|
|
10-26-2006, 04:50 PM
|
|
250bhp Stage II Member
|
you r right.... absolutely right! but lucky enough that we have one here in sunway... hahah.. at least i find them good enough to be "one stop"...
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by zephuros
Leme ask you guys simple question.... What is so different about an RB26 from other engines???
The answer: NOTHING! It's a simple in-line 6 that is over 20 years old. From a mechanical standpoint there is NOTHING different about rebuilding this block from rebuilding any other engine. The real question is, "Who is competent enough to rebuild an engine in Malaysia?"
Frankly, anyone who understands the reasons why we torque heads in a particular way, follow procedures for shimming lifters etc can and should be able to rebuild an engine perfectly well, including the RB26. This is not rocket science. What you do need to do is to ensure that you have the necessary tools and a clean envirronment in which to work. Also you need someone who is competent enough to bore a cylinder block and shot peen it!
With the right tools and work environment any tuner in malaysia should be able to build a decent engine for you. Here's the catch... we have all the tools.. we have all the facilitires... and we have all the brains.... problem is that all these are scattered among the workshops in the country! hahha! There is not a single shop in malaysia that has the collective knowledge.
|
|
My Signature |
|

10-26-2006, 05:18 PM
|
|
350bhp Nitrous Member
|
really? weird.... i've seen most of the workshops in sunway and no one, NO ONE, builds engines in a clean environment. Even the self-proclaimed skyline experts (i shan't name names) build engines in the back of their workshop which is dusty, dirty and oily..... I'm still convinced that there is no competent engine builder that can do a decent job... seriously... give me a facility and the tools and i can do a better job! i've worked on aircraft with crazy tolerances and strict rules.... following the same on an in-line 6-banger shouldn't be too hard! :)
|
My Signature |
|
My aim in life is to rid the world or dirty, polluting fossil fuels... one tank at a time... ;)
=========
10-26-2006, 05:48 PM
|
|
3000bhp Senior
|
Somehere DIY Rebuild and Blue Print a SR20DET
and boring the block using Dummy Deck head
it mean DIY still a better option then the tuner shop
if you have the complete tool and equipment
|
|
|
10-26-2006, 10:00 PM
|
|
300bhp Nitrous Member
|
Quote:
|
Leme ask you guys simple question.... What is so different about an RB26 from other engines???
The answer: NOTHING! It's a simple in-line 6 that is over 20 years old. From a mechanical standpoint there is NOTHING different about rebuilding this block from rebuilding any other engine. The real question is, "Who is competent enough to rebuild an engine in Malaysia?"
Frankly, anyone who understands the reasons why we torque heads in a particular way, follow procedures for shimming lifters etc can and should be able to rebuild an engine perfectly well, including the RB26. This is not rocket science. What you do need to do is to ensure that you have the necessary tools and a clean envirronment in which to work. Also you need someone who is competent enough to bore a cylinder block and shot peen it!
With the right tools and work environment any tuner in malaysia should be able to build a decent engine for you. Here's the catch... we have all the tools.. we have all the facilitires... and we have all the brains.... problem is that all these are scattered among the workshops in the country! hahha! There is not a single shop in malaysia that has the collective knowledge.
|
the sifu has spoken.....
wana c a GTT kickass a GTR? 
|
|
|
10-26-2006, 11:57 PM
|
|
250bhp Stage II Member
|
Quote:
|
really? weird.... i've seen most of the workshops in sunway and no one, NO ONE, builds engines in a clean environment. Even the self-proclaimed skyline experts (i shan't name names) build engines in the back of their workshop which is dusty, dirty and oily..... I'm still convinced that there is no competent engine builder that can do a decent job... seriously... give me a facility and the tools and i can do a better job! i've worked on aircraft with crazy tolerances and strict rules.... following the same on an in-line 6-banger shouldn't be too hard! :)
|
well.. like i said its good enough for me.. good workmanship, good knowledge.. although they might not have an airconditioned engine room like in aircraft industry.. however, the charges also not like air ticket price lar... anyway, at least they prove to me they did a good job. remember, no one is perfect??
Last edited by nismoskyliner33; 10-27-2006 at 12:04 AM.
|
My Signature |
|

10-27-2006, 12:39 AM
|
|
5bhp Stock
|
Quote:
|
|
in d UK, air-cond is not necessary for engine assy if you have a clean n dust free workplace/room, n why cann't M'sia mechanics work without cool air!
As i know,only M'sia hospitals must have d low gravity n Very very cold air-conditioning to slow down d blood circuration during human body have serious operation in process.
|
|
|
10-27-2006, 07:20 AM
|
|
400bhp Turbo Member
|
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by Firebird
As i know,only M'sia hospitals must have d low gravity n Very very cold air-conditioning to slow down d blood circuration during human body have serious operation in process.
|
wher got msian hospitals wit very very cold air-cond.. try visiting hospitals outside klang valley..
very very cold air cond is only required in the operation theatre and not in the wards.. and even moderately equipped hospitals in the world have them, not only msia..
eh.. why from rebuilding rb26 turn into air-cond in hospitals wey.. :retarded::_:
|
|
|
10-27-2006, 10:54 AM
|
|
3000bhp Senior
|
Yea.. RB26DETT Talk to AC Talk
RB26DETT AC is bloody Cold
no wonder it so powerful
|
|
|
10-29-2006, 12:05 AM
|
|
250bhp Stage II Member
|
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by cmng
Somehere DIY Rebuild and Blue Print a SR20DET
and boring the block using Dummy Deck head
it mean DIY still a better option then the tuner shop
if you have the complete tool and equipment
|
wow... i think all da shop in sunway will go kaputtt very soon if everyone can diy... i only know how to "DIY" myslef heheh..:_:
|
My Signature |
|
 |
|
Search this Thread |
|
|
|
| Display Modes |
Linear Mode
|