08-29-2008, 10:05 PM
|
|
5bhp Stock
|
alignment error??!
|
|
hi mates, time for a lil' input again. :)
just change my tires and as usual, alignment done. and found that the car kindda shaking a little bit terrifying, but it's weird, increasing speed to 130kmph the car is so smooth, and when it's decreased to around 100 to 110kmph, car start to shake and so noticable until my steering wheel making shaking sounds. try few times and same result,
speeding time normal but slowing down time problems come.
any experienced sifu here can give piece of mind? izzit mounting? bushes? or just plainly due to alignment???
thanks all ya!
|
|
|
08-29-2008, 11:26 PM
|
|
250bhp Stage II Member
|
Re: alignment error??!
|
|
hmm.. exact same issue with my car...only started once i changed rims n tires.. the shaking not as bad as yours ... and I thought i could neglect the issue till one fine rainy day my car spun out of control during acceleration at 120+ kmh... Thankfully I managed to gain control of the car after a few seconds... and I didnt hit anything... so no damage was done... Did balancing the very next day.. didnt help much... Got alignment done.. seems to have corrected the issue...... Hopefully this info will be able to help... mine's a gtt btw... so might be different for ur gtr.. I'm not too sifuish to be able to say for sure.. just sharing my exp :) cheers..
|
|
|
08-29-2008, 11:38 PM
|
|
500bhp Stage 3 Member
|
|
|
hmm u try few times same shop?I got experience before but due to alignment machine and bad workmanship.
Mostly alignment machine not include spec for Skyline(Different model R32,R33 or R34 different spec).Mostly the alignment ppl just take normal car like Cefiro to align my car.So frusted few times till then i saw the spec they used.....
The alignment machine data can be update.Steering vibrate mostly because of bad wheel balancing machine/labour.Mostly old machine is out of accuracy and never maintain well here(Malaysia)
Joethurr:
Wow tht`s scary bro.But i think it`s because of `Hydrolift`Phenomenon which accure when u hit a water pole wth WIDE thread tyres (less thread/high speed) since u said just change rims.
Std mostly 235 GTR 215 GTS ...i guess u change to 255 at back or 265 WIDEST.It also happen to me few times...just be careful bro.Cheers!
Last edited by kaminari; 08-30-2008 at 09:20 AM.
|
|
|
08-30-2008, 08:05 AM
|
|
5bhp Stock
|
|
|
wow, so terrifying experience. was speeding last weekend during rainy day to see if the tire doing fine, coz it claims to be rainy conditioned. and well, besides the vibration, everything was fine. now will pull back my foot. hah...
actually this is the 1st time aligning, only got the car a year ago and this is 1st time changing tire. so, done it in ipoh and not sure about all the workmanship. am planning to re-align next week in kl, got any suggestion with friendly mechanics who wouldnt mind sharing and help finding out the root if it's not due to alignment, which i fear the most, unknown causes! :)
cheers mates, great shared exp. , will take note on that.
|
|
|
08-30-2008, 12:06 PM
|
|
250bhp Stage II Member
|
|
|
It was kinda harrowing experience...lost confidence in the cars handling for a few days...Valuable lesson learned... thankfully I didnt have to pay any cost for this lesson. Tire width is 245.. wont be doing that ever again...
kaminari: Agree with you... not every shop is able to do skyline alignment...and most of the balancing machines are not well maintained....
btw... anyone knows where I can remap my ecu? still on stock ecu... I believe it needs remapping as I have changed a lot of parts recently...the ecu doesnt seem to be picking up well on the changes...
|
|
|
08-30-2008, 12:14 PM
|
|
450bhp Turbo Member
|
|
|
Alignment is one of the most important thing to do to really want to enjoy the handling of the Skylines. I usually does mine in Pandan Indah. Better if you know some technical aspect of camber, toe and caster adjustments. The shop i go to is experienced since i have very little problem with my setup, and using the latest equipment (some laser reflect stuff - wireless).
Maybe post up what your settings now so that everyone here can give an advice.
|
My Signature |
|
Grin when you're speeding.....
Smile when you past your mates.....
Laugh when everyone TT together......
08-30-2008, 05:46 PM
|
|
250bhp Stage II Member
|
|
|
DriftMeister bro... U have installed aftermarket cambers on ur ride? or R u still with stock setup?
|
|
|
08-31-2008, 06:11 PM
|
|
450bhp Turbo Member
|
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by joethurr
DriftMeister bro... U have installed aftermarket cambers on ur ride? or R u still with stock setup?
|
I have those including the caster adjustables. Kinda harsh since they are all pillow ball instead of rubber bush.
How about u?
|
My Signature |
|
Grin when you're speeding.....
Smile when you past your mates.....
Laugh when everyone TT together......
09-02-2008, 01:55 PM
|
|
250bhp Stage II Member
|
|
|
mine is currently still fully stock...
|
|
|
09-03-2008, 10:49 PM
|
|
5bhp Stock
|
|
|
theres so many reasons as to y it wud vibrate.
tie rod end bushes, rack and pinion bushes, flat spot on tyres etc....my steering wheel used to vibrate above 100km/h as wel as downhill braking. it turned out to be worn bushes. got them replaced with polyurethrane ones. feels solid now.
wheel alignment does not cause steering wheel to vibrate. its wheel balancing. if it only recently started to shake after u went to the tyre shop, i recommend u to go back there and have ur wheel balanced.
or worse, ur wheel nuts werent tightened.
|
|
|
09-04-2008, 03:28 PM
|
|
50bhp Junior
|
|
|
btw... anyone knows where I can remap my ecu? still on stock ecu... I believe it needs remapping as I have changed a lot of parts recently...the ecu doesnt seem to be picking up well on the changes...[/quote]
Bud
Emanage at GT Auto. Its a cheap good tune up and it can maximise all the mods you have now in the car. Forget bout the chips or remap or SAFC. Go for the emanage.
|
My Signature |
|
Drove:
Nissan Sunny 130Y Extra
Wira 1.3/ 1.5/ GSR Turbo
Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 2
Nissan 180 SX
Wira 1.8
Civic EG6 Vtec
Satria GTI Turbo
BMW E39 M sport
Driving:
Skyline R33 GTS
KE70 4AGE
I love my nasi lemak, roti canai and nasi goreng cina
09-04-2008, 03:31 PM
|
|
50bhp Junior
|
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by picks
hi mates, time for a lil' input again. :)
just change my tires and as usual, alignment done. and found that the car kindda shaking a little bit terrifying, but it's weird, increasing speed to 130kmph the car is so smooth, and when it's decreased to around 100 to 110kmph, car start to shake and so noticable until my steering wheel making shaking sounds. try few times and same result,
speeding time normal but slowing down time problems come.
any experienced sifu here can give piece of mind? izzit mounting? bushes? or just plainly due to alignment???
thanks all ya!
|
Bud
Sounds like wheel balancing. For bushes etc, if worn, it will keep vibrating all the way not like your car where at 130km it stops shaking. A quick tyre balance should cure it. Wont be alignment as this should see your ride going left and right unassisted.
|
My Signature |
|
Drove:
Nissan Sunny 130Y Extra
Wira 1.3/ 1.5/ GSR Turbo
Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 2
Nissan 180 SX
Wira 1.8
Civic EG6 Vtec
Satria GTI Turbo
BMW E39 M sport
Driving:
Skyline R33 GTS
KE70 4AGE
09-04-2008, 03:36 PM
|
|
50bhp Junior
|
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by joethurr
hmm.. exact same issue with my car...only started once i changed rims n tires.. the shaking not as bad as yours ... and I thought i could neglect the issue till one fine rainy day my car spun out of control during acceleration at 120+ kmh... Thankfully I managed to gain control of the car after a few seconds... and I didnt hit anything... so no damage was done... Did balancing the very next day.. didnt help much... Got alignment done.. seems to have corrected the issue...... Hopefully this info will be able to help... mine's a gtt btw... so might be different for ur gtr.. I'm not too sifuish to be able to say for sure.. just sharing my exp :) cheers..
|
Yo Joe,
Dont blame the Skyline man. Its just the rain and wide tyres lah. I would suggest you find a long straight road, do a few drags in the rain, find out your limit, and not go over it. Even better if you can go to sepang track in the rain. Losing control of the car is normal, it getting it back which is where the fun is. The Skyline is a very forgiving car giving you alot of warning before it bites you. So enjoy it in the dry or wet. hehheheh
|
My Signature |
|
Drove:
Nissan Sunny 130Y Extra
Wira 1.3/ 1.5/ GSR Turbo
Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 2
Nissan 180 SX
Wira 1.8
Civic EG6 Vtec
Satria GTI Turbo
BMW E39 M sport
Driving:
Skyline R33 GTS
KE70 4AGE
09-04-2008, 07:19 PM
|
|
250bhp Stage II Member
|
|
|
bro.. not blaming the car one bit.. thought the badly aligned wheels did contribute slightly.. The main contributor to the incident was me + the rain... was pushing the car a bit coming out of a corner...anyways bro.. lesson learned...
|
|
|
|