Sorry for lack of replies, things do get hectic at times especially this past week I've had quite a lot on my plate. Thanks in advance to all that have chosen to reply - I have to say you each have valid points/reasons based on past experiences, etc. And I also agree that when it comes to taking RB's up just one more notch then its a whole different ballgame - both local workmanship and the $$$ involved.
I'm leaning towards a local rebuild atm - not because of the price but due to the fact that the current relationship I have with my tuner/mechanic is at a point where I trust them to do the right thing should things go sour. This they have proven to be true beyond all doubt, and despite their relative lack of experience compared to the Japanese or some may argue other local mechanics - I guess the most important thing is who you are most comfortable with handing over your hand earned dollars to at the end of the day.
Right now I'll most likely be going for a HKS 2.8 Step 3 kit. Currently, I have what you could consider quite a list of modifications except for aftermarket oil pump which I rather stupidly neglected the first time. The car has everything at the moment - HKS GT-RS turbos, HKS 1000cc injectors, HKS suction kit, HKS fuel pump, HKS fuel rail, HKS 264 cams, HKS cam gears, HKS oil and intercoolers, HKS twin plate clutch, Apexi Power-FC (D-Jetro) etc all of which was changed when the car arrived in Malaysia despite it having aftermarket turbos, etc.
So what I have decided is to go for the 2.8 stroker, get it tuned with the current turbos and run in the engine for a few months. If I'm happy and engine stays together then I'll swap in a triple plate clutch, upgrade fueling system and go for a single turbo set-up. Time will tell - for all I know, GT-RS with the extra displacement is the answer to all my needs.
Again, as mentioned, this being an online community with emphasis on knowledge sharing, I appreciate all replies and if time permits, I will create another thread focused on the rebuild and my experiences, expectations along the way.
Edit: Added photo - if you zoom you can see the hole in the side of the block. I'll get better pictures - this was just as we got it onto the tow truck.
a complete stroker kit will eliminate the headache of piston/conrod/crank combo selection. dont forget ATI crank damper
anyway bro, at ur power level, please, please, please, regardless of what ur mechanic say, u MUST do all of these oiling mods:
1. sump baffle (tomei sells one)
2. aftermarket oil pump (tomei, hks, jun, trust)
3. oil restrictor to head (tomei too)
4. larger sump (minimum 6-8liters) (trust or custom from aus/nz)
most likely ur mechanic will say that an aftermarket oil pump will be enough but it is better to be safe than sorry. there are a few aussie and newzie sites that sell all of those oiling safety mods parts. i'm sure u know where to order. oil pump for sure can be purchased here.
Now that you mention it bro, I've never realized the AFMs were still plugged in.
They still remain there cause it helps with air filter clearance or else the piping would be too short and the blow off valves are just below them (not visible in pic) - even now you can see where the two filters have been occasionally been rubbing against each other and the underside of the hood.
Anyways, car came from Japan with a regular PowerFC which I sold on these forums and got the D-Jetro instead.
PIMPIN: Theres someone selling his Tomei Derive RB28. white r34. i think with ax or ar60 twin turbo's. Engine shouldnt have high mileage. put in last yr by kee (links).
i don't mean to be an asshole but i would think its wiser not to invest that much on a car.At the end of the day you don't have nothing for yourself, everyone needs to settle down somehow unless lah u don't plan to do that. I might not understand the true passion of a real car enthusiast, sometimes i just think they're sad.(food a problem, wife/kid suffers) Why torment others(just saying lah coz i've seen so many sad case) just to chase a momentary interest?
again, these postulation subject to my own opinion, i don't mean to piss anyone here. Just what i've seen too many people torturing themselves. =( but if ya got very rich parents that somehow u know that when you fall back you have them to carry you up that's a complete different story lah.
i make my own money, i make more than enough but still i wouldn't spend so much on a decremental asset like a car. I guess opinion differs.Others would think otherwise.
anyways to answer your question(lets imagine i am trully a car enthusiast)for a long term investment and ease of mind, my opinion would be to getting the new engine from jpn.
Sorry for lack of replies, my health hasn't been the best lately and my car has not progressed at all since I blew the engine. But now things are improving so I'm back in the car scene (for now!).
Thanks for all the opinions and suggestions, all of which I've carefully considered and very much appreciated. I've decided to rebuild the engine with HKS 2.8 using my current GT-RS set-up for now and once run-in I'll possibly upgrade turbos. I've since downgraded my power goals and instead of silly 750hp atw (I drive this car alot!), I'll settle for something in the 600hp range once completed. I think a T04Z will get me there easily.
Rych - I understand where you're coming from and I too make my own money but I guess I lack the responsibilites such as children, etc (for now!). But at the end of the day, I've modded three cars this past year alone all of which I own outright and have never owed any Bank so far. As for future planning, I was fortunate to have a small inheritence from my grandfather in the form of a tiny studio apartment the moment I turned 18; I know own several properties the most expensive of which is about 4mil. Granted, I had a helping hand at the start but I worked hard in investment banking and got lucky in the stock market and I guess I did not let it all get to my head. Russell knows me somewhat and he can vouch that I'm not some spoilt rich kid, just financially savvy from very young. Again, this is not meant to brag but just so that we're clear - I wouldn't be doing this if I could not afford to do so nor do I have to go to the Banks for any form of financing so its money I can afford to spend on myself (we're all young once!). So no hard feelings, just don't stereotype.
LOL, I regret posting that now but I was feeling somewhat annoyed with the constant stereotypes. Long story short, when market was hot last year I traded hard and I mean very hard (for my circumstances). Basically, most of the time I was risking all I ever had and luckily alot of my bets paid of - I played mostly Mesdaq and on occasion, Main Board and rarely did I bet on call warrants other than Genting's on the eve of them being awarded the Casino in Singapore ;) But a couple months before Elections in March '08 I exited market cause it was all too artificially propped up already (it always is but this was pushing it!) for all the UMNO linked companies to prepare their campaign funds. Plus, last year RPGT was abolished so flipping properties was good for awhile but now property market sucks. If you had the energy, can try buying commercial properties via auction but I'd rather drive a Honda.
Now I'm just a farmer - feed-lotting of cows and hopefully in a month or two might start a kids clothing line but for cool kids. Think Stussy, Billabong, etc for kids at decent prices.
As for BumiAuto, I've had bad experience with them. Wanted to buy 350z last year. Went to see but they wanted deposit of RM20k before I could test drive. And they wanted to make it very hard for me to pay for the car - insisted I pay them in batches of RM50k everyday for 4 days and the fifth day pay the RM30k or so (Total was RM230k). First time I've seen a person refuse receiving payment.
The salesman major commision come from loan and insurance
if for 230k and with min downpayment 30k plus 200k loan
the salesman easily earn RM2k from the loan commision itself
the car commision itself not a lot.
around 300 to 500 depending car
so for your case.. the salesman might earn very little only
hench they look like doesnt want receive your payment
the boss sure happy since cash sale
but salesman sure not happy.