Welcome!
to Zerotohundred.com - The Automotive Lifestyle Network. You are currently an unregistered guest. Why not join Malaysia's largest automotive community? Get your own Member's Profile which immediately grants you access to post topics, classifieds, communicate privately with other members, upload content, find friends and more! Registration also removes this welcome screen permanently.
Welcome!
to Zerotohundred.com - The Automotive Lifestyle Network. You are currently an unregistered guest. Why not join Malaysia's largest automotive community? Get your own Member's Profile which immediately grants you access to post topics, classifieds, communicate privately with other members, upload content, find friends and more!
Registration also removes this welcome screen permanently.
Well, I'll leave the actual build to the pros but I do have an idea of what I want. I'm just curious as to which route others would choose if they were in my situation. Hopefully what I have in mind is doable.
haha..that the hard one - :)..bro u mention u r using GTRS turbo..if u r using twin so no need to upgrade can save ur budget:) estimated twin gtrs capable support almost 800HP!! on engine ..
find RPM2Racing he can help u rebuild engine -from stock to monster
Rebuilding is a matter of luck in getting it right, moreover a proper tune is also something you need to think about. It also applies to importing a brand new Tomei or N1 engine. All it takes is one bad tune to take you back to square one.
If I have the cash let's say 100k, i would try to source a modded halfcut (specially arranged thru the junkyards) with all the goodies which has the turbo(s), wiring, cams, all the pipe work, intercooler, ecu, gearbox, clutch (triple plate?), 320km/h meter, etc etc...if your lucky you may also find the matching rear end. You know how the Jap's loved to mod it to the maximum.
Im sure with the extra $$$ left after the purchase of the halfcut, would be for any parts replacement if it is damaged. This way i have more spares which can sell if not required.
...im just too careful how i spend my hard earned money especially nowadays (need to burn fuel more efficiently). Hope you managed to find your direction. Cheers!
__________________ Grin when you're speeding.....
Smile when you past your mates.....
Laugh when everyone TT together......
No offense Driftmeister but with a 100k, it'll be doltish to be spending that kind of money on a halfcut. Having said how careful you spend your hard earned cash, why risk imperfections and insecurities from halfcuts? For that kind of money you'd be much safer buying a complete engine from a renowned garage from the land of the rising sun with better assurance and confidence everything is in working order.
With that kind of moolah, you'd probably be able to buy the engine, fly one of the tuners you bought the engine from down from japan and get him to install and tune it for you. You'd be surprised how much 100k can stretch if you know how to. 100k is a lot of money...
No offense Driftmeister but with a 100k, it'll be doltish to be spending that kind of money on a halfcut. Having said how careful you spend your hard earned cash, why risk imperfections and insecurities from halfcuts? For that kind of money you'd be much safer buying a complete engine from a renowned garage from the land of the rising sun with better assurance and confidence everything is in working order.
With that kind of moolah, you'd probably be able to buy the engine, fly one of the tuners you bought the engine from down from japan and get him to install and tune it for you. You'd be surprised how much 100k can stretch if you know how to. 100k is a lot of money...
driftmeister: my mechanic did the same thing. he found a GTR halfcut with all the shit, hks cams, 1000cc injectors, hks fuel rail, hks big momma TA45 turbokit all everything. he thought it would be worth it since the cost of modifying it in malaysia is simply too expensive, especially for a mechanic.
he transplanted the engine into his cefiro.
after merely 2 months the engine blew. after dismantling the engine (post mortem) he found out that the previous dumb fuck japanese owner had put a long list of extreme mods on a STOCK BLOCK with STOCK OIL PUMP! hehehe 1 more RB26 went to GTR heaven...
my point is: u will never know how's the condition of a used engine...
PIMPIN: i do agree with bebolagalas. why dont u have another engine rebuilt (buy an R33 or R34 engine kosong - make sure not R32 - crank collar problem and start from there). that way, u can choose the piston brand (compression ratio based on ur choice), the conrods, the crankshaft, oil pump all based on ur preference... since bebolagalas mentioned that u have turbos that are capable of 800hp, it is wise to build ur engine to withstand somewhere in the region of 1000hp... i'm sure u will know what brands to choose since ur the moderator at SAU.
after my wonderful experience with RB engine, i would HIGHLY suggest u do all of the following since we all know u got no budget issues
-aftermarket oil pump (like greddy,hks, jun - minimum N1)
-sump baffle
-larger sump capacity (somewhere around 10Liters)
-block/restrict oil feed to head
i chose to discard my RB engine after it went to heaven (not GTR heaven though) cos i simply cant afford to rebuild the engine according to my specs. in goes a toyota engine hehehehe
Rebuilding is a matter of luck in getting it right, moreover a proper tune is also something you need to think about. It also applies to importing a brand new Tomei or N1 engine. All it takes is one bad tune to take you back to square one.
If I have the cash let's say 100k, i would try to source a modded halfcut (specially arranged thru the junkyards) with all the goodies which has the turbo(s), wiring, cams, all the pipe work, intercooler, ecu, gearbox, clutch (triple plate?), 320km/h meter, etc etc...if your lucky you may also find the matching rear end. You know how the Jap's loved to mod it to the maximum.
Im sure with the extra $$$ left after the purchase of the halfcut, would be for any parts replacement if it is damaged. This way i have more spares which can sell if not required.
...im just too careful how i spend my hard earned money especially nowadays (need to burn fuel more efficiently). Hope you managed to find your direction. Cheers!
I beg to differ.
Rebuilding an engine is not a matter of LUCK. It's the engine builder's skill.
See whether he has enough patience, measures everything correctly and
most importantly experienced in building an engine.
And as for tuning, they're are pretty capable tuners in Malaysia.
100k and you'd buy a second hand engine from a halfcut shop ?
[PIMPIN],
100k : OS RB30 short block for RM70k, balance : buy ecu, Tomei head products, turbo(s), etc.
And for another RM42k you can get a OS 6 speed sequential gearbox
or Mine's Stage 2 complete engine for around RM100k.
or buy a NEW N1 block for RM 7k, Tomei 2.8 stroker - RM 18k,
Nismo engine bearings -
Tomei complete headwork parts (cams, valve spring, metal gasket, etc) -
Tomei oil pump RM 4k+, N1 water pump RM 1300,
Tomei Baffle plate
new twin/triple plate clutch RM 5-6k, Tomei fuel rail - RM 900,
labour to build the engine
ECU -
Radiator - < RM 6k for ARC smc55, Turbo - price depending on model, spec.
and some other small things, etc. Still have plenty of change from Rm100k.
Gti88:
I haven't heard many good stories about local tuner rebuilding engines (stays reliable at the same time). Anyway I didn't meant 100k for the whole halfcut plus the luck I was referring to is practically on the owner, not the tuner (most will guarantee no problem, Malaysia Boleh). Your advice seem pretty good, end of the day it's the owner's decision and his money. At least I know where to put mine.
Khoyos: sorry to hear about your experienced on modded halfcut. Btw I used to drive a ceffie with a RB26GTR too long time ago. I know of one person who has bought a halfcut fully modded GTR with stroker kit and that engine has lasted quite awhile. The engine now is going for further mods&tune for Drag . Two different owners with different experiences.
Darkchild: No worries bro, 100k is really a lot...
Pimpin: I'll go for something that's close to the Z-Tune Nismo specs....
driftmeister: that's the exact problem with halfcut engines. we will never know when the engine is going to blow! we dont know what's the boost limit, tuning limit in terms of how far can we go on the ignition before knock etc etc...
i do agree with u that there are not many reputable engine builders around. a friend of mine (not using RB but locally famous inline 4 turbo engine) chose to use 100% stock internals while boosting up to more than 2 bar producing more than 500hp, just because he didnt trust malaysian machine shops. but now, even he is slowly moving into forgies... so i can say that malaysian machine shops are getting better and better. plus we dont see any thread titled "my engine jammed after a forged engine rebuild by xxxx workshop" so i think we can have our engines rebuilt in malaysia.
p/s z-tune spec may not be enough for PIMPIN, got around 500hp ONLY hehehehe
I think Russ did engine rebuild at Malaysia right ? By the way I think if we did not give some chance for the local tuner how are they going to improve eh ? Yeah i know it kind of like crap saying here but I think there are still have some RB specialist right in Malaysia one right ? =/
I am also waiting for Russ to give his verdict. Though the wait for the build has been very long. No doubt there are some RB specialist or else i wouldn't have bought one myself. Just when your goal to reach high HP, it's just inner instincts tells you to go elsewhere.
Anyway, my technical knowledge is only moderate though I would love to tune it myself.
assuming that malaysian machine shops are as good as the ones overseas, i would definitely have the engine rebuilt to my specs.
i would love to have jun (by cosworth) pistons, carillo conrods and tomei full counter weight crank. every bolt ARP'ed, oiling mods done, with a fully built head with complete hks parts...
Gti88:
I haven't heard many good stories about local tuner rebuilding engines (stays reliable at the same time). Anyway I didn't meant 100k for the whole halfcut plus the luck I was referring to is practically on the owner, not the tuner (most will guarantee no problem, Malaysia Boleh). Your advice seem pretty good, end of the day it's the owner's decision and his money. At least I know where to put mine.
Jeffrey,
Maybe you haven't been hearing good enough.
This is one of the examples where when a person does 100 good deeds, they don't get a single compliment,
and when that person does 1 thing, just 1 thing wrong, the world would bitch about him.
I know that engine building in Malaysia is not on par yet with Australians, Japs and the states,
But we're getting there with more crazy rebuilds going on nowadays.
There are actually plenty of cars in Malaysia that have been build close to perfect.
You'd just have to stop assuming that Malaysia's engine builder are bad and
start to have a look around to see that they are real monsters out there.
And those monsters are build in Malaysia by Malaysians. Go to the next SDB.
Engine building in Malaysia has come a long way as compared to the past and its improving gradually.
We have to stop assuming that if the engine is build in Malaysia then it will go wrong.
Come on man, building an engine isn't rocket science.
And besides, trusting a mechanic who claims himself to be a DR.NISSAN is something.
Everyone has their experiences of good & bad builders. What you say is true, we got to hv some trust in them somehow as we still need to rely on them to fix our cars. It's just a matter of time for my patience to see whether it's worth the time & money going in/out of workshops. I'll probably just sell it and buy another car.
Pimpin: sorry if this thread is going elsewhere...anyway hope you get your ride done up soon. The sky is the limit if budget is not a problem.