09-25-2008, 02:28 PM
|
|
5bhp Stock
|
mr2 engine swap
|
|
dear sifus, my mr2 sw20 engine already kong...now really have to change to a new engine..could the new celica engine(2ZZ-ge) fit in my car..if cannot,what other engine could fit in my car..prefer N/A..
|
|
|
09-25-2008, 02:39 PM
|
|
2000bhp Senior
|
Re: mr2 engine swap
|
|
bro, u can refer the MR2 thread..try locate it & you may find the answer there...
|
|
|
09-25-2008, 02:59 PM
|
|
900bhp Member
|
|
|
Best N/a in the market is the Beams but that hard to come by so next best thing is to get a 180bhp N/A. Or you can also do a camry V6 conversion
|
|
|
09-25-2008, 03:26 PM
|
|
150bhp Tuned Member
|
|
|
go for the revision 3 3sge.
|
My Signature |
|
Brake, Shift down, Turn in and floor it out of the corner! hahaha
This is your life, and it's ending one minute at a time.
“...when the fight begins within himself, a man's worth something.”* -Robert Browning,
Bishop Blougram's Apology, 1855
You're not your job.*
You're not how much money you have in the bank.*
You're not the car you drive.*
You're not the contents of your wallet.
You're not your farking khakis.*
You're the all-singing, all-dancing crap of the world.
This is your life, and it's ending one minute at a time.
“...when the fight begins within himself, a man's worth something.”* -Robert Browning,
Bishop Blougram's Apology, 1855
You're not your job.*
You're not how much money you have in the bank.*
You're not the car you drive.*
You're not the contents of your wallet.
You're not your farking khakis.*
You're the all-singing, all-dancing crap of the world.
09-25-2008, 10:55 PM
|
|
5bhp Stock
|
|
|
thanx
will try and look for it
price wise?for the beams engine
|
|
|
09-26-2008, 04:03 PM
|
|
5bhp Stock
|
|
|
sifus ive done my researh..seems that the beams engine(3SGE) is nice..question is
1)how hard is it to get the engine?
2)is it just drop in swap?
3)can the engine from celica fit mr2..cause the engine model same number..altezza also using 3sge engine if im not wrong..
4)lastly,gearbox which 1 do i need to use..same halfcut gears or my old gear
|
|
|
09-26-2008, 04:07 PM
|
|
5bhp Stock
|
|
|
sifus ive done my researh..seems that the beams engine(3SGE) is nice..question is
1)how hard is it to get the engine?
2)is it just drop in swap?
3)can the engine from celica fit mr2..cause the engine model same number..altezza also using 3sge engine if im not wrong..
4)lastly,gearbox which 1 do i need to use..same halfcut gears or my old gear
|
|
|
09-26-2008, 05:19 PM
|
|
900bhp Member
|
|
|
Tom's!!!! :-)
|
|
|
09-27-2008, 05:45 AM
|
|
150bhp Tuned Member
|
|
|
1)its very hard to get as they only made 1000 units and its all over the world by now
2)its a drop in swap but you need to get all the wiring and ECUs' to come back from the halfcut
3)celica engine have to do mods but im not so sure how compatible cuz i think the ECU is different (not sure)
4)u can use your old gearbox BUT its better to use the gearbox which came back with the halfcut cuz its got better ratios
=D
thats about all i can give to your questions
but my recommendation is to save $$$ by getting the revision 3 halfcut NA if you want to keep it an NA. its a pretty good engine (from experience) and the half cut is cheap! and it gives you spare cash for MODS hehehe with a little tuning the engine is very nice =)
Last edited by LA53OKD; 09-27-2008 at 05:47 AM.
|
My Signature |
|
09-27-2008, 11:44 AM
|
|
5bhp Stock
|
|
|
how about the camry v6 engine?
|
|
|
09-27-2008, 02:02 PM
|
|
150bhp Tuned Member
|
|
|
if you can find it then go ahead but there will be mods that you have to do to fit it in. not so simple so u need to make sure you find someone who can do it right. the camry v6 is a 3 litre tho so road tax will be higher and also fuel consumption but ofcourse having that engine in our cars would be superb. handling would be different tho cuz as you increase the weight at the back youre going to get more understeer and bigger snaps of oversteer. it all depends on what youre going to use the car for =)
|
My Signature |
|
09-29-2008, 01:01 AM
|
|
5bhp Stock
|
|
|
i want the engine to be simple and got power...how about altezza engine..could i just drop in the engine as its the same model 3sge..anyone have tried it before??but i thing tranny surely got problems..
|
|
|
09-29-2008, 01:39 AM
|
|
150bhp Tuned Member
|
|
|
yeah it would be a problem as its an FR engine. if you want simple and powerful then get the 245 engine and keep it stock la.
| |