How I blew by RB26DETT....please share - Page 3 - Zerotohundred.com
Zerotohundred.com
Home Features News Forums The Marketplace Showcase Videos TIMETOATTACK! Store!
Go Back   Zerotohundred.com > Car Clubs > Car Club Categories > The Malaysian Skyline Club

Poll: How my RB26DETT blew............
Poll Options
How my RB26DETT blew............

LinkBack Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-01-2012, 08:40 PM   #31

Liked: 645 / 262 Posts
Default Re: How I blew by RB26DETT....please share

Don't drive like me. Confirm save your engine.
[PIMPIN] is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
(0)
Old 08-02-2012, 08:36 AM   #32
250bhp Stage II Member

Liked: 101 / 34 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by [PIMPIN] View Post
I feel the same about my driving. In hindsight, regular sessions of maintaining high boost high rpm driving on MEX isn't the best way of preserving our engines.
gobiz2 is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
(0)
Old 08-02-2012, 09:35 AM   #33
1000bhp Senior

Liked: 614 / 147 Posts
Garage

Quote:
relating to blowing engines, ur a gone case bro. no fully built engines can withstand the might of [PIMPIN].

Quote:
Originally Posted by gobiz2 View Post
I feel the same about my driving. In hindsight, regular sessions of maintaining high boost high rpm driving on MEX isn't the best way of preserving our engines.
u pulak, it's the case of using stock oil pump. unless u drive like [PIMPIN], i don't think the way u drive would be able to blow an RB30 just like that.
Old 08-02-2012, 10:29 AM   #34
150bhp Tuned Member

Liked: 43 / 37 Posts

If you guys wan to look for Nissan specialist, best to look for Onward Motorsports in Puchong.
nyantong is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
(0)
Old 08-02-2012, 01:10 PM   #35

Quote:
Originally Posted by Temujin View Post
u pulak, it's the case of using stock oil pump. unless u drive like [PIMPIN], i don't think the way u drive would be able to blow an RB30 just like that.
LOL I missed the regularpart!

Actually the weakness of the stock oil pump has been exaggerated because they aren't that weak. It took me a long time to blow an engine due to stock oil pump failing and even my recent efforts on Sepang no less did not kill the oil pump and over 8000rpm was something I do a lot on the street on a regular basis as it is.

It was sustained high revs over an extended period that killed my oil pump and we're talking outstation drives, constantly maintaining a high speed not a brief flirtation with the limiter once in awhile.
(0)
Old 08-02-2012, 01:32 PM   #36
250bhp Stage II Member

Liked: 101 / 34 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Temujin View Post
My Nissan standard oilpump is actually FINE!

I am pretty sure that my engine failure was caused by oil starvation, where when high rpms are maintained, A LOT of the engine oil goes to the cylinder head and does not return quickly back into the block.

It can also be caused by the oil pickup pipe being exposed due to high G-forces during hard acceleration or cornering.

Hence the engine bearings are starved of oil, leading to friction and displacement.

Same thing occurred to the RB30 engine in the green Z31.

Highly tuned RB engines probably will benefit from a rear oil return and sump baffle.

Quote:

Actually the weakness of the stock oil pump has been exaggerated because they aren't that weak. It took me a long time to blow an engine due to stock oil pump failing and even my recent efforts on Sepang no less did not kill the oil pump and over 8000rpm was something I do a lot on the street on a regular basis as it is.

It was sustained high revs over an extended period that killed my oil pump and we're talking outstation drives, constantly maintaining a high speed not a brief flirtation with the limiter once in awhile.
Yes, agreed.
gobiz2 is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
(0)
Old 08-02-2012, 02:30 PM   #37

Actually the Zed with the RB30 blew because the car went out on track with less than usual engine oil so it was a gamble and a mistake to begin with - would have killed any engine in those circumstances not just an RB.

But a sump baffle is cheap insurance to begin with if anyone wants to track the car regularly or is addicted to fast Sunday morning runs up mountain roads with high speed corners etc. Ideally one would have an extended sump fitted since the sump baffle plate on its own would be a waste of labour costs. Might as well kill two birds with one stone.

Last edited by [PIMPIN]; 08-02-2012 at 02:34 PM.
(0)
Old 08-03-2012, 10:02 AM   #38

Liked: 29 / 25 Posts
Send a message via MSN to bangkai_jk

Quote:

Last edited by bangkai_jk; 08-03-2012 at 10:18 AM.
bangkai_jk is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
(0)
Old 08-03-2012, 11:24 AM   #39

Liked: 31 / 26 Posts

Quote:
Actually the Zed with the RB30 blew because the car went out on track with less than usual engine oil so it was a gamble and a mistake to begin with - would have killed any engine in those circumstances not just an RB.

But a sump baffle is cheap insurance to begin with if anyone wants to track the car regularly or is addicted to fast Sunday morning runs up mountain roads with high speed corners etc. Ideally one would have an extended sump fitted since the sump baffle plate on its own would be a waste of labour costs. Might as well kill two birds with one stone.
Sifus, so changing the stock oil pan to extended oil sump is more vital than changing the oil pump + doing crank collar in this case? i'm in the middle of trying to figure out what the first thing i need to do on my stock 26 to reduce the risk of oiling problem.
kanan is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
(0)
Old 08-03-2012, 11:39 AM   #40

Quote:
Originally Posted by kanan View Post
Sifus, so changing the stock oil pan to extended oil sump is more vital than changing the oil pump + doing crank collar in this case? i'm in the middle of trying to figure out what the first thing i need to do on my stock 26 to reduce the risk of oiling problem.
That's not quite what I was getting at. It's best to have both if budget allows for it because even with a better oil pump, the amount of oil the stock sump can support leaves much room for improvement.

Plus, sump baffles are cheap so to make the most of your labour costs would be a good idea to get an extended sump which although can cost a few thousand is not as expensive as a replacement engine.

In a perfect world, you'd have the oil pump and crank collar, extended sump and baffle done all at once.
(0)
The Following User Likes [PIMPIN] For This Useful Post:
kanan (08-03-2012)

Zerotohundred.com > Car Clubs > Car Club Categories > The Malaysian Skyline Club

Previous: Previous Thread | Next Thread :Next
Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Latest Posts
  [Wts]Proton Wira Logo Emblem
Last Post Today 07:19 PM
  [Wts]SARD R2D2 Blow Off Valve
Last Post Today 07:07 PM
Standalone ecu
Last Post Today 05:20 PM
Bridgestone MY02 price and review
Last Post Today 07:38 PM

2000 - 2012 Zerotohundred.com - The Automotive Lifestyle Network | Tags | Terms of Use | Visitor Agreement | Privacy Policy | Contact Us | Privacy Statement | Top