Go Back   Zerotohundred.com > Technical Section > Tech: Forced Induction
Connect with Facebook

Tags
advise, tial, wastegate

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-17-2008
200bhp Stage II Member

Default Need Advise for Tial Wastegate

I am looking forward to get a Tial 38mm wastegate, but it came with "bar" standard. 0.5 bar and 1bar...now how do i determine which to get?
Send User a Private Message Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2008
200bhp Stage II Member

Send a message via MSN to oly Send a message via Yahoo to oly
Default Re: Need Advise for Tial Wastegate

im using 0.5 bar one...first n second gear is nice...almost no spin...on bridgestone re001 and td05h 20g...but 3rd gear is lemau a bit...dunno why...maybe my car...and im selling my wastegate with banana for rm1.4k...plug n play for evo n vr4 with standard td turbine...
Old 11-18-2008
700bhp Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by evo5755 View Post
I am looking forward to get a Tial 38mm wastegate, but it came with "bar" standard. 0.5 bar and 1bar...now how do i determine which to get?
using stndard actuator how many 'bar' did you boost your car?it will roughly show the spring pressure that you needed....
Old 11-18-2008

wht spring rate to buy, its simple
buy wht minimum boost u would like to run

0.6bar spring can be turned to run at 1bar with boost controller
but there is no way u can make a 1bar spring to open up at 0.6bar
Old 11-18-2008

Send a message via MSN to SDF Send a message via Yahoo to SDF

do consider a Turbosmart 38mm..smaller and lighter and flows better...single piece CNC valve for strength and precision.

http://www.autojunctions.com/index.p...d=321&catid=57

cheers~
Old 11-18-2008
200bhp Stage II Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by jinkl View Post
wht spring rate to buy, its simple
buy wht minimum boost u would like to run

0.6bar spring can be turned to run at 1bar with boost controller
but there is no way u can make a 1bar spring to open up at 0.6bar
Jin,

As always your explanation is good. This makes sense with irreversible boost changes..hehe.i will not be running as low as 0.5 bar, but will run from 0.8bar for normal driving or as high as 1.5bar of boost pressure for "sport" driving. So, can 0.5bar spring withstand 1.5bar of boost shall i tuned it with my Electronic boost Controller?
Old 11-18-2008
200bhp Stage II Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by oly View Post
im using 0.5 bar one...first n second gear is nice...almost no spin...on bridgestone re001 and td05h 20g...but 3rd gear is lemau a bit...dunno why...maybe my car...and im selling my wastegate with banana for rm1.4k...plug n play for evo n vr4 with standard td turbine...

if you want to sell your wastegate cheap cheap can la...hahaha..anyway i think wastegate has nothing to do with your 1st 2nd 3rd gear response. There are so many more factors that contribute to this. Wastegate is a gate that dumps all the waste gas into atmosphere...
Old 11-18-2008
200bhp Stage II Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by sum-dum-fuk View Post
do consider a Turbosmart 38mm..smaller and lighter and flows better...single piece CNC valve for strength and precision.

http://www.autojunctions.com/index.p...d=321&catid=57

cheers~
Thanks SDF. Turbosmart will be in my consideration list too, but i wonder why the "pricing" is tad bit higher compare to Tial? Since this two is the most wanted wastegate in the market, perhaps price strategy should be nearer? Anyway just my cents ok..

perhaps in future you can bring in something called "Synapse" to Malaysia? :)
Old 11-18-2008

prices are retail.. i'm sure our Dealer will make you a deal when you visit them

as for Synapse..well..good stuffs..will the average consumer pay ? and with 2 outstanding brands dominating the market...well... you guys know the equation.
Old 11-18-2008

better to use a boost controller to manage the boost level settings.

grab a 0.5 bar wastegate and it'll hold fine even if u run it to 1.5bar.
Old 11-18-2008
1000bhp Senior

Quote:
Originally Posted by evo5755 View Post
Thanks SDF. Turbosmart will be in my consideration list too, but i wonder why the "pricing" is tad bit higher compare to Tial? Since this two is the most wanted wastegate in the market, perhaps price strategy should be nearer? Anyway just my cents ok..

perhaps in future you can bring in something called "Synapse" to Malaysia? :)
Actually Tial is nothing consider expensive comparing to thailand or chicken brand, of course tial is expensive... Compare with HKS, Tial has got no where to stand....

Tial is more of a affordable wastegate. that's why it's so popular....
Old 11-18-2008

i wonder if got any other person using synapse other than me, anyone ?
Old 11-18-2008
50bhp Junior

huh... synapse.. 1st time heard about it.. huhuu
Old 11-18-2008
200bhp Stage II Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by jinkl View Post
i wonder if got any other person using synapse other than me, anyone ?

jin, what product of synapse are you using? Wastegate or BOV?
Old 11-18-2008
200bhp Stage II Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by sum-dum-fuk View Post
prices are retail.. i'm sure our Dealer will make you a deal when you visit them

as for Synapse..well..good stuffs..will the average consumer pay ? and with 2 outstanding brands dominating the market...well... you guys know the equation.
Ok then. I will pay your dealer for a visit....:)

Zerotohundred.com > Technical Section > Tech: Forced Induction