ArticlesNews

Singapore’s Fuel Subsidy Policies reflect on Malaysia’s

inflationpicSINGAPORE: Singapore’s increase in costs of living problem cannot be solved by giving subsidies, said Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew. Urging AGAINST subsidies, he said that even countries like China and Malaysia have started to re-think their policies on this.

Cutting petrol duties and giving out subsidies are not the answer to soaring global oil prices. Instead, National Development Minister Mah Bow Tan suggested modifying lifestyles to cut household bills. This involves car pooling, using public transport, or just turning off lights and air-conditioning when not needed.

This year alone, crude prices have risen some 40 per cent. He explained that if subsidy is given, it would send the wrong signal to consumers about the real price of oil. ‘Subsidising oil will not be right as it would encourage consumers to use more oil, which would drive up the price even more. ‘We want to make sure that we pay the correct price for oil and tackle the problem in a sustainable way.’

Ring any bells? Emm..

Link from sg.news.yahoo.com

P
  • P
    PutraEvo
  • Jun 29, 2008
i agree with this, giving subsidy in cash term doesn;t solve problem for long run..but may be just for a month or two.
i actually do not foresee any benefit when malaysian are given a subsidy of RM625 or so forth is a good solution, becos after one year they are subsidised with this, what is goin to be given from government next year?? or after next year??? country will certainly become poorer when cash can turn up blank after we have spent that...

Instead they should use the money for something more realistic and has long term effect...for example they can use that money to improve or public transport, especially train like in germany or japan. Oil prices in the world definitely will not become cheaper and cheaper...

also, malaysian's income are far lower than in singapore or some other countries like hongkong or japan. that;s why we have the significant impact when our income cant' telerate with the output.
P
  • P
    paragon35
  • Jun 29, 2008
they can say anything coz they got a lot of money,change our lifestyle but for the one who are starving for food????
S
  • S
    spikyz
  • Jun 29, 2008
minister himself shud give a good example for us. if they keep using mercs while urge us to buy proton it is not fair rite. tell us to change lifestyle while they spend taxpayer money to go oversea just to study on clean toilet doesnt seem right also. so its like "ketam mengajar anaknya berjalan lurus" ironically, crab cant move straight. haha
K
  • K
    king_jamez
  • Jun 29, 2008
the G has to squeeze more of their brain juice to think of a better solution than the 625 subsidy...giving them the cash will only cause them to spend more...the other day when i went to the post office to get mine i heard this malay guy saying happily when walking out from the post office..."jom kita pergi shopping lepas ni"...n after they spent all the money on shopping they'll start thinking of the fuel price n start complaining...
A
  • A
    alangbudi
  • Jun 30, 2008
I agree with spikyz on his comment, proton have their own luxury line, such as perdana and waja chencellor. in this time of stress, this should be good enough substitute. 10% reduction on their "elaun keraian" don't mean much with the claims, fully paid holidays, and some other items that can't be disclosed as they say. it should not be"ketam mengajar anaknya berjalan lurus" but as a normal human beig, they should walk straight enough, just my two cents.
D
  • D
    doppelganger
  • Jul 2, 2008
I stand corrected...perdana & waja chancellor are both crappy cars... the 'G' know this but because proton is the only manufacturer that can sell them at dirt cheap prices also becoz of 'national car symbol'...pffft..for the price of a perdana you can get civic 1.8 or sylphy 2.0 comfort package....Dun believe me...see what kind of car they give to their kids or their weekend car certainly not 'proton'...if they say that cutting subsidies can grow our economy..think again...our economy is dwindling downwards faster than you can say 'omfg %^&* xxxx'...dun stop at just cutting fuel subsidies...cut all the ministers subsidies such as free paid holidays, free electricity, free water, free get out of jail card (juz kidding), free ticket summons....juz my 270 cents...
J
  • J
    JC
  • Jul 28, 2008
good one spikyz...haha...real funny.
what can you do? THIS IS MALAYSIA (using the slang in the movie 300, if you watched)!!

just ignore. nothing we can do at all.
they have mouth, but not ears, they have no feelings and proper brain.
just don't blame those idiots....hahahaha
J