News

Honda records highest monthly sales in history

Petaling Jaya, 26 February 2009 – Honda Malaysia had recorded sales of 3,815 units for the month of January 2009, the highest monthly sales ever achieved in history. The record achievement also means that Honda had captured 10% of the Total Industry Volume (TIV) market share as reported by Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA) recently.

“We are truly delighted to be reporting the highest monthly sales ever in history notwithstanding this significantly more challenging year. Despite the declining market condition, Honda Malaysia still managed to record more than 30% increase in sales year-to-year. In fact, according to the data provided by MAA in its recent report, the market had shrunk by 17.5% year-to-year,” remarked Mr. Atsushi Fujimoto, the Managing Director & Chief Executive Officer of Honda Malaysia.

Honda Malaysia has attributed the tremendous sales result to the newly launched All-New City, which has incidentally doubled the showroom traffic ever since. In its total sales of 3,815 units, the All-New City sold 1,737 1693 units, almost 50% of the total sales.

In order to cope with the overwhelming demand on the All-New City, Honda Malaysia has increased the production of this particular model by 20%, so as to shorten the waiting period. In fact, the Pegoh Plant is running on full capacity with two 10-hour shifts and occasional runtime during holidays.

The other stable products such as Civic, Accord and CR-V also register healthy numbers of with 734, 803 and 413 units respectively.

In response to the significant result achieved in the start of the year, Mr. Fujimoto commented that “With the great head start shown in January, we are truly motivated and we are confident of achieving our annual sales target of 35,000 units. Amid the challenging market condition, we are confident that Honda will emerge as the preferred choice due to its strong brand acceptance which is tagged with the highest quality products, sales and after sales services at reasonable price.”

C
  • C
    choco
  • Feb 26, 2009
Congratulation....
P
  • P
    PocketRocket
  • Feb 26, 2009
Kudos....means bonus in March/April will be 30% higher...ahha
this is a real car with performance n practicality. and not to forget, visually appealing
S
  • S
    SoYouThinkYouCanDrive
  • Feb 26, 2009
yes, handsome car !
K
  • K
    ken yeang
  • Feb 26, 2009
Yay to Honda!!

Proton, you can go "eat yourself"
performance?
P
  • P
    pc_teh
  • Feb 26, 2009
i wont be surprise to see this ..... the new City is simply too gorgeous ...
L
  • L
    lonely driver
  • Feb 26, 2009
ken yeang on February 26th, 2009 5:40 pm Yay to Honda!!

Proton, you can go “eat yourself”

wat that has to do with proton? all proton car price range is between 50 to 60k region while this honda city is over 85k with import and excise duty imposed...
this car should be compete with dugong vios and ugly latio which is within the same price range... more or less this honda city has affected the sales of umw toyota
pls grow up a bit...
S
Experience The All New City Today. Call 012-2121-012 For Your Test Drive Appointment Today & Get Rewarded.
M
  • M
    Mishima
  • Feb 27, 2009
lonely driver on February 26th, 2009 10:20 pm

wat that has to do with proton? all proton car price range is between 50 to 60k region while this honda city is over 85k with import and excise duty imposed…
this car should be compete with dugong vios and ugly latio which is within the same price range… more or less this honda city has affected the sales of umw toyota
pls grow up a bit…

Dude, chill... If it wasn't because of taxes, the car itself will be cheaper than our Person, Satria, or even Gen2, or maybe in par in terms of pricing... He was just stating what he is feeling, I dun think there is anything gotta do whether is is childish or not.

So, who should grow up now? Hehe....
V
  • V
    vincent
  • Feb 27, 2009
"saiful on February 26th, 2009 11:54 pm
Experience The All New City Today. Call 012-2121-012 For Your Test Drive Appointment Today & Get Rewarded."

Cilaka salesman masuk sini plak..

Btw, please dun start another war of words about proton again. It's already long enough in the Neo CPS thread.
?
  • ?
  • Feb 27, 2009
Come on, do u believe that the salesman's number is real?
V
  • V
    vincent
  • Feb 27, 2009
"** on February 27th, 2009 2:46 am
Come on, do u believe that the salesman’s number is real?"

Of course not! It was meant to be a joke. lol.
L
  • L
    lonely driver
  • Feb 27, 2009
Mishima on February 27th, 2009 12:56 am

Dude, chill… If it wasn’t because of taxes, the car itself will be cheaper than our Person, Satria, or even Gen2, or maybe in par in terms of pricing… He was just stating what he is feeling, I dun think there is anything gotta do whether is is childish or not.

So, who should grow up now? Hehe….

then u also feel the same as this immature people feels that everytime a dealer launch a new car also has something to do with proton?
M
  • M
    MaRvyn
  • Feb 27, 2009
Honda. The Power of Dream. =)
V
  • V
    Victor Lee
  • Feb 27, 2009
Yup, HONDA, The Power of Dreams.....
P
  • P
    PocketRocket
  • Feb 27, 2009
Happy
Or
Not,
Don't
Argue

xD
S
  • S
    skazareth
  • Feb 27, 2009
kudos to Honda especially the City team. as i expected, the City will be the best seller for Honda at least for 3 mth straight this year. Err....yea...Proton again?!
K
  • K
    kRiminaLz
  • Feb 27, 2009
its all because of the "BONUS" month.. hahaha...
Lucky..
K
  • K
    kRiminaLz
  • Feb 27, 2009
Mishima on February 27th, 2009 12:56 am

Dude, chill… If it wasn’t because of taxes, the car itself will be cheaper than our Person, Satria, or even Gen2, or maybe in par in terms of pricing… He was just stating what he is feeling, I dun think there is anything gotta do whether is is childish or not.

So, who should grow up now? Hehe….

Please think of the rational/reason behind it, as why they need to protect proton..
n again, just think, if let say all the cars r cheap in malaysia, our neighbour or the expats will actually knocking on our door n own evrything...
they need to standardize the price to the currency exchanges as well...
C
  • C
    Cars
  • Feb 27, 2009
not surprise with this result,it's really a nice car...
G
  • G
    Gila mu!
  • Feb 27, 2009
How did it get the highest record sale ever in Malaysia? When theres a economic Slump? are we richer then the Americans now?
F
  • F
    fred_soo_88
  • Feb 27, 2009
waiting list until june 2009
F
  • F
    fai2max
  • Feb 27, 2009
got news that the new city will come out will DOHC i-VTEC....dont know is real or not ??
S
  • S
    skazareth
  • Feb 27, 2009
Gila mu! on February 27th, 2009 12:10 pm How did it get the highest record sale ever in Malaysia? When theres a economic Slump? are we richer then the Americans now?

hmm... maybe???!!
M
  • M
    Mishima
  • Feb 27, 2009
lonely driver on February 27th, 2009 3:36 am

then u also feel the same as this immature people feels that everytime a dealer launch a new car also has something to do with proton?

kRiminaLz on February 27th, 2009 10:58 am

Please think of the rational/reason behind it, as why they need to protect proton..
n again, just think, if let say all the cars r cheap in malaysia, our neighbour or the expats will actually knocking on our door n own evrything…
they need to standardize the price to the currency exchanges as well…

@lonely driver;
I only feel that this car manufacturer is much better than a Proton, but I never feel the same way as he felt. If not, there won't be Sagas/ Iswaras/ Gen-2 in my house. But people are like that, if not, they won't e called consumers. Of course, they will compare things. :)

@kRiminaLz ;
Of course, what u said in pricing terms will be rational.. But still, people who pay for something are considered consumers. You see, something that should be in the same pricing should have a close gap in terms of perfomance. Of course, foreign cars will be taxed but shouldn't we compare things with the perfomance and the original price? By then we will see why people try to stay away from Proton whenever possible.
M
  • M
    mirapower
  • Feb 27, 2009
honda civic new facelift is coming out soon.....................dont forget to catch it.......................stay tune.......................and this new model new facelift is coming out in 2 years time stay tune.................................
L
  • L
    lonely driver
  • Feb 27, 2009
Mishima on February 27th, 2009 3:53 pm lonely driver on February 27th, 2009 3:36 am

@lonely driver;
I only feel that this car manufacturer is much better than a Proton, but I never feel the same way as he felt. If not, there won’t be Sagas/ Iswaras/ Gen-2 in my house. But people are like that, if not, they won’t e called consumers. Of course, they will compare things.

@kRiminaLz ;
Of course, what u said in pricing terms will be rational.. But still, people who pay for something are considered consumers. You see, something that should be in the same pricing should have a close gap in terms of perfomance. Of course, foreign cars will be taxed but shouldn’t we compare things with the perfomance and the original price? By then we will see why people try to stay away from Proton whenever possible.

yes i quite agree with u that every people in this world would like to compare things but pls compare apple to apple... only childish kids will do nonsense comparison...
so stay in the facts that we r still living in this stupid country that impose all kind of taxes into foreign cars just to protect proton... if u wanted to compare cars with performance and its original price (b4 tax) then i have nothings to say anymore... cheers
D
  • D
    baby_jap_wawa
  • Feb 28, 2009
at least our country has a national car production compared to other countries.. try compare the price of petrol in countries in which the price of cars are relatively cheaper than ours.. do tk a look at the pros and cons of each country.. (:
B