Supercharged car - reliability issues - Zerotohundred.com
Zerotohundred.com
Home Features News Forums The Marketplace Showcase Videos TIMETOATTACK! Store!
Go Back   Zerotohundred.com > Technical Section > Tech: Forced Induction

LinkBack Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-05-2012, 11:46 PM   #1
5bhp Stock

Liked: 0 / 0 Posts
Default Supercharged car - reliability issues

Dear Sifus,

I am looking at buying a car atm. It's a Honda s2000, but installed with a plug and play Vortech supercharger.

I'm not familiar with superchargers, but have read a fair bit about it on other forums. My concern about the car at the moment is the reliability of the engine with a supercharger.

My questions are as follows:
(1) how reliable would the car be after installing a supercharger
(2) how can I check the health of the engine with the supercharger on? Would a compression test / dyno be sufficient?
(3) if I were to remove the supercharger, how much would it cost? I've been told that substantial work and parts to install an air box and intake system is required.
(4) any options to increase the reliability with the supercharger on (eg: reduce the boost etc)

If this topic has been covered, would appreciate pointing me to the right direction in this forum :)

Thanks very much for your time.
pwnstar is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
(0)
Old 08-06-2012, 06:13 AM   #2
2000bhp Senior

Liked: 718 / 465 Posts
Default Re: Supercharged car - reliability issues

1) I think supercharger is more reliable than a turbo coz it's driven by a belt.. Just like ur alternator, aircond,etc

2) as long as ur engine is not jerking, it's fine. But a dyno will show u an increase or decrease in power output

3) it's free if u DIY u r changing ur intake system, of coz need some parts to replace the supercharger intake pipe

4) If it's installed properly, u won't have a reliability issue

Gudluck
(0)
The Following 2 Users Liked D7zul For This Useful Post:
Izso (08-06-2012), peeche (08-07-2012)
Old 09-03-2012, 06:23 AM   #3
1bhp Stock

Liked: 0 / 0 Posts

Hi Dear,
Actually i've many questions about superchargers ,but i don't want to waste ur time.
first coud the supercharger "Eaton M45 of Mercedes C 200 /C 180 " fits other engines like the
eco-tech, VVT-I or 0ther 1.6/1.3 engines ? what kits needed for the installation , if
there any changes must be done and any danger of this operation ?

Samsuper
Samsuper is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
(0)
Old 09-03-2012, 11:03 AM   #4
2000bhp Senior

Liked: 718 / 465 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Samsuper View Post
Hi Dear,
Actually i've many questions about superchargers ,but i don't want to waste ur time.
first coud the supercharger "Eaton M45 of Mercedes C 200 /C 180 " fits other engines like the
eco-tech, VVT-I or 0ther 1.6/1.3 engines ? what kits needed for the installation , if
there any changes must be done and any danger of this operation ?

Samsuper
eaton M45 is big.. most probably didn't fit into a small car.. i think..

better get smaller supercharger like this..

custom-made bracket is a must..

danger : overboost could break con-rod, damage piston, etc..

it is advisable to get forged con-rod, piston & crankshaft

(0)
Old 09-08-2012, 01:09 PM   #5
LB Performance

Liked: 232 / 137 Posts
Garage

S2000 supercharged is fun, get to a reputable shop/mech for inspection before you pay down payment/deposit

as long as the setup is correct, its wont be any issues for this
(0)

Zerotohundred.com > Technical Section > Tech: Forced Induction

Previous: Previous Thread | Next Thread :Next
Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Latest Posts
Mitsubishi Airtrek Turbo with Mods
Last Post Today 12:40 AM
looking for an engine for my gen2 1.3
Last Post Today 12:05 AM
  Suspicious driver doing funny stuff
Last Post Today 12:25 AM
wtb toyota supra 2jz
Last Post Yesterday 11:58 PM
  ADDZEST Dome Tweeter Japan
Last Post Yesterday 11:37 PM
This Weeks' Most Popular!
2013 TIMETOATTACK Round 1 - The Preview!
Last Post 05-22-2013 11:47 PM
JDM Mayhem @ 2013 TIMETOATTACK Round 1!
Last Post Today 12:06 AM
The Euros @ TIMETOATTACK Round 1 2013
Last Post 05-23-2013 09:30 PM

2000 - 2012 Zerotohundred.com - The Automotive Lifestyle Network | Tags | Terms of Use | Visitor Agreement | Privacy Policy | Contact Us | Privacy Statement | Top