PS Powersport tuning products - Page 22 - Zerotohundred.com
Zerotohundred.com
Home Features News Forums The Marketplace Showcase Videos TIMETOATTACK! Store!
Go Back   Zerotohundred.com > Technical Section > Tech: Engine Management Systems

LinkBack Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-31-2012, 12:53 PM   #316

Liked: 11 / 7 Posts
Default Re: PS Powersport tuning products

Quote:
Originally Posted by [PIMPIN] View Post
This offer extended to all interested in PS products or just specific to one individual? That's hardly fair is it? How about me? I can give engine specs but then who is going to tune? You or CF Lo? Anyway, what can replace my PowerFC DJetro? My specs are RB30, forged pistons and rods, 1050cc injectors, HKS lift pump to Sard surge tank with twin 044s, RIPS extended sump, RIPS 4WD adapter, Trust oil pump, twin Blitz cooler, ARC cooler etc off the top of my head maybe missed out a few mods. Planning to run a T88 if that helps?

So what do you recommend and what sort of power can I get? Can guarantee at least minimum horsepower etc since PS products meant to be better than standalone? Say 600atw?
Hi! Pim2, Many of us here should really admire that you can have the powerful RB-30 unit. I & my guru LO already have good experiences with engine like yours almost 15 years ago that the ‘FINAL’ touch of works that our ‘RESPONSE’ Series monster had a PS-PowerSport piggyback effect installed and they run well, and we didn’t mess around with attempting to change it to stand-alone system as it seemed pointless as they work good. I m not suggesting you that aftermarket stand-alone ECUs are bad here, I actually think they rather good, but the final part of RB engine management could be better! To me the last section after all the engine blue-printed – The re-engineering of the ECU & programming it; is a risky and long process works for your RB-30. Trying to program the PFC is a huge waste of time and money with no guarantees of success in spite of what others will tell you. And when you see few PFC have done a decent job and a lot of time and efforts to modify to its stand-alone system but even then they have only adapted this ECU to this RB and not added all the safety margins that we come to expect from the standard ECCS system.

Most stand-alone ECUs are generally open-loop systems designs where estimates of fueling and ignition are made based on yours input value. Open-loop system have to assume a minimum quality level, if this is done the wrong way then your engine is going west, everything above that level is a waste of money basically if you don’t get max efficiency out of your tuning. This is something different than the full factory close-loop control ECU, which is usually used to create its base map in open-loop systems under controlled conditions. What you really want is FOR INSTANCE a system that controls the peak pressure position of your engine to be an optimum position, while you have that under control; you have also got the means to control things like peak engine efficiency and peak power level. I m suggesting however that if PFC start behaving strange is quite a worry - Appears to be no particularly good safety nets to protect your RB. The stock ECU does this and many more things are like fuel and ignition feed-back protection. Let say one important feature is that the stock ECCS be able to detect 2 detonation signals to the ECU, the first signal manages cyl. 1 & 3, the second manages cyl. 4 – 6, so it can be sensitive to automatically adjust its base mapping which could lead to severe engine damage and cost repairs. Apparently the simply sensing of cylinder 1 – 6 of the PFC system doesn’t seem to stop this……..

Due to most PS gadgets designed to supplement and refine the OEM mapping curve in order to maintain a proper air/fuel mix and spark when increasing V.E. in your T88 turbocharged application. Each PS unit is application specific and included a preprogrammed integrated circuitry for particular performance stage which will be easily achieve maximum safe power tuning the a/f maps that usually are ‘FINE’ tuned at various load points in the rev range to match an individual engines fine matching tolerances or wear.

‘Looking forward to share with us your good tuning of your 600hp RB-30 in the very near future!’

Last edited by Force Performance; 03-31-2012 at 01:07 PM.
Force Performance is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
(0)
The Following 3 Users Liked Force Performance For This Useful Post:
Devils86 (03-31-2012), Firebird (04-02-2012), Izso (03-31-2012)
Old 03-31-2012, 11:21 PM   #317
1bhp Stock

Liked: 4 / 2 Posts

Finally a very decent answer ....

However, it doesn't really answer the question. I don't think PIMPIN needs convincing regarding PS products nor was he asking for a lesson in standalone and piggyback ECUs. It's quite obvious he was asking lancersr20 to recommend suitable PS products to suit his setup and who the tuner would likely be - CF Lo or lancersr20 since its lancersr20 was the one who offered free installation and if happy then only pay.

Last edited by Devils86; 04-01-2012 at 12:31 AM.
Devils86 is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
(0)
Old 04-01-2012, 12:23 AM   #318
50bhp Junior

Liked: 10 / 8 Posts

FP, I met your guru, Lo at Exodus Sunway many years ago before he ventured out. He was the one who convinced me to installed the spark energizer in my car. Frank and very knowledgeable person to talk to when the conversation is about car modifications. Seen the 'monster' skyline at the back of the garage and the white altezza he tuned while I was there. That was the last time I saw him. After reading this thread, I know he's back in business.
swift2510 is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
(0)
Old 04-02-2012, 03:24 PM   #319
450bhp Turbo Member

Liked: 23 / 9 Posts

Big bro Mr.Pimpin,
I have bring up ur matter to Mr.CF Lo. Regarding This, we can see that you are obviously ahead of game of power tuning with great experiences,especially with regard to the knowledge of the FINAL stage of engine mods - It is the programmable stand alone ECU like FP mentioned before.We believe that in order to give u the PS product that really improves performance and reliability to stand alone item,it is necessary to evaluate carefully each specific featured of the mods therefore in order to be sure about maximum results.
In the case of ur RB30 mods should treat this as our PS-Respond or PS-Extream programs,and it is not as simple as hooking up an AFE simplifies ur life tremendously.We would recommend as we r undertaking a Skyline project with RB30 engine that would similar to urs at present.After completion of our mods,the car will be participated in the near MegaLap Time Attack event at SIC soon.
Our purpose of the preparation to this machine is to keep it simple and to provide a more power-friendly tuning at very high use.The answer is to retain the factory ECU.if the ECU detects it's limitation,it is stark contrast to our PS modules that take over control of the engine functions.
Below is the list of works to be done to the existing balanced RB30 short block without BLUE-PRINTED,fitted with stock top-end at our powerhouse:
1. Will replace to OEM genuine Nissan GTR ECCS 16bit@ 4mhz ECU.
2. This is a long stroke low rev unit is suitable to run the more precise single stock hotwire type air-flow sensing unit when compare to MAP unit.So,the PS-AFE-6LM + AFR will gather for the total 256 fuel and ignition points with temp correction factors.
3.PS-EGO-II for the twin 02 close-loop controls.
4.Boost up fuel delivery which proportion to boost pressure by using PS-FFS unit and at least 260L/hr output fuel pump.
5. T88-33,2+cm A/R ,700-1000cc fuel injector.
6.ETC.....
By keeping it simple and with some proper tuning you will have the best of high-powered RB30 as well as drivability.
Ken_Erai is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
(0)
The Following 4 Users Liked Ken_Erai For This Useful Post:
Firebird (04-02-2012), pr0di9y (04-02-2012), sleeperR34 (04-05-2012), swift2510 (04-06-2012)
The Following User Disliked Ken_Erai For This Un-useful Post:
Devils86 (04-02-2012)
Old 04-04-2012, 01:04 AM   #320

Liked: 645 / 262 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken_Erai View Post
Big bro Mr.Pimpin,
I have bring up ur matter to Mr.CF Lo. Regarding This, we can see that you are obviously ahead of game of power tuning with great experiences,especially with regard to the knowledge of the FINAL stage of engine mods - It is the programmable stand alone ECU like FP mentioned before.We believe that in order to give u the PS product that really improves performance and reliability to stand alone item,it is necessary to evaluate carefully each specific featured of the mods therefore in order to be sure about maximum results.
In the case of ur RB30 mods should treat this as our PS-Respond or PS-Extream programs,and it is not as simple as hooking up an AFE simplifies ur life tremendously.We would recommend as we r undertaking a Skyline project with RB30 engine that would similar to urs at present.After completion of our mods,the car will be participated in the near MegaLap Time Attack event at SIC soon.
Our purpose of the preparation to this machine is to keep it simple and to provide a more power-friendly tuning at very high use.The answer is to retain the factory ECU.if the ECU detects it's limitation,it is stark contrast to our PS modules that take over control of the engine functions.
Below is the list of works to be done to the existing balanced RB30 short block without BLUE-PRINTED,fitted with stock top-end at our powerhouse:
1. Will replace to OEM genuine Nissan GTR ECCS 16bit@ 4mhz ECU.
2. This is a long stroke low rev unit is suitable to run the more precise single stock hotwire type air-flow sensing unit when compare to MAP unit.So,the PS-AFE-6LM + AFR will gather for the total 256 fuel and ignition points with temp correction factors.
3.PS-EGO-II for the twin 02 close-loop controls.
4.Boost up fuel delivery which proportion to boost pressure by using PS-FFS unit and at least 260L/hr output fuel pump.
5. T88-33,2+cm A/R ,700-1000cc fuel injector.
6.ETC.....
By keeping it simple and with some proper tuning you will have the best of high-powered RB30 as well as drivability.
Thanks for the detailed reply. Please keep this thread updated as I'm eagerly following the progress
Thanks in advanced.
[PIMPIN] is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
(0)
The Following 2 Users Liked [PIMPIN] For This Useful Post:
Devils86 (04-05-2012), sleeperR34 (04-05-2012)
Old 04-05-2012, 11:27 AM   #321
450bhp Turbo Member

Liked: 23 / 9 Posts

Today update for the RB30 PS-Response Program

Even though this newly built RB30 short block already being balanced and rebuilt by other workshop. But we want it to be the best it can be, so our perfect counter-check primary balancing is absolutely necessary. Real engine balancing helps an engine run smoother with less vibration which creates less havoc on main bearings and helps engine last longer.

The rebuilt & machining jobs of this RB30 already done by other workshop, so the only problem with us is that no blue-print can be applied to this engine. ‘Blueprint’ means following a set of specs to the "T". For instance: A blueprinted set of engines will have EXACTLY the same crank clearances. They will have exactly the same machining amount of piston to cylinder wall clearances as well as ring gap clearances and so on. There should only have just one specific number to a given areas of tolerances!

1st is reciprocating weight matching. This is done by weighing all Wiseco pistons and pins on a precision scale. Our balancing works still very helpful that each piston & pin now all are equal to 499g. exactly.

Then the rotating weight are counter-check on our in house balancing fulcrum which determines how heavy all con-rod are at either end. If one rod is a little heavier on where the bearing goes than another, and there is a little weight different have found and removed from the heavier one to balance them out.
Ken_Erai is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
(0)
The Following 6 Users Liked Ken_Erai For This Useful Post:
DewA_LavaU (04-06-2012), Firebird (04-14-2012), Izso (04-05-2012), pr0di9y (04-05-2012), sleeperR34 (04-06-2012), swift2510 (04-06-2012)
Old 04-05-2012, 05:50 PM   #322

Thanks for the update. The owner doesn't mind you sharing pictures of the car?
How much does this all cost and how much horsepower and torque is the setup capable off?
(0)
Old 04-05-2012, 09:05 PM   #323
'(00) Contributor / Mod

Liked: 3,119 / 1,110 Posts

As much as I appreciate the extreme detail of the build, how is this related to the topic of the thread? Let's get to the part where the PS products are installed and how it works in tandem with the extreme build parts.

Anyway, at least there's someone who finally responds with detailed info! Very much appreciated!
Izso is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
(0)
The Following User Likes Izso For This Useful Post:
Devils86 (04-06-2012)
Old 04-05-2012, 09:15 PM   #324

Liked: 12 / 8 Posts

totally agree with Izso... frankly speaking i've wasted my whole night reading this post and i get nothing regarding this PS thingy...
Old 04-05-2012, 10:22 PM   #325

Quote:
Originally Posted by Izso View Post
As much as I appreciate the extreme detail of the build, how is this related to the topic of the thread? Let's get to the part where the PS products are installed and how it works in tandem with the extreme build parts.

Anyway, at least there's someone who finally responds with detailed info! Very much appreciated!
I think he's getting to the point as the car is still in the process of being built up. I suppose when its running PS products then the review/comparison would be more complete. I guess he could have just waited until the project was finished before sharing but I for one don't mind a step-by-step progress update - sure beats the hell out of the first 20 pages that's for sure?
(0)
The Following 4 Users Liked [PIMPIN] For This Useful Post:
Devils86 (04-06-2012), Firebird (04-14-2012), Izso (04-06-2012), sleeperR34 (04-06-2012)
Old 04-06-2012, 02:01 AM   #326
1bhp Stock

Liked: 4 / 2 Posts

yayayayayaya........ really kinda like watching those Hong Kong TVB series where we have to wait for every episode every day ..... huak huak huak huak .... Pimpin is this zerotohundred's version of a tv series done on a forum ? huak huak huak huak huak
:r ofl::rof l:
Devils86 is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
(0)
The Following 2 Users Liked Devils86 For This Useful Post:
Firebird (04-14-2012), sleeperR34 (04-06-2012)
Old 04-06-2012, 10:30 AM   #327
50bhp Junior

Liked: 10 / 8 Posts

I will definitely follow the progress of the build, ala TVB series or otherwise. It's not everyday we can follow an engine rebuild from our computer. Let's see how all the things fall into places.
swift2510 is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
(0)
The Following 3 Users Liked swift2510 For This Useful Post:
Firebird (04-14-2012), pr0di9y (04-06-2012), sleeperR34 (04-06-2012)
Old 04-06-2012, 12:20 PM   #328

Liked: 1,090 / 474 Posts

as much as its entertaining, its not relevant to the topic in question, which is PS-Powersport products. go create another topic for the work log.

as for PS-Powersport, its either numbers (on a dyno) or bullshit (my butt dyno say hor power improve yada yada yada).

WTS: Original Denso Iridium Power Free Shipping
http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/engine-and-performance/423770-denso-iridium-power-spark-plugs.html
ixeo is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
(0)
Old 04-06-2012, 01:17 PM   #329

Liked: 2 / 2 Posts

sudahlah. ixeo. why u still wait whole day n night with no entertain u lah!!!!

sorry, sorry, i better shutup or else probably one day the garang samuel come to kuantan boxing i without nothing lah.
sleeperR34 is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
(0)
Old 04-07-2012, 06:36 PM   #330

So any updates?
(0)

Zerotohundred.com > Technical Section > Tech: Engine Management Systems

Previous: Previous Thread | Next Thread :Next
Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Latest Posts
  Toyota MRS (M) showroom condition
Last Post Today 01:20 AM
  (wts) rear tail lamp satria gti
Last Post Yesterday 11:23 PM
  (wts)dashboard satria gti uk spec
Last Post Yesterday 11:20 PM
  (wts)Dashboard ek3 virs
Last Post Yesterday 11:16 PM

2000 - 2012 Zerotohundred.com - The Automotive Lifestyle Network | Tags | Terms of Use | Visitor Agreement | Privacy Policy | Contact Us | Privacy Statement | Top