Formula 1News

Jarno Trulli Linked To A Move To 1Malaysia F1 Team

jarno-trulli1

With no driver confirmation as yet for the 1Malaysia Formula One team, speculations are rife on who could pilot the two cars that bear the Malaysian flag and the hope of all Malaysians.

One possible candidate is A1 Team Malaysia driver, Fairuz Fauzy, in fact the chances of him getting behind the wheel of one of the cars are pretty high as he is well experienced and has spent some time behind the wheel of high powered single seater race cars. But Malaysia has no other viable driver to compete in the highest level of motorsport, so the team would have no choice but to look at the current international pool of Formula One drivers.

One driver who is actively looking to drive for the team is Italian veteran Jarno Trulli. The Italian has admitted he could imagine switching to the new Malaysian-owned team Lotus F1 as he is unlikely to retain his seat at Toyota beyond this season according to Toyota team president John Howett.

Trulli said the fact that the experienced Mike Gascoyne is involved with Lotus makes the team a viable option.

“I have worked together with Mike in three different teams,” he told f1mania.net referring to Jordan, Renault and Toyota.

“I would have no problem going to a new team, if he has a leading role.”

Team 1Malaysia will make an announcement later this month to confirm the teams two drivers.

Source: GMM

M
  • M
    Me la
  • Oct 13, 2009
Eh?????? then what happen to 1Malaysia? Jarno Trulli is not Malaysian.
L
  • L
    lightningfield
  • Oct 13, 2009
Trulli Failure......
Y
  • Y
  • Oct 13, 2009
haha... they can do what the japanese do for brazilian football players in their football mad nation. make em japanese.

this way they can play in the j-league and also the japan squad in the world cup.

for us, 1Malaysia will now be IMalaysia - malay, chinese, india and Italian also got!
B
  • B
    brokenfuse
  • Oct 13, 2009
i think we need team of well trained malaysian for this 1Malaysia F1 team..or else.. its a failure project..

but..its a good effort for bringing our motorsport a step ahead.. GO Malaysia!!
S
  • S
    spoonek9
  • Oct 13, 2009
OMG... should ask Axxx drive mah... he got experience what.. haha
D
  • D
    drMpower
  • Oct 13, 2009
very funny comments here and there, but to be honest we dont have any great f1 driver out there. the closest we got is that fairuz fazly. i think he is certain to fill one of the two seats.

the other one should be an experienced driver, where we can get his input as the car goes running. you guys missing something else - test driver. whos the good candidate? again he must be experienced guy. the one that the team can rely upon when we do testing.

stop being cynical here, the fact is that we dont have great drivers here. you all know its not easy to withstand the G forces inside and it takes only the fittest to be in the cockpit. i pretty sure we dont need another algesuari or that renault chap who happens to end his race after only few laps.

expectation will be very high, however as much as i want them to be successfull, we need to be realistic. first season is all about getting used and get some real time data that will help us as the season goes. even if we rake in like 5-10 points i will be very happy. i thought barrichello will drive for us, but it turns out he signed with williams.

its not only about the drivers, but technical staffs also not all of malaysians. even ferrari got british people inside their camp. infact, i just realized that, in all teams, there will be brits working with them. we will get malaysians to train and acclamitised with F1, then after 2-3 season, i am sure we will have 70-80% malaysians in our team.

cant wait for australia 2010~
F
  • F
    FVel
  • Oct 13, 2009
"Eh?????? then what happen to 1Malaysia? Jarno Trulli is not Malaysian."

For f**k sakes bro, do you people have anything to say that is not retarded ?

If you seriously think that we are in a position to homegrow every personnel, tech and infrastructure that ever went into building this country to what it is, then you need a reality check.
C
  • C
    Charles
  • Oct 13, 2009
To homegrow everything in the 1st season would be like dumping money into the big sea. We dont need history to repeat itself.
A
  • A
    A1Diablo
  • Oct 13, 2009
Whatever it takes to have respectable performance. So someone like Trulli is more than welcome. It's also fine if the other driver is non-Malaysian for the sake of performance. Outside Malaysia the team will be referred to as Lotus F1. They won't understand or care about the Malaysian element.

Fairuz will be a valuable asset to the team at the very least as a test driver. He works very well with race engineers at this level of racing.

Btw drMpower, its Fairuz Fauzy not Fairuz Fazly. As it is he has to remind people that his second name is spelled with a 'y'
C
  • C
    cRazYee
  • Oct 13, 2009
to be honest, do you think recognise so called 1malaysia F1 team?
ppl in europe call it Lotus team, not a single word mention about 1 malaysian

it's quite funny to read some post from retarded person like, Jarno is not malaysian
Stupid! This is F1 not A1! I not sure Fauzy got license to drive f1 or not, even he is good in A1 and formula Renault!

agree with Dr Mpower, alot team are built up with alot british, mclaren, Brawn GP, REd Bull, Force India, new Ranault team, all the team principles are from britain soil
A
  • A
    A1Diablo
  • Oct 13, 2009
Fairuz should be able to get a superlicense. He got it once before and in terms of experience, he meets the requirement.
C
  • C
    cRazYee
  • Oct 13, 2009
just got the data from FIA
there is not so called 1Malaysia F1 team listed in 2010 F1 list
but Lotus F1 Team

this is partnership with malaysia government
read here
http://www.fia.com/en-GB/mediacentre/pressreleases/f1releases/2009/Pages/2010_f1_entries.aspx
Y
  • Y
    yams
  • Oct 13, 2009
glad to know our government is sporting :)
D
  • D
    drMpower
  • Oct 13, 2009
A1Diablo,

i typed Fairuz Fazly? oh yeah i did. typo sorry. Fairuz Fauzy. and ah, that superlicense. mind anyone familiar with how to apply and whatsort of procedures they got?

is it the same as the flying hours graduate pilot needs to clock up at their training centres or something? i mean they got to have some minimum hours etc etc.. is it the same?
A
  • A
    A1Diablo
  • Oct 14, 2009
drMpower,

Yes, race licenses are granted to drivers somewhat like your pilot analogy. Before being considered for superlicense the driver needs to have already obtained an International grade A race license. Thats the highest in motorsport. 'Superlicense' is a special one just for F1 and it really is up to the FIA to grant it. It's another one of their control measures on F1 to keep it an 'elitist club'
N
  • N
    netmatrix
  • Oct 14, 2009
Jarno could be a surpise front runner if he does make the move. Toyota seems to be bogging him down with lousy cars. All the money and they are still not there yet. Should be interesting having Jarno and Fairuz in a team.
B
  • B
    Be End Boleh
  • Oct 14, 2009
from the beginning, talk is louder; name is 1Malaysia F1 team, but it's Lotus F1 team. a team of malaysians, but driver also not malaysian. wat else coming soon? race only half of the season, said quit coz no performance la, project failure la, economy down la..
jz forget bout da whole project n spend more money n time on planning how to get anwar ibrahim to jail via his sodomy case better.
F
  • F
    FVel
  • Oct 14, 2009
What does Anwar Ibrahim and his alleged extracurricular bedroom activities have anything to do with all this ? You're like one of those perpetually disgruntled Malaysians who have nothing intelligent coming out of their mouths other than continually letting everyone know how much you had been politically screwed by those a$$holes at Putrajaya.

At least, in that other ZTH 1Malaysia SIC thread people were actually debating stuff like transfer of tech and potential sponsorship issues with the Malaysian F1 team, even if some of the opinions were quite wrong in my opinion.

But you, like a lot of people, just come in here more interested in telling about your political affiliations. People are talking F1 here lah. They don't care if Anwar main ponggong. Can you be more boring ar ?
B
  • B
    bapakkau
  • Oct 15, 2009
FVel, i like ur comment...very straight forward...in the face of him. yea, dont put Anwar issue or Putrajaya or BN or pakatan here laa..borriinnggg..... I like to read about malaysia going F1 - the good, the bad. Anwar is Anwar, F1 is F1. ok?
O
  • O
    Oliver Gomez
  • Oct 15, 2009
Hey morons....stop being a bunch of ignorant racists. If we dont have good enough drivers, it makes perfect sense to get a foreigner who does know how to drive.

Instead of moaning about which country he comes from, lets try learning from him eh?
T
  • T
    teo1957
  • Oct 16, 2009
Perpetually disgruntled Malaysians?

Crowd them on the streets, and they can't get a solution to a problem.

They'll just find more creative ways to become more disgruntled. Yawn.
T