I received quotation from farnell yesterday, RM217.44, but some items not included, 6 2 C11,C20 0.01"103K" or "0.01" 11 2 C21,C30 4.7"4.7" or "4.7 uf" 19 3 D17,D18,D19LED T1-3/4 case
20 2 L1,L2 1uh Small coil of wire wrapped around a ferrite core 46 1 40 pin dip soket 47 1 DB37 Plug Female 48 1 DB37 Hood 49 6 Nylon Screws 4-40 50 6 Nylon Nuts 52 1 Case EAS-300 (LMB)
what do u think, shoul I go for it??
i think u can get tose at jalan pasar, dun need to get it from farnell, but the tyco 1 r gold plated :)
actually only few rare item needed from farnel, the capacitor and resistor u can get from jalan pasar also. but if u wan quality, get polyester cap and 1% resistor from farnell. but im not too sure whter jln pasar got 1% 0.25w resistor or not
can i use veroboard to design the schematics albeit it'll create noise n humming? (lazy-laar) i mean would the humming affect the operation?
Spurious triggering is the biggest enemy.
What about having tacho triggering without the engine even started yet? Or what if the igniton triggers at different time. The CPU is a very sensitive piece of component and any spurious triggering will alter the clock timing. You should know what happens next.
i think u can get tose at jalan pasar, dun need to get it from farnell, but the tyco 1 r gold plated :)
actually only few rare item needed from farnel, the capacitor and resistor u can get from jalan pasar also. but if u wan quality, get polyester cap and 1% resistor from farnell. but im not too sure whter jln pasar got 1% 0.25w resistor or not
jln pasar is far from here, what about u, already buy yourself. don't forget me, remember u promis after CNY.
That is around USD60.
You have to buy the partial kit for around USD100 so that you can have the MAP sensor, the CPU (with boot code written), and the PCB.
On top of that, You still don't have many more items not yet listed and IGBT ic's are not cheap either. That does not include the shipping yet.
Worth the hassle?
Just compare to the MSv3 complete kit which just cost around USD200. Order from 1 source, and you have everything to built a unit.
Tfhe choice is yours.
silly me, thought to save $$. but anyway, I got my ms I v2.2 kit already. now looking for BOM. from your 1 source, can I get ms I v2.2 BOM. COMPLETE component. maybe can help me to buy.
In that case, you have to get all the items fom Digikey. You should have all the BOM from the MS site and it's ready for ordering list. Just fill in the form, and you are set on the way.
hahaboy;
if you order the kit from Diyautotune, you should receives your item within a week to 10 days.
if u somehow manage to escape from being taxed, item will arrive at ur mailing address.
if ur item is taxable, then u have to go to post office beside LCCT terminal(air asia) and pickup personally. or u can appoint pos malaysia to be ur agent, and u have to pay the tax amount to pos malaysia. the pos malaysia will pay the tax to customs on ur behalf...
i went to the mentioned post office and pickup the item personally. note that when entering the post office, u have to leave IC at the guardhouse. and when exiting, they will check ur car. so dont bring any drugs/guns/whatever illegal in ur car during ur trip to the post office...
most people have to pay tax, but there is a rare case where the MS arrive at a customer's home without being taxed. so keep ur fingers crossed even though very unlikely u can escape tax hehehe
Complete electronics parts is around USD100.
Processing fee for International order USD6.
Shipping (estimated to weight below 1 lb.) USD 18.
You still have to buy these:
1 set partial kit (Your choice of MS1v2.2, MS1v3 or MS2.
which contain the PCB, MAP sensor and processor.
(that you have bought)
1pc heatsink plate.
1pc MS alluminium case (or you can made 1 by your talented craftmanship)
and on top of these, you also have to pay the extra shipping/handling.
so, lanlee,
(un)happy diy....... to you. You got a very good advise to only buy that partial kit and can get all those tiny chips and bits from jalan pasar....
For your infomation, I've been doing electronics such and tv/video repairs for more than 20 years, and I know many of the electronics shop tauke of jln pasar... and they also know me....
If it's worth to take the partial kit route, I'd have did that myself and give you guys that advise, but on the other hand, I always encourage you guys to buy the complete kit from the MS vendors. Why????? because I know well that it's really not worth it. Just to save a few $$$ and now you loose a big $$$$.
hi i've finished building the megastim, but now stuck at the last step, not too sure the DB37 connection pin layout 1 to 37 (coz i haven't gotten the kit yet) is from the DB37 soldering side or the actual female connector side??
cipan, i know u mentioned b4 there's no need to build a relay board, but just to be safe and to make it look tidy, will like to build it too....
2. You can do that, but it just add up more cost and to be honest, you'll make it messy rather than tidy since you have another bulk of box to be fitted into your car. If you can do the wiring carefully, then there are no reasons that it will not be safe.
my notebook doesn't have a serial port, but it has a parallel port, gonna get myself a DB-25 to DB-9 converter, will it work with megasquirt? has anyone tried?