Auto EventsMalaysiaMitsubishiNews

Mitsubishi Evolution X Officially Launched In Malaysia

dsc_3401Reflecting a leap beyond just a facelift or an upgrade from the previous generation, Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia today unveiled its flagship model with the new Lancer Evolution featuring an entirely new platform, engine and enhanced functional design inside and out.

dsc_3408

Equipped with the latest automotive engineering technology, the new Lancer Evolution showcases an all-new engine. The new Lancer Evolution draws exhilarating power from the redesigned lightweight 4B11 2.0 litre MIVEC (Mitsubishi Innovative Valve-Timing Electronic Control) Twin Scroll Turbocharged Engine with an aluminium block producing an increased power of 291bhp (295 PS) and an impressive torque of 366Nm.

dsc_3425

“With a history spanning over three decades rooted in racing heritage, the new Lancer Evolution is reliving a new generation as Mitsubishi Motors’ flagship model and a symbol of Mitsubishi sports DNA. The development of the new Lancer Evolution is a profound process of passion and emotion from start to end as Mitsubishi Motors’ engineers strive to balance form and functionality while remaining true to the car’s heritage, ” said Mr Keizo Ono, Chief Executive Officer of Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia.

twin-clutch-system

“For the very first time, the Twin Clutch SST gearbox is introduced in the Lancer Evolution. Combining superior performance and the convenience of an automated manual transmission, the new Lancer Evolution is no longer just about speed enjoyed by enthusiasts. Instead, this new technology will appeal to a wider market and impress just about anyone who drives it. It is now more impressive – both performance and a road car with more space, comfort and safer than before,” continued Mr Ono.

lancer-evolution-double

“Delivering peak performance with true racing technology, the creation of the new Lancer Evolution is indeed a milestone. The birth of the new Lancer Evolution is not just for Mitsubishi Motors, but for everyone who loves high-performance cars that are both functional and stylish. Therefore I am very proud to say that the new Lancer Evolution is now both a reality and a Mitsubishi Motors’ flagship,” said Mr Kojiro Asai, Manager, Asia & ASEAN A Department of Mitsubishi Motors Corporation of Japan.

gear-shift-lever-with-twin-clutch-sst

An exclusive feature and an all-new development is the advanced 6-speed Twin Clutch SST (Sport Shift Transmission). The Twin Clutch SST is an automated manual transmission that employs dual clutches to deliver slicker shifting through the gears while also providing efficient power transmission for outstanding fuel economy. The Twin Clutch SST in the new Lancer Evolution allows the driver to choose from three different control modes – Normal, Sport and S-Sport – to cater to varied driving situations.

acd-active-centre-differential

s-awc-system

Delivering a dynamic driving experience to the new Lancer Evolution is the S-AWC (Super All Wheel Control) – an advanced vehicle dynamics control system that integrates precise management of its ACD (Active Centre Differential), AYC (Active Yaw Control), ASC (Active Stability Control) and Sport ABS (Sport Anti-lock Brake System) to execute high-precision control over the vehicle.

brembo-disc-brakes

As a symbol of Mitsubishi Motors DNA, the engineers at Mitsubishi Motors spared no efforts in redesigning the suspension of the new Lancer Evolution – the result is a new suspension system equipped with Brembo ventilated disc brakes, Eibach coil springs complete with Bilstein shock absorbers, 18-inch BBS lightweight alloy wheels, MacPherson-strut front suspension and multi-link rear suspension. All these to provide increased stability, enhanced steering response, better control and optimum safety.

7-airbags-system

There is no other more important function of a car than to ensure the safety of its occupants and with the Lancer Evolution, safety is not something that is added but integrated into the car at an integral level. Built around Mitsubishi’s cutting edge RISE (Reinforced Impact Safety Evolution) structure, the body is designed to redirect force from reaching the cabin, ensuring maximum crash protection from all sides of the car. For added protection, the new Lancer Evolution comes with a 7-Airbags System – driver and front passenger SRS airbags, side and curtain airbags and driver knee airbag.

dsc_3441

ELR seatbelt with pre-tensioner and force limiter and HID (High Intensity Discharge) head lamps with AFS (Adaptive Front Lighting System) come standard on the new Lancer Evolution.

lancer-evolution-rear

Every detail of the new Lancer Evolution has been designed as part of the total driving pleasure. Reflecting a lineage that made winning impressions worldwide, the new Lancer Evolution crafts a handsome and functional exterior styling for optimum aerodynamic performance. Its stylish and sleek bodylines, coupled with ample airdams and large rear spoiler works in tandem for maximum control.

dashboard

The Lancer Evolution with a complete premium package comes with Recaro full bucket front seats, multi-mode information display, genuine leather-wrapped 3-spoke steering wheel with mounted audio controls and cruise control buttons and a 9-speaker Rockford Fosgate Premium Sound System. Other functional features include keyless operating system and sunroof.

front-recaro-full-bucket-seat

With the introduction of the new Lancer Evolution, Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia aims to sell 50 units till end of 2008. Owners are assured of an excellent after-sales support and are provided with “Mitsubishi Assist 24” card which offers a host of privileges including 24 hour roadside assistance.

lancer-evolution

The new Lancer Evolution carries a price tag at RM 315,436.10 (On-The-Road without Insurance) and comes with a one year’s warranty or 20,000km, whichever one comes first. The Lancer Evolution X will be available at selected Mitsubishi Motors showroom from 22 August 2008 onwards. Colours available for the new Lancer Evolution are Red Metallic, Phantom Black Pearl and White Solid.

4b11-mivec-turbocharged-engine-for-superior-performance

Mitsubishi Lancer Price List
Selling Price: RM314,457.10
Road Tax: RM379.00
Registration Fee: RM300.00
H.P. Ownership Claim: RM50.00
Inspection & Handling Fees: RM200.00
Number Plates: RM50.00
On The Road Price W/out Insurance: RM315,436.10
Insurance: RM8,451.90
On The Road Price With Insurance: RM323,888.00
Insured Value: RM315,000.00

18-inch-bbs-forged-alloy-wheels-with-air-outlets

Equipment & Standard Accessories Included in Selling Price:

1. 6-speed TC-SST (Twin Clutch Sport Shift Transmission) with magnesium paddle shifters
  2. Front and rear Eibach coil spring and BILSTEIN shock absorbers
  3. S-AWC (Super All Wheel Control) System
  4. Brembo 4-wheel ventilated disc brakes
  5. 18-inch BBS forged aluminium allow wheels
  6. 7-Airbag system
  7. Adaptive Front-lighting System (AFS) with High Intensity Discharge (HID) headlamps
  8. Aluminium hood with large air outlet/Aluminium blistered fenders
  9. Electrical slide and tilt sunroof
  10. 3-spoke sport type leather wrapped steering wheel with audio and auto-cruise control
  11. Multi-information display
  12. Auto rain sensing wipers
  13. RECARO full bucket leather combination racing front seats
  14. Fully automatic air-conditioner
  15. Keyless operation system
  16. Rockford Fosgate premium audio system with 650W amplifier and 9 speakers

Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution X Launch

DSC_3399DSC_3414DSC_3441DSC_3413DSC_3427DSC_3445DSC_3432DSC_3415DSC_3412DSC_3442DSC_3429DSC_3425DSC_3447DSC_3397DSC_3444

Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution X Gallery
Gear Shift LeverLancer Evolution with Aggressive BodyworksAluminium Rear Spoiler18 inch BBS Forged Alloy Wheels with Air OutletsACD - Active Centre DifferentialMIVEC SystemLancer Evolution - Phantom Black PearlLarge Dual Exhaust Pipes with Black Air DiffuserLancer Evolution4B11 MIVEC Turbocharged EngineTitanium Turbine Wheel with Aluminium Compressor WheelHigh Contrast Instrumental ClusterS-AWC Indicator4B11 MIVEC Turbocharged Engine for Superior PerformanceLancer Evolution - SideAuto Shifting with Twin Clutch SST ModeChrome Plated Large Dual Exhaust Pipes with Black Air DiffuserGear Shift Lever with Twin Clutch SSTTwin Clutch SystemLancer Evolution - Front QuarterS-AWC SystemRECARO Full Bucket SeatLancer Evolution - RearLancer Evolution in the horizon7-Airbags SystemSunroofAluminium Bonnet with Air Inlet and OutletsLeather Steering WheelLancer Evolution - FrontAYC - Active Yaw ControlLancer Evolution - DoubleHigh Rigidity BodyFront RECARO Full Bucket SeatTwin Clutch SST ModeBrembo Disc Brakes

J
  • J
    jay_ek9
  • Aug 21, 2008
finally.... when the whole world got used of the evo X..... it comes here
N
  • N
    netmatrix
  • Aug 21, 2008
Woooo.... RM315K...... 1 year warranty only?
S
  • S
    shiraballistic
  • Aug 22, 2008
netmatrix you forgot to mention Insurance: RM8,451.90 ... now that's wow .....
W
  • W
    WilliamChong
  • Aug 22, 2008
For a sports car/ performance car...the ride height abit high...should set it lower for better handling and looks...cheers!!!
X
  • X
    xenith
  • Aug 22, 2008
I'm guessing 1 year warranty cos Evo owners just can't wait to void the warranty....
R
  • R
    roy_fatboy
  • Aug 22, 2008
320k is not that bad for a starting price..
hope to see one very soon.. Malaysia is so full of rich bastards.. hehehe..
T
  • T
    taos
  • Aug 22, 2008
omg~that is so expensive after gov tax...
hopefully our govement can fastest cancel the Tax...
A
  • A
    amdfaisal
  • Aug 22, 2008
cancel the tax... u must be dreaming :)
I
  • I
  • Aug 22, 2008
According to Tiff Needle, this car won't be doing too many handbrake turns. Heh!

What a car. But would it seriously be worth that much more if you can get the Type-R for a whole 100k cheaper?
N
  • N
    nakata86
  • Aug 22, 2008
with the economy so bad these days i wonder if they would even manage to sell to their targeted amount of sales.
F
  • F
    farique
  • Aug 22, 2008
300K is the standard price. But it is 20K more expensive than the previous E9 which was sold for 280K range when it was launched few years ago.

FD2R has unlimited supplies? I thought we are limited up to 40 units only? And most of them are already bought off from Honda dealers. :?
S
  • S
    savahn
  • Aug 22, 2008
On The Road Price With Insurance: RM323,888.00

Can buy nice terrace house... landed property...

this car might have central locking and power windows but it dont have toilet or shower...

Its not worth it. Wish I was in Oz suddenly.
P
  • P
    pandaB
  • Aug 22, 2008
no manual box ? daaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaamn
J
  • J
    JINEIL2EN
  • Aug 22, 2008
...waiting for grey importer.... sure much more cheaper... & full spec as well....

i wan the side window's air bag... next time can sleep well in car...
A
  • A
    aku_sangap
  • Aug 22, 2008
i still prefer the old evo...evo 6 TME...eheheheh....
L
  • L
    LOL
  • Aug 23, 2008
evo 9 still 10 x better
S
  • S
    skazareth
  • Aug 23, 2008
i really2 agree with LOL... EVO 9 far more better and macho.... and the price for it now is cheaper (yea bcs it is 2nd hand..:P)
S
  • S
    skazareth
  • Aug 23, 2008
but i dont agree when ppl coming with comparing car with landed property. my advice is, dont even bother this forum if wanna talk about properties. sure everybody know landed property and car has enormous different in term of depreciation but for petrolheads with a thick wallet..do they care about buying landed terrace?! heck! they already have a 4 storey bungalows or a slick penthouse at Drby park..
L
  • L
    LOL
  • Aug 23, 2008
yea...just buy a house before u buy a car...u can live in ur house for life..but u cant live in ur car for life
D
  • D
    Dan
  • Aug 24, 2008
Whats the deal with the back seats? There must be a 2 seater version... What kind of sports car has rear seats? Alamak better buy a family car. Sports cars have 2 seats...

Also how heavy is this thing? It must be like driving a tank LOL...
P
  • P
    PutraEvo
  • Aug 24, 2008
i still prefer the previous batches especially evo 7 8 9. they differ from the lancer, at least we preserve Evo's identity from lancer.
This Evo 10 i think most of them will use lancer and then modify to at least imitate the exterior, just buy the bodykit, turbokit...all costs than 50k.
Just like satria owners change themselves into satria Gti..thats it.
P
  • P
    PutraEvo
  • Aug 24, 2008
just we cant change it into real full time 4 wd...but who cares...people c only front mounted intercooler...
Fwd always picks up better than 4 wd intown...
A
  • A
    ah keat
  • Aug 24, 2008
lan ciow ah them make this car look similar to lancer.. what de fuck lah... stupid people
F
  • F
    farique
  • Aug 24, 2008
hahahaha.. :lol:

I agree, Mitsubishi should've come up with different design for Evolution line ups. Just like what 7, 8, and 9 has. They are totally different from the Lancer model which makes them stands on their own.

I'm sure there'll be loads of Lancer GT imitates EvoX's bodykit and those who are hardcore enough, they'll turbocharge the 2.0 NA lump with huge front mounted intercooler. People will easily mistaken it for an EvoX. :P
L
  • L
    LOL
  • Aug 24, 2008
sports car doesnt need to exclude backseat...then u consider the GTR a family car?..LOL
S
  • S
    skazareth
  • Aug 24, 2008
hehehehe...once again agree with this guy lah.. :D
R
  • R
    ray
  • Aug 24, 2008
i heard 30 already snaped by malaysian....after the launching....
u guys still want the jurassic ages of car... grow up man
L
  • L
    LOL
  • Aug 24, 2008
i will stick to my iswara..best for town driving...road tax and insurance also cheap...give ppl bang also not sakit hati .....pak lah say petrol price increase also wont bother me much.......and i think pick up also faster than evo x.....LOL (dream on).....how can evo x compare to my bebeh???
B
  • B
    BudDy
  • Oct 26, 2008
RM323,888............... what a massive amount of mney... mitsubishi lancer 2.0GT also ok..... but i prefer evolution X more.... what an excellent design mitsubishi has come out with agressive stairs.
B
This car absolutely furious...
Mitsu suppose to built in de NOS for this evo x so that De taikun who are using this car can run away after the M'sian police...(This statements suggested after KPN Tan Sri Musa announced that M'sian Police will have the Evo x around 10 units cumin soon. Walawehh!!!)
P/s: Aware of the red light huhuhu...
F
  • F
    fiz
  • Aug 14, 2009
i hope,the government reduce tax after this,and that is what we can call "1 perpaduan" dan rakyat ingin kan..
S
  • S
    sta
  • Aug 27, 2009
u must upgrade the hp otherwise cannot run away from polis
M
My brother recommended I would possibly like this web site. He was once totally right. This publish actually made my day. You can not consider simply how much time I had spent for this information! Thank you!
E
  • E
    EvoX
  • Aug 27, 2012
RM323,888.00 = too expensive for 70% of malaysian people~
E