modernity threatens a lot with a big cannon to overtake the classic look. If i wee there, i would smack them straight in the face, why not a circle steering? Why not a brown or black interior? Why not bigger circle lights in aero curved shrouds?

Man.... damn messy.
F
  • F
    Frank
  • Dec 11, 2009
it all looks good until the front end and then it just looses it would not pay the amount they will be asking for that
I
  • I
    Ian G
  • Sep 28, 2010
Great looking car....huge price
I