ConceptNewsSubaru

2011 Subaru Coupe: Renderings and Details

2011-Subaru-Coupe-01

We’ve already seen the Toyota FT-86 concept but hardly anything has been said or shown about the Subaru twin. Till now. Japan’s Best Car magazine has come up with these speculative renderings of the Subaru coupe and it’s looking good. Accompanying these images are rumours of the Subaru retaining it’s traditional all-wheel-drive setup and a turbocharged boxer engine.

If you’re not surprised by these rumours, lets go back to when Toyota and Subaru first announced they were working on a mutual model. The two Japanese automakers made it clear back then that both models will feature a rear-wheel-drive setup.

2011-Subaru-Coupe-04

Here’s what the two companies said in a joint statement about the coupes in April 2008:

“Toyota Motor Company (TMC) and Fuji Heavy Industries (FHI) – Subaru’s parent company – are to jointly develop a compact rear-wheel-drive sports car that will be marketed by both TMC and FHI.”

“The compact rear-wheel sports car to be jointly developed by TMC and FHI is envisioned to offer a new “fun to drive” experience based on an all-new vehicle platform powered by an FHI core-technology horizontally-opposed engine. Market introduction is targeted for the end of 2011. Production is to take place at a new plant to be built at FHI’s Gunma Manufacturing Division in Japan’s Gunma Prefecture. TMC will consign production to FHI.”

2011-Subaru-Coupe-03

It’s actually a good thing that the Subaru will retain its AWD and turbocharged boxer engine, it makes it easier for potential buyers to differentiate the two. If the two retained the same layout and power, the only thing that would differentiate the two is the badge and colour option.

This is all very exciting but its all just rumours and speculations yet as Subaru has not commented on anything. The only thing that is confirmed is that Subaru will market its own version of the coupe.

2011-Subaru-Coupe-02

Source: CarScoop

M
nice find keshy.. =)
K
  • K
    KS
  • Oct 28, 2009
i go for subaru.
T
  • T
    the sTig
  • Oct 28, 2009
the top most car on the magazine cover looks cute.. hehehe
S
  • S
    spirit20816
  • Oct 29, 2009
I vote for Subaru as well :D sweettttttt
V
  • V
    V99
  • Oct 29, 2009
I VOTE SUBARU! . This is nicer than ft-86
M
  • M
    Marv
  • Oct 29, 2009
It's just a rendering. The headlamp somehow reminds me of G37.
K
  • K
    keisuko
  • Oct 29, 2009
i dun like the lamp,look no nice at all
L
  • L
    LOL
  • Oct 29, 2009
this thing is seriously nice...any pic of the rear?
T
  • T
    teo1957
  • Oct 29, 2009
Turbocharged, AWD Subaru coupe?

Winner.
A
  • A
    anonymous
  • Oct 29, 2009
Subaru front look nicer
N
  • N
    nardock
  • Oct 29, 2009
Banzai SUBARU!!
look at its rim, i stim
look at its headlight i moannn..
look at the duck air intake...i CLIMAX!!!
kekekeke
V
  • V
    V99
  • Oct 29, 2009
boxer engine & 4 wheel pls!
M
  • M
    melvin
  • Oct 31, 2009
the front looks very mazda-ish (smiley face)
would prefer without the hood scoop
L
  • L
    LOL
  • Nov 1, 2009
it wouldnt be a subaru anymore without a hood scoop
J
  • J
    Jin
  • Nov 2, 2009
i prefer the ft86 and its n/a rwd
J