Home Features News Forums The Marketplace Showcase Videos
Go Back   Zerotohundred.com > Technical Section > Tech: Forced Induction
Connect with Facebook

Tags
km or h, l15a, td04, turbo

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-03-2009
5bhp Stock

Default Turbo doesn't help my 0-100 Km/h (TD04 L15A)

if not wrong, stock (NA) Honda City should be 12 sec for 0-100 km/h.

Mine had turbo TD04 with AEM tunned , also 12 sec PLUS.
Time colleced by G-tech pro and RSM.
I had did alot of test on my car, ave timeing is 12 sec and i found one important point:
flooring will made worst.

My spec
L15A Vtec engine
TD04
AEM piggyback

the problem could it be:

1) my boost too low, currently only 0.4 bar
2) CVT is like that. even 1 bar also same
3) AEM not for my car, change it
4) i don't have extra injector

or 5) your advise?

My dream for 0-100 Km/h = 9.9 sec is enough ( below 10 sec)

Pls advise.

Last edited by clanbuster; 07-03-2009 at 11:50 PM..
Send User a Private Message Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2009
250bhp Stage II Member

Default Re: Turbo doesn't help my 0-100 Km/h (TD04 L15A)

CVT's were'nt made for hard launching?

Got an AFR reading? Maybe running too rich?

0.4bar actually does provide notable difference.
At what RPM does your max boost come in?
Old 07-04-2009
700bhp Member

u mean your car vtec n/a and after bolt on turbo also 12sec ??
that's funny...
you try boost more 0.1 bar...
and better change injector !!
Old 07-04-2009
5bhp Stock

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dougster View Post
CVT's were'nt made for hard launching?

Got an AFR reading? Maybe running too rich?

0.4bar actually does provide notable difference.
At what RPM does your max boost come in?
using TD04, my boost start 1900 RPM, max boost to 0.4 bar is around 2100 RPM or less.
my turbo cut in early.

AFR , i dont have the gauge.

pls advise.

Quote:
Originally Posted by veilsideboyz View Post
u mean your car vtec n/a and after bolt on turbo also 12sec ??
that's funny...
you try boost more 0.1 bar...
and better change injector !!

yes i also think of add injector.

so what is the max boost (bar) for stock engine ( haven't change to metal gasket, enhance piston, con rod , crankshaft etc)

Last edited by clanbuster; 07-04-2009 at 06:12 AM..
Old 07-04-2009
2000bhp Senior

U got go for dyno/tuning or not?

or maybe ur turbo lag. like an evo also lose to stock 1.6 sedan in TopGear last time..

if stock engine parts.. i think boost 0.5-0.6 still ok la.. should be.. not sure though.

or maybe also ur engine thirsty of fuel. must check AFR.

best is just go for tuning/dyno checking.. chg injectors also might solve it..
but remember to use Fuel regulator so that can tuning further.

Last edited by donCityZ; 07-04-2009 at 09:49 AM..
Old 07-04-2009
450bhp Turbo Member

Send a message via ICQ to pioneer411 Send a message via MSN to pioneer411 Send a message via Yahoo to pioneer411

Quote:
Originally Posted by clanbuster View Post
using TD04, my boost start 1900 RPM, max boost to 0.4 bar is around 2100 RPM or less.
my turbo cut in early.

pls advise.

so what is the max boost (bar) for stock engine ( haven't change to metal gasket, enhance piston, con rod , crankshaft etc)

i think too much power, is the gearbox cant tahan la :)

Quote:
my turbo cut in early.

pls advise.

i think too much power, is the gearbox cant tahan la :)
Old 07-04-2009
700bhp Member

make sure you change your injector and retard your timing...
can boost 0.5-0.6 bar without any problem......
you bolt on turbo juz boost 0.4...is damn less !!
install fuel pump and regulator

Bump: make sure you change your injector and retard your timing...
Old 07-04-2009
5bhp Stock

yea.. change the injector.. same happen like my fren bot 4g92p 1.6... using standard injector tat time.. no feels at all at 0.4bar....

after installing 390cc injector n safc lil bit setting... 0.4bar alredi feels the turbo function... he also using auto gearbox..hehe
Old 07-04-2009
700bhp Member

wht turbo he using ??
yup...me too.. auto gearbox :)
now boost 0.6...
going to boost 0.7-0.8bar soon...
safe for autogear box...better install ATF COOLER
Old 07-04-2009
200bhp Stage II Member

Quote:
Your question should be "What is the max torque my CVT can withstand?"

Honda City is not meant for BOT, max boost is about 0.4, thanks to CVT.

How much you spent for this kit?
Old 07-04-2009
5bhp Stock

Possibly your 0-100 time is bad due to wheelspin? You did mention the timing is worse if you floor it. Maybe you can turn off the VSA function too, if you have it.

Last edited by mcwk; 07-04-2009 at 05:20 PM..
Old 07-04-2009
2000bhp Senior

wheel spin?? it is impossible for cvt gearbox 2 wheel spin dude...
i think i better off dyno ur ride to chk fueling...the 1.5 vtec engine has compression of 10.5/1 if not mistaken..not tuned rite and there goes ur hard earned money and lots of hard metal pieces coming out of ur engine bay...not to mention lots of oils too

i personally think the timing is bcoz of the cvt...as u know,when u put to N and then u floor the throttle n put it to D mode...the cvt gear box kinda slip for a long time...btw...did u use the 7 speed mode?

plz do care to share the cost and some pictures will be great...i'm driving a 1.5 vtec city also
Old 07-04-2009
5bhp Stock

i check back with my AEM tunner. he said I can add injector.
he said will improve Hp and torque but may not improve 0-100 km/h le

he told me, "CVT how fast u want?"

so does anyone drive 1500CC car with CVT but can go faster then 10sec or less?
Is it CVT slow me down?

Quote:
Originally Posted by veilsideboyz View Post
make sure you change your injector and retard your timing...

Bump: make sure you change your injector and retard your timing...
hi, my workshop told me my car don't need add fuel p/p and regualor, he told me add 1 more injector is good enough, CVT cannot go faster. i don't know is it true,but abit sian when i
heard this. spend so much give same pick up speed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by witch13 View Post
yea.. change the injector.. same happen like my fren bot 4g92p 1.6... using standard injector tat time.. no feels at all at 0.4bar....

after installing 390cc injector n safc lil bit setting... 0.4bar alredi feels the turbo function... he also using auto gearbox..hehe

Did he try to clock how fast for 0-100 km/h?

because i feel i had alot faster and alot more HP.
but when i bought this device to check, then i found that is same as stock. only HP and Torque improve.
Used stop watch to counter check, my device is correct answer.

OH No, am i spend $$ for back to Square one.

could it be , i didn't mod my exhaust pipe. didn't remove cat? etc

Quote:
Originally Posted by donCityZ View Post
U got go for dyno/tuning or not?

or maybe ur turbo lag. like an evo also lose to stock 1.6 sedan in TopGear last time..

if stock engine parts.. i think boost 0.5-0.6 still ok la.. should be.. not sure though.

or maybe also ur engine thirsty of fuel. must check AFR.

best is just go for tuning/dyno checking.. chg injectors also might solve it..
but remember to use Fuel regulator so that can tuning further.

yes, AEM piggyback tunned.

my turbo lag? my turbo cut in 1900 RPM, can lower to 800 RPM cut in? unless i got supercharge,
then look like GOLF TSI, twin charge. WOW.... good le.

i also think 0.5 is it good. but my tunner warn me "NO"
AFR was tunned. forget to ask them, but is 1 year ago, they should forgotten, but should be 12:1

Last edited by clanbuster; 07-04-2009 at 09:00 PM..
Old 07-04-2009
The Marketplace Pro Seller

Send a message via MSN to kenzo Send a message via Yahoo to kenzo

u start boosting at 1.9k rpm with td04? wow

wats the mode u have? who tune for u? any data logging can show us?

firstly, do an exhaust setup, original piping is not sufficient bro

secondly, plz either change ur injectors, or fuel pump and adjustable fuel pressure regulator

any boost leak? how many inch rims ur using? tyres? additional weight? woofers?

if flooring more worse means its either ur gearbox slip or too lean...

Bump: u start boosting at 1.9k rpm with td04? wow

wats the mode u have? who tune for u? any data logging can show us?

firstly, do an exhaust setup, original piping is not sufficient bro

secondly, plz either change ur injectors, or fuel pump and adjustable fuel pressure regulator

any boost leak? how many inch rims ur using? tyres? additional weight? woofers?

if flooring more worse means its either ur gearbox slip or too lean...
Old 07-05-2009
Supporting Merchants

want car less than 10sec 0-100kmh buy nissan navara diesel hahahah:)

Zerotohundred.com > Technical Section > Tech: Forced Induction