Connect with Facebook

Tags
explained, wastegate

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-05-2008

Send a message via MSN to SDF Send a message via Yahoo to SDF
Default Wastegate Explained.

Wastegates - Facts and Fiction

With so many contradicting opinions and recommendations, it’s a little wonder choosing the right Wastegate for your application can be a confusing.
We try to disspell some myths and shed some light on the most common misconceptions regarding wastegates.

TRUE OR FALSE
*The more powerful the engine, the bigger the
wastegate you need.*
False. This is one of the more popular misconceptions. A wastegate is possibly the only component in your whole engine package that can actually be made smaller as you increase your boost/horsepower output. Use this simple guide:
Big Turbo/Low Boost = Bigger Wastegate
Big Turbo/High Boost = Smaller Wastegate
Small Turbo/High Boost = Smaller Wastegate
Small Turbo/Low Boost = Bigger Wastegate

Wastegates don’t operate in high temperatures.
False. Contrary to the popular belief, external wastegates are usually mounted at the hottest part of the exhaust. It’s the place where all the exhaust gases meet, creating extra heat. This, combined with the late combustion of unburnt fuel (due to rich mixtures, retarded timing and high octane fuels) significantly raises the exhaust temperature.

Larger wastegate valve diameter = better flow.
True – sort of. While the valve diameter is without a doubt an important part of the flow rate, equally important, but often misunderstood, is the importance of the flow path. When comparing wastegates with similar valve size, it is important to have a balanced body/valve/spring combination that is designed to work together to allow for maximum boost control. All Turbosmart wastegates are designed with this in mind.

(*article courtesy of Turbosmart)
Send User a Private Message Reply With Quote
The Following 29 Users Say Thank You to SDF For This Useful Post:
21st century (10-25-2009), 5115 (12-23-2008), ahmadrico (12-12-2008), Aldy Aldrin (11-16-2009), Azu MET008 (01-28-2010), BLANk (12-12-2008), bongek (11-17-2009), camp (12-08-2009), chezz_87 (01-28-2009), chocolatesttarfish (04-27-2009), crappy (08-24-2009), deacon (05-13-2009), dirtyape (08-27-2009), edhz (06-22-2009), gudang_garam (12-02-2009), jpoplover (09-22-2009), km_chew (01-30-2009), Mivec559 (04-03-2009), optimus (12-06-2008), pangyau (01-14-2010), papagoines (03-04-2009), savahn (10-21-2009), tajulsans (12-09-2008), traize (12-27-2008), veilsideboyz (08-25-2009), wan9893 (01-05-2010), wonderkid (02-06-2009), WoopTWoop (04-03-2009), xcheong (02-04-2009)
Old 12-12-2008
50bhp Junior

Default Re: Wastegate Explained.

actually how much is to be considered high boost?
Old 12-12-2008
5000BHP! Senior

i guess anything above 1 bar is considered high boost
Old 12-12-2008
900bhp Member

Send a message via MSN to renxun

But.... do enlight me if im wrong... i guess there will be other factor for my situation too...

my 50mm and my 44mm trust unable to regulate and give me a stable boost building and boost hold when i set my boost anything above 1.5bar...it will creep

my 50mm turbosmart progate 50mm... can give me very good boost control even at above 1.5bar... no creeping

could it be matter of design? or the fact of the reasoning of big , small wastegate?
Old 12-16-2008
1000bhp Senior

Quote:
Originally Posted by BLaCkHoWLiNG View Post
i guess anything above 1 bar is considered high boost
I read it from some Taiwanese magazine. Anything equivalent or higher than 0.7 bars is consider high boost.

I guess that's also the separation point between high pressure/low pressure turbo.
Old 12-16-2008
450bhp Turbo Member

yup,its true also....
Old 12-16-2008
600bhp Member

shudn't high or low boost depends on the turbo size ...

that's what i thought ...
Old 12-16-2008
1000bhp Senior

Aiyo.....
T.T

Turbo size determines how high u want to boost... But now ppl are asking at what boost level begins to consider high boost.

Back to ur question. maximum efficient boost depends on the turbo size. Boost depends on wastegate or actuator. I can have a big turbine, but using tial 38mm external wastegate with 0.4bar spring. I'll still boost at 0.4 bars....
Old 12-23-2008
600bhp Member

Send a message via MSN to lozo

btw, where can i buy tial springs ? looking for softer spring
Old 12-27-2008
100bhp Junior

if 1 bar spring so i can stand to 1 bar boost?

Bump: if 1 bar spring so i can stand to 1 bar boost?
Old 12-27-2008
100bhp Junior

im using TDO5,changed my cam to HKS standard degree and crankshaft HKS attached with haltech ecu..boosting at 1.2 bar...does it make sense sifus

need advice
Old 12-27-2008

rakesh..wrong thread to ask and the what is the question ? it doesn't tie in.

this thread is about Wastegates.
Old 12-30-2008
100bhp Junior

ops my bad :(
Old 12-31-2008
50bhp Junior

for gt3040 what is the highest/lowst boost with a 50mm progate? im confused...
Old 12-31-2008

lowest boost = 7psi (0.5bar)
highest boost = 28psi (2bar) without boost controller

If you run an electronic boost controller.. the wastegate will alter according to the preset level.

Zerotohundred.com > Technical Section > Tech: Forced Induction