Zerotohundred.com  
Home Features News Forums The Marketplace Showcase Videos
Go Back   Zerotohundred.com > Car Manufacturers > Toyota
Connect with Facebook

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-05-2010
50bhp Junior

Default Re: What Standalone ECU is better?

Quote:
Originally Posted by frecoz View Post
is it ok for me to get used standalone? i have heard someone said want to sold freedom ecu for 2.5k.. dyno for 500 doesnt enough? how much actually for tuning and installed? which ecu were the best? because i think, after having some cash, i prefer to upgrade the cam+piston+trd clutch(because for road used).. hehehe.. by the way, mine is blacktop..

i heard emanage can only set 16++ but ultimate 36++? is it true?
how about the ignition & injector harness?? did i have to installed it too if i get standalone??
how about fpr? what is that? because i read somewhere and he told that 'fpr'.. thanks guys..
FPR = Fuel Pressure Regulator. u already have it (-fuel regulator RJ type)

Quote:
im getting standalone because i think standlaone is just fine to tune because it make for one car only, not universal like emanage and safc...=)
Not ALL standalones are for specific cars except for Apexi's Power FC. Popular brands like motec, haltech, microtech and adaptronic for standalones for universal engines. i personally like adaptronic tho. they from australia, they are cheaper than most standalones and we got few good tuners in sunway/KL.

i agree with sy_omar, ryzzal and nappx. mod your engine first with parts that can provide u real HP/torque figures. For eg. extractors, cams, pulleys, valves and valve springs, port-polish head, 6 speed gearbox. OR EVEN BOLT-ON-TURBO!!! 17" wheels won't give u HP tho :p
After that only install piggybacks or standalones. u don't wanna re-tune each time u made some mods. if u got the time and money then i got nothing to say la.

i think piggybacks still be able to accomodate the i mentioned mods above. unichip is obviously better compared to emanage blue but not sure about ultimate tho. they still work nicely for daily street driving and playing around once in a while.

don't be disappointed if u get 5-10 HP by spending 4-5k on standalone with your current setup. u can actually get more than that HP by using ur budget on your engine mods first noticibly on JASMA extractor, pnp head and oversized pistons. they are proven

Last edited by j_l200s; 02-05-2010 at 12:11 PM..
Send User a Private Message Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to j_l200s For This Useful Post:
frecoz (02-05-2010)
Old 02-06-2010
200bhp Stage II Member

Send a message via Yahoo to glanza

agreed with they all..frecoz, i think u shud improve your parts first..do your head first, with 5k spend to your head, yam..yam..speechless huhu
Old 02-06-2010
200bhp Stage II Member

Send a message via MSN to frecoz Send a message via Yahoo to frecoz

thanks guys... looks like everybody want me to spend on head first, then the head will it be.. =) for now i think i just want to put emanage.. ^_^
Old 02-06-2010
900bhp Member

Send a message via Yahoo to n0th1n

hehehe.
"? or live with sucks performance?"
oit, im using freedom now weh!!!!

let me give different opinion.
toyota restrict our engine's performance about 10-15%. how? they downtune it using the ecu. u want to unleash the 10% performance? want 100% performance, go for management, whether it is piggyback or standalone. 165hp at flywheel at factory, 10% is 180hp at flywheel, 130hp at the wheel, will increase till 143 hp at wheel.
in order to get that so called 10%, tuning is another "pecah kepala" issue. mechanical tuning, and electrical tuning is related but different specialist. cam setting, timing adjustments are some example of mechanical tuning that sometimes, one person will say setting A, other person will say setting B, but both are just adjusting the distributor only.

durability is the issue after that.

good, u are doing ur homework. dont buy stuff that u dont know the functionality, cost involved and the after effect (like me lah!)
The Following User Says Thank You to n0th1n For This Useful Post:
frecoz (02-06-2010)
Old 02-06-2010
200bhp Stage II Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by n0th1n View Post
hehehe.
"? or live with sucks performance?"
oit, im using freedom now weh!!!!

let me give different opinion.
toyota restrict our engine's performance about 10-15%. how? they downtune it using the ecu. u want to unleash the 10% performance? want 100% performance, go for management, whether it is piggyback or standalone. 165hp at flywheel at factory, 10% is 180hp at flywheel, 130hp at the wheel, will increase till 143 hp at wheel.
in order to get that so called 10%, tuning is another "pecah kepala" issue. mechanical tuning, and electrical tuning is related but different specialist. cam setting, timing adjustments are some example of mechanical tuning that sometimes, one person will say setting A, other person will say setting B, but both are just adjusting the distributor only.

durability is the issue after that.

good, u are doing ur homework. dont buy stuff that u dont know the functionality, cost involved and the after effect (like me lah!)
so u r using freedom? any different from emanage?
actually i want to put standalone because i want to save my standard 6speed ecu.. if anything short circuit or whatsoever, i still have a standard backup ecu.. thats the main purpose actually..

r u agreed with me by 1.5k to spend on emanage and other 1.5k spend on my engine?
or just go for standalone?(which means expensive for nothing?) hehe.. thanks..
Old 02-06-2010
200bhp Stage II Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by frecoz View Post
so u r using freedom? any different from emanage?
actually i want to put standalone because i want to save my standard 6speed ecu.. if anything short circuit or whatsoever, i still have a standard backup ecu.. thats the main purpose actually..

r u agreed with me by 1.5k to spend on emanage and other 1.5k spend on my engine?
or just go for standalone?(which means expensive for nothing?) hehe.. thanks..
i agreed! hehe
Old 02-06-2010
200bhp Stage II Member

haihzz.. what im gonna do with 1.5 for my engine?? urghhh.. in my mind, i just can change to trd clutch for that money.. LOLZ.. still doesnt increase my hp lor.. kuikuikui..

oversize piston (.5mm) = $1200(i have to bore the block too? or just put in on just like that?)
toda cam+spring+pulley = $5800
acl racing bearing = $600
ANYONE WANT TO SELL CHEAP2?? USED ONE?? =P
Old 02-07-2010
50bhp Junior

Can change lightened flywheel make you easier to rev
Old 02-08-2010
50bhp Junior

1.5k for engine? i think oversized 81.25/81.50mm piston+rings is rm680 only la... and yes, u have to re-bore your block. conrod and main bearings i dunno the price. try use trd 0.8mm metal head gasket too, i think around 300+ per piece. u can get these stuffs above from wira_tak_laju. previously i bought from him. the balance of the 1.5k u can pay for labour and block re-bore charges :D

if so headache, just go pnp your head.

refer to this post. http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforu...iston-art.html
Old 02-08-2010
300bhp Nitrous Member

wah, 20v fit in 16v low compression piston? Didn't know this can work ..

frecoz,
There is many ways to go around without touching the ECU unit. 140whp can be done with stock engine (internals untouch) and stock ECU (without piggyback) .. Tweaks and treats only .. Have you dyno your car ?
Old 02-08-2010
50bhp Junior

km_chew, wah!! 20v fit in 16v low comp can work............................ if u wanna turbo charged it.

try scrolling down a bit more of that thread and u'll see more info of what i'm trying to say.

Last edited by j_l200s; 02-08-2010 at 12:24 PM..
Old 02-08-2010
700bhp Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by km_chew View Post
There is many ways to go around without touching the ECU unit. 140whp can be done with stock engine (internals untouch) and stock ECU (without piggyback) ..
Boss.... this I want to hear. Time to reveal your secrets!
Old 02-08-2010
200bhp Stage II Member

yaa i want to know too!!
Old 02-08-2010
300bhp Nitrous Member

Am i right to say, stock BT's whp is 128 - 135 ?

hehe ..
Old 02-08-2010
200bhp Stage II Member

yes but how to get 5hp more? 5hp is so valuable for NA..help us la chew huhu

Zerotohundred.com > Car Manufacturers > Toyota