Zerotohundred.com  
Home Features News Forums The Marketplace Showcase Videos
Go Back   Zerotohundred.com > Technical Section > Tech: Engine Management Systems
Connect with Facebook

Tags
auto, car, gear, manual

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-21-2009
50bhp Junior

Default Why is auto car less gear than manual?

Dear Sifus,

I have been wondering why is it automatic cars generally is 1 gear lesser than a manual one?
While it is true the technology behind manual and auto are different, why does automatic car have to be given 1 gear less when it costs more for auto gear?

Sorry if this sounds like a noob question. hee hee.

Enjoy your weekend.

Best regards

Richard Tan
Send User a Private Message Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2009

Default Re: Why is auto car less gear than manual?

cos its costly to make an auto gearbox compared to a manual
not all auto gearbox comes with less one gear
volvo's , merce , hondas all come with 5-7speed auto

honda city is 7 speed auto
volvo s40 1999 is 5 speed auto
so many examples :D

new toyota camry is 4 speed auto
new honda accord is 5 speed auto :)

errr which one is the 1 gear less ? , hehehe i tink u mean proton ?

Last edited by jinkl; 06-21-2009 at 08:04 PM..
The Following User Says Thank You to jinkl For This Useful Post:
richardtan (06-21-2009)
Old 06-21-2009
450bhp Turbo Member

Send a message via ICQ to pioneer411 Send a message via MSN to pioneer411 Send a message via Yahoo to pioneer411

my rav4 got 7 speed auto
kekekeke
Old 06-21-2009
300bhp Nitrous Member

Send a message via Yahoo to zektor

huhuhu...wira 1.5 auto only 3gear...uhuuuuuuuuuuu
Old 06-21-2009

Quote:
Originally Posted by zektor View Post
huhuhu...wira 1.5 auto only 3gear...uhuuuuuuuuuuu
hehe less two gears :D

there are so many 6second drag cars running on 3 gears setup kekekeke , americannn musccclesss
Old 06-21-2009
300bhp Nitrous Member

Send a message via Yahoo to zektor

hahahaha.....so....wira 1.5 belongs to american muscle group...wahahahhahah
Old 06-21-2009
50bhp Junior

Quote:
Originally Posted by jinkl View Post
cos its costly to make an auto gearbox compared to a manual
not all auto gearbox comes with less one gear
volvo's , merce , hondas all come with 5-7speed auto

honda city is 7 speed auto
volvo s40 1999 is 5 speed auto
so many examples :D

new toyota camry is 4 speed auto
new honda accord is 5 speed auto :)

Thanks Jinkl.
Wow, I am impressed that Honda city is 7-speed. Does that not make it more expensive than if they just made it 5-speed ? But I guess 7-speed helps to save petrol?

Camry quite powerful right? I mean 2 litres or more. Not sure why Toyota made it only 4-speed.
But they know best.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jinkl View Post
errr which one is the 1 gear less ? , hehehe i tink u mean proton ?
Mine is Vios auto 4-speed. The Vios manual is 5-speed.

Dear Sifus,
Does it make sense to upgrade my 4-speed auto Vios to 5-speed auto ?
Would be too costly is it? Or should I say there is no such thingy?

Thanks also to Zektor and Pioneer411 for your generous contributions !!

Last edited by richardtan; 06-21-2009 at 11:00 PM.. Reason: added a quote
Old 06-21-2009
1000bhp Senior

Quote:
Originally Posted by richardtan View Post
Thanks Jinkl.
Wow, I am impressed that Honda city is 7-speed. Does that not make it more expensive than if they just made it 5-speed ? But I guess 7-speed helps to save petrol?

Camry quite powerful right? I mean 2 litres or more. Not sure why Toyota made it only 4-speed.
But they know best.

Mine is Vios auto 4-speed. The Vios manual is 5-speed.

Dear Sifus,
Does it make sense to upgrade my 4-speed auto Vios to 5-speed auto ?
Would be too costly is it? Or should I say there is no such thingy?

Thanks also to Zektor and Pioneer411 for your generous contributions !!

The new generations auto gearbox aka CVT(Continuous Variable Transmission) is does not have physical gear like manual gearbox does. It has infinite of gear ratio. Just that they preset it to 7. Different car manufacturer comes out with different design application with different name.

Some links for you to read:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Continu...e_transmission

http://auto.howstuffworks.com/cvt1.htm
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to speed2horizon For This Useful Post:
jinkl (06-22-2009), pioneer411 (06-21-2009)
Old 06-22-2009
450bhp Turbo Member

Send a message via ICQ to pioneer411 Send a message via MSN to pioneer411 Send a message via Yahoo to pioneer411

tak tau the cvt gearbox tahan i BOT or not?
Old 06-22-2009
1000bhp Senior

Quote:
Originally Posted by pioneer411 View Post
haha... That we have to try...

I think the Hp is not a problem, but the torque could be...

just afraid that it slips...

Low boost shouldn't be a problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by pioneer411 View Post
haha... That we have to try...

I think the Hp is not a problem, but the torque could be...

just afraid that it slips...

Low boost shouldn't be a problem
Old 06-22-2009

lol import a performance torque convertor :P
Old 06-22-2009
450bhp Turbo Member

kekekeke boleh ka just change the torque convertor?? good idea too..
me thinking boost 0.5bar like that la... or 7psi.. later hangkang.. me like kill someone those feel already..
lolzzz
Old 06-23-2009
1000bhp Senior

Experience. BOT Satria 1.6 SOHC 4G92P.
TD04L + E-manage @ stock boost.

Auto gearbox hancurz in 2 weeks.... Lolz...
Old 06-23-2009
150bhp Tuned Member

Send a message via MSN to egb18c Send a message via Yahoo to egb18c

honda city imaginary 7 speed right,its using cvt,cable thingy,so it doesnt has ratio.
errrr.correct me if m wrong.
Old 06-23-2009
100bhp Junior

Even new evo got auto trans nowadays. Easier to drive. Freedom from clutch play.

Auto dont need to meddle with gear, more overdrive when cruising in top gear. just press hard on the throttle and it change by itself according to speed and throttle position. else, manual have to match the rpm with gear otherwise over rev and engine kaput

Zerotohundred.com > Technical Section > Tech: Engine Management Systems