Tags
intercoolers

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-05-2008, 01:36 AM   #1
Send PM    Add to friends    Homepage

5bhp Stock

Trader Ratings: (0)

Default intercoolers...

i'm doing a 1jz conversion into a bmw....problem is my 1jz intercooler wont fit properly....and i dont really want to force it to fit by cutting up the bumper and body too much....so basically what options do i have?

so far i've seen intercoolers like infinite, redline and the ones from klg auto in old klang road....also there is a brand called mines being sold in sunway shops.....anyone got any experience with these intercoolers....the thing those intercoolers have in common is that they're all made in taiwan and im told that japan ones are way better....the problem is its hard to find japanese intercoolers unless its halfcut one...and i prefer it to be new....the ones that are available are not only too expensive but they're too big to fit as well....im looking for 22x9x3 inch size....

is there much of a power loss by using taiwan intercoolers....or is there no difference from my standard intercooler? i dont mind not gaining any power but just dont wanna lose any.

would appreciate if anyone can share their knowledge on this matter or their experience using any of the above brands of intercoolers...thank you.
Send User a Private Message Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2008, 02:49 AM   #2

Send a message via Yahoo to jinkl

Default Re: intercoolers...

i guess its more efficient than the stock ones , u wont loose power, get the correct size
u want japanese ones ? errr y not, if u got the cash , Garrett ? HKS ? ARC ? , but seriously new ones arent cheap, they have them in sunway, ss racing & etc

get reviews of Hybrid Australia Intercooler, it comes from china too
My SignatureDisplay Signature Send User a Private Message Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2008, 08:44 AM   #3

3000bhp Senior

Send a message via MSN to sum-dum-fuk Send a message via Yahoo to sum-dum-fuk

would you like a customised Garrett intercooler ? we have them in raw CORE..so you weld your own end tanks.

As you have mentioned yourself..."good things don't come cheap..." and "cheap things don't really perform well..."

The few brands you mentioned above are basically China intercoolers, but , rebranded by local guys and claims of 'taiwan' made and 'usa technology'..
Old 10-06-2008, 09:19 AM   #4

5bhp Stock

how much is the core? and what sizes do you have?
Old 10-06-2008, 11:14 AM   #5

50bhp Junior

bro if u interested i have a intercooler from austrlia... bought it 1 year plus back... u can see the diff between china, japan... the size its around vr4... selling it off at 1k... bought it at 2k plus plus...

reason for selling
(change to na engine)

call me if your interested
017-292 5015...
Old 10-06-2008, 01:04 PM   #6

100bhp Junior

Im using the PWR intercooler and radiator but not cheap and good perform.This is not a china made.go to www.pwr.com.au
Old 10-07-2008, 10:17 AM   #7

3000bhp Senior

Send a message via MSN to sum-dum-fuk Send a message via Yahoo to sum-dum-fuk

here you go guys...
Attached Thumbnails
intercoolers-img_0247-copy-jpg  intercoolers-img_0255-copy-jpg  
Old 10-07-2008, 12:18 PM   #8

5bhp Stock

u also can use recond intercooler,price also reasonable..custom hks jela
Old 10-07-2008, 05:19 PM   #9

2000bhp Senior

jin himself is also using infinite w/o problem,right jin?.saw 1 article in hyper tune.sgti with evo2 engine
using those i/c.it gain horses but forget how many.
Old 10-07-2008, 05:26 PM   #10

Send a message via Yahoo to jinkl

Quote:
Originally Posted by GT_AUTO View Post
jin himself is also using infinite w/o problem,right jin?.saw 1 article in hyper tune.sgti with evo2 engine
using those i/c.it gain horses but forget how many.
im not sure how much air temp dropped , but khoyos have used it before and logged his air temp sensor , so i tink he should know better :)
Old 10-07-2008, 09:47 PM   #11

2000bhp Senior

what about pressure drop?do u feel lag jin after installing the i/c?

Zerotohundred.com > Technical Section > Tech: Forced Induction